We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice area of Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Relais Monceau
Ranked #1,030 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We chose this hotel for our 4 day stay because it was so different from the chain type hotel, individually styled and in a smart area of Paris.
When arriving, our first impressions weren't that great. It looks lovely from the outside but it is extremely dull inside, very dark woods, and decorated in bottle green and burgundy, even the reception area is quite dark ( Internet pictures are deceiving ). The room was nice, clean, ( lights were needed in the day ). There was a hair dryer, minibar, sat TV, tea and coffee ( no milk is provided ) mini shower gels etc, safe, towels changed every day, over bath shower. ( Ladies take your own make up mirror as mirrors / lighting in bathroom make it impossible to apply make up successfully ).
Sorry to go on about the lighting so much, but there was just so little of it !
The beds and bedding were good quality - crisp white sheets with a throw, and very comfy pillows.
We did experience an awful lot of door banging late evenings and in the mornings, I used ear plugs to sleep.
Set in L'Opera region, really close to Villiers metro station, a lovely patisserie right opposite, small grocers too. Parc Monceau is short walk away.
If choosing this hotel or any other in the this area, airport transport should be to take the Roissy Bus from CDG ( their bus station is a 5 min walk out of the airport along a signposted, straight path) costing €10 each in June 2012, which takes you non- stop to L'Opera only. This is a great service. From there, we found taxi-ing to the hotel was much better than carrying / dragging heavy bags up and down metro station steps, and should cost around €10 in total ( taxi driver may charge a couple of euros for bags ! ) We can't comment on the food as we ate out, often croissant or similar from that very gorgeous patisserie across the road - too tempting.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DOODLE2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 147 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

If you don't want an impersonal "chain hotel" box, this pretty little boite is as French as it gets!
A beautiful little hotel oozing gracious French charm and hospitality; wonderful salon downstairs reminiscent of a cosy, book-lined home; breakfast in a charming solarium; very helpful and attentive staff who assisted us in every little and big way. Merci beaucoup messieurs a reception, et vous aussi la belle demoiselle!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ambrish Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Had a brief 2-night stay at this hotel. We picked this since it was close to the apartment we were renting but could not get for a consecutive 5-night stay. The hotel is located in a quiet area but 2-5 minutes away from restaurants and cafes. There are a couple of good bakeries (one right opposite the hotel, the other near Rue Larribe/Rue de Constantinople) - we relied on these for breakfast and skipped the one at the hotel.

The hotel is very clean and so are the rooms & bathrooms. Room size is smaller than your average hotel in the US but in line with Parisian standards. The staff put up a baby bed for our son without we requesting for it so was a nice touch. Staff was very friendly. The lady at the reception one morning (and the kitchen staff) went out of the way to help get warm milk (no charge) for our son. Also helped call a cab for us when needed.

The Villiers metro is minutes away (under 4 min.) & there are at least 2-3 ATM's within easy reach - again 2-4 min. away.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Friends of mine live in this street and recommended this hotel. It is one the nicer three star hotels in Paris with pleasant lounges and pretty rooms for the standard with spacious bathrooms. The beds are good, the decor is simple but nice and it is clean. The rates are o.k. during the week and very attractive on week-ends. As usual in Paris the staff is not very friendly but o.k. Will book there again next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amankora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel was a great find. This was our first time to Paris and we would definitely stay here again. The desk staff was very helpful and spoke English well enough to communicate with us. Great restaurants and bakery within steps of the hotel. We chose to walk to all the sites, which allowed us to explore the neighborhoods between. The metro was only a 2 minute walk from the hotel and is a link to everything. Again awesome area without being over the top.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kb1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel 5 times until now. Design rooms, quiet, very close to the metro and not far from the Champs Elysées. Personnel is very helpful, price very competitive.

Room Tip: Street side rooms have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calinnn2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This hotel is in a lovely part of Paris with great transport links, Villiers metro is just up the road. The room was normal in size by Paris standards with tea making facilities and a nice bathroom (although didn,t see point of his and hers sinks!). The staff were very nice and the hotel spotless throughout.

John & Karen

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
L'Edmond Hotel, Paris
L'Edmond Hotel, Paris
#510 of 1,804 in Paris
352 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Maxim Opera
Hotel Maxim Opera
#1,038 of 1,804 in Paris
243 reviews
New Orient Hotel
#287 of 1,804 in Paris
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Le Marcel
Hotel Le Marcel
#319 of 1,804 in Paris
561 reviews
Kube Hotel
#511 of 1,804 in Paris
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Monceau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Monceau

Address: 85 rue du Rocher, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#453 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#476 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $149 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Monceau 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a magnificent 3 storey building from the 19th century, this small charming hotel offers 51 spacious bedrooms. The Relais Monceau is a 3* hotel which is a lesson in refined, understated elegance: large common area, two small gardens… decoration is original and sophisticated and prefers noble materials… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Relais Monceau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Monceau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing