We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Norman - UK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TRYP Paris Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TRYP Paris Opera Hotel
Ranked #575 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Norman - UK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I enjoyed my overnight stay at this hotel which is very well-placed for the Grand Boulevards. I was upgraded to a fitness room which was very spacious and comfortable, excellent value for the money. The staff were all friendly and the hotel is very clean.

Room Tip: My room overlooking Boulevard Montmartre was on the fourth floor but was was noisy well into the ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestexperienceparis, Guest Experience France at TRYP Paris Opera Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Normann,

Firstly we wanted to wish you a wonderful year 2013. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed your stay each time you visited us in our hotel Tryp François and we hope to see you very soon in Paris.

Sincerely,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    475
    224
    53
    38
See reviews for
255
465
36
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed there for Thanksgiving break. The front desk was very helpful, it's near some of the best bars and clubs in the city. Very clean. Very easy to get around the city from there. Very clean every day. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestexperienceparis, Guest Experience France at TRYP Paris Opera Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit, I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the location suitable for your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at Tryp François Hotel.

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is an excellent base for visiting the Paris sites, very handy to have a Metro right outside the front door and is ideally located for the theatres. We did not eat at the hotel as there are plenty of cafe's, bars and restaurants in very close proximity which offered cuisine from all over the world. Whilst the room was not the biggest it was large enough for 2 adults, it was very clean and the bed was exceedingly comfortable ( we both slept very soundly!). We had a nice quite room which overlooked a small courtyard and did not notice a noisy generator, there was plenty of hot water available in the bathroom but the shower was a bit feeble - it did the job though. There are little things that could really improve the room - tea/coffee making facilities really are a "must" these days but not available at this hotel, wi-fi was hit and mis and only one BBC channel (News) available on the TV. The decor is starting to get tired now but is ok. The room was quite hot but it was very easy to adjust the thermostat. Would return if we have another trip to Paris.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie-PapaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestexperienceparis, Guest Experience France at TRYP Paris Opera Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit, I was pleased to know you really enjoyed your stay with us. Concerning the tea/coffee making facilities , please note that we offers this service in our Premiums rooms.Do not hesitate to book a Premium room in your next stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Priscilla Pascal

Guest Experience France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

As the title says the hotel is ideally located in this vibrant area of the city and only 10 metres from the nearest Metro station. The room however was tiny with not enough room for two people! One of us had to stand in the bathroom to allow the other to move past the bed. The air-con was faulty and although it was October the room was oppressively hot even with the the window wide open and further restricting the movement in the room. As the large window faced into a central well full of pigeons it was not possible to leave it open when we were out or overnight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 140DMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Hotel is located in the center of the french capital right in front of Grand Boulevar subway station. The staff is very friendly, rooms clean and comfortable but the breakfast is too expensive. I think this is a good place to stay to pay the right price in one of the most expensive city of Europe. The level is guaranteed by the Sol Melia Hotel chain. Recomended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CristianRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestexperienceparis, Guest Experience France at TRYP Paris Opera Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Tryp François for your stay in Paris and for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Best regards,

Priscilla Pascal

Guest Experience France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed in this hotel earlier in the Summer. I had a nice size and bright room, a good and comfortable bed, nice aircon. Slept well, very happy.
I stayed again last week - it was late October in Paris, and so the management decided that it must be cold. So they de-activated all the aircon. Except, the night I stayed it was actually hot. The room (unlike my last one) was ridiculously small - certainly no room to swing the proverbial cat, and it was STIFLINGLY hot. So, I opened the window. My room looked over the courtyard which hosts an absurdly loud generator (or something). Opening the window only marginally reduced the room temperature.
The hotel receptionist was powerless to re-activate the aircon, and so I was stuck with the situation.
The consequence: a nght of ZERO sleep. For me the first pre-requisite of assessing any hotel is the quality of sleep it enables, so I have no choice to give this hotel lowest possible marks overall.

Room Tip: Check it first. They vary enormously. Demand to know if the aircon is enabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingdave0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestexperienceparis, Guest Experience France at TRYP Paris Opera Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I regret to see you did not enjoyed your last stat at Tryp François because of your room I kindly ask you to let us know your next stay in our hotel and we will our utmost to ensure that your experience will be the better one.

Best regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Spent four nights here over a long weekend.

Pros:
-The hotel's location is excellent - 15/20min walk from Gare du Nord and within easy walking distance of all the main sites with the exception perhaps of the Arc du Triomphe and Eiffel Tower.
-The room was well equiped, despite the limited space available in an old building. Bed was small but very comfortable, good Bathroom, tv, storage space etc.
Staff were helpful and friendly

Cons:
-Ridiculously expensive breakfasts - but there is a wide selection of cafes surrounding the hotel
-There was some sort of mould or black stuff underneath and around the window. This didnt really bother us, but would imagine others would not be happy
-On the night we arrived it had been unusually warm (17 degrees or so) for late october, and the room was far too hot. The a/c is clearly off in the winter but being on the street keeping the window open and trying to sleep was not an issue. We kept the window open during the day and unplugged the fridge after this, which did really help.
-Being on the main street, the room is very noisy. The glazing is very good, but as mentioned above opening it is not really an option if you are too hot. There is pub downstairs that was very loud, with a brass band playing at 3am at one point. Not the hotels fault but something to bear in mind if you are sensitive. My brother's room was internal off the street and he didnt suffer.

Room Tip: Try and get a room off the street if possible - especially in Summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beng23586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Passy
Melia Paris Champs Elysees
Melia Paris Champs Elysees
#356 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Touraine Opera
Hotel Touraine Opera
#817 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Holiday Inn Paris Opera-Grands Boulevards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Melia Vendome - Paris
Melia Vendome - Paris
#344 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Standard Design
Hotel Standard Design
#489 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Melia Colbert - Paris
Melia Colbert - Paris
#268 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Paris Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Paris Opera Hotel

Property: TRYP Paris Opera Hotel
Address: 3 boulevard Montmartre, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#320 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Paris Opera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your TRYP Paris Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Hotel Paris
Tryp Hotel Francois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing