We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes
Ranked #732 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed here at the end of April and the hotel was perfect for a person travelling alone. The hotel is directly opposite the train and tube station and there are plenty of restaurants and bars for the end of the evening. The natural history museum is at the end of the road and easy to walk to places to soak in the culture. The reception staff were brilliant and helpful at all times. Would recommend this hotel anytime and will be visiting again when I go back to Paris

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    230
    120
    51
    23
See reviews for
53
226
74
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel is great for a stopover as it is very near to the Gare d'Austerlitz station. You can leave luggage before & after taking possesion of your room. But it is v noisy - even on the 4th floor - so couldn't leave windows open at night or even have a conversation. The air conditionning didn't work either. There was a kettle & plenty of tea & coffee bags.
We had one of the larger rooms which was ok but nowhere to store cases, hang coats/towels etc. I moved some furniture so we didn't bump our heads on the TV and put a small stool in the bathroom as there was nowhere to put clothes etc.
Breakfast was 12€ but no fresh fruit & coffee machine out of order. Cheese, ham, yoghurt, eggs were available as well as croissants & french bread.

Room Tip: Maybe if you ask for a room not overlooking the road it might be quieter. Go & have breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
143 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. We chose it mainly because it is opposite the Gare d'Austerlitz train station and we were catching a train to Barcelona. I have stayed in Paris many times but never in this area. The reception staff were young, friendly and helpful. Our room - we had booked a Club Room - was fine and there was free wifi. We were at the back of the hotel and it was very quiet. The hotel has a secure luggage storage area. There is a buffet breakfast or there are plenty of places nearby to eat, and there are several supermarkets and bakeries nearby. For cafe/brasserie food we enjoyed Soleil d'Austerlitz just a few doors up, and for good restaurant food try Au Bon Coin about 10-15 minutes walk away. Would happily stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre B, Directeur général at Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Tom D,

Thank you so much for this very positive feedback we are proud to have made your stay special.

We look forward welcoming you again soon to the Hotel libertel Austerlitz - Jardin des plantes and do remain at your disposal.

Sincere regards,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Austerlitz - Jardin des plantes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is well located to Gare Austerlitz station and the Metro. The hotel itself has a small entrance that can easily be missed. The signage says Jardin des Plantes, not Libertel, and there is a row of bistros to the right of the hotel (including McDonalds), all with glass extensions at the front, the the hotel entrance is slightly recessed. The hotel has a small reception area, with maps and lots of brochures and newspapers. On check in, I was repeatedly and agressively told to 'just sign it", when I tried to read a disclaimer form that I was given that waives hotel responsibility for any theft. I asked if the hotel has a problem with theft and got no response. I was given a room on the third floor and then discovered that the elevator button for level 3 was covered in tape and not working. It was fixed 3 days later. The elevator comes out on the landings between each floor, so there are always some stairs to get to each floor. The room was small (room 311) and the shower leaves water on the floor. The room was nice and dark at night, but was a little bit noisy. It was easy to hear noise from the hallway and the next room. The room had free wifi. I think that its just for 4 hours of wifi, but it was enough for me. To the left of the hotel is a bookshop and a small supermarket that is open late (except Sunday), and further left is a nice bakery with good prices. There is a postoffice across the road with ATM machines both inside and outside. The hotel has a small luggage room on the lower floor. You go down one floor, push a button by the door and the receptionist activates the door and you put your bags in and out yourself. There is a security camera above the luggage room door that the reception uses to see who is coming in and out. This may not suit people with Laptop bags. The price was good compared to a lot of other hotels in Paris. The location is not as upmarket as other areas, but it was very handy to use the Metro and RER train line C that goes to lots of good spots such as the Eiffel Tower and Versailles, and very convenient to be able to grab drinks and snacks before heading out each day and when returning at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre B, Directeur général at Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Aussie71,

Thank you to let us know your point of view about our hotel.

We have taken account about the reception answer and it is not acceptable. We are going to solve the problem.

Your very complete feedback is very helpful for us to improve the quality of our service.

We look forward welcoming you again soon to the Hotel libertel Austerlitz - Jardin des plantes for your next trip to Paris and do remain at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Austerlitz - Jardin des plantes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
307 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The entrance and the reception are quite disappointing with regard to the quality of the rooms. These have been obviously renovated very recently and everything is functioning. The rooms are on the tiny side, but the beds are comfortable. The amenities are as expected for this class of hotels. Free WiFi connection of excellent quality. On the positive side: The location, in the immediate vicinity of the Austerlitz railroad station and the Jardin de Plantes. On the negative side: The location on a very busy street and opposite to a viaduct section of Metro line 5, with considerable noise. Quite neutral attitude of the reception staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back side for more quieteness
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstantin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre B, Directeur général at Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Konstantin F,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that you suffered. Our hotel is located in the heart of Paris, we're sorry that it did not meet your requirements in terms of peace.

In order to satisfy our customers up to our rooms have double glazing and are newly renovated.
We paid particular attention to the sound insulation (double glazing, seal, etc.).

However, we are aware that for those very sensitive to noise, some nights might be a nuisance.

We look forward welcoming you again soon to the Hotel libertel Austerlitz - Jardin des plantes and do remain at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Austerlitz - Jardin des plantes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Positive: Good location, easy Metro, nice area, clean room, friendly staff.

Negative: We booked the dearest 'Club' room but got a cheaper 'Privlidge' room, (which is still better than an ordinary room). Upon enquiry we were told it was a Club room with the wrong label. The question I didn't ask (language/ exhaustion) was: what do you get when you book a 'Privlidge' room?

Room Tip: Get a room at the back away from the road / train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneHillwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre B, Directeur général at Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear OneHillwalker,

We are sorry if the answer was not very complete but you've got a Club room which means that you had more advantages than the Privilege room like the facilities for exemple.

Actually, all our 5th floor rooms are Club rooms with the previous label Privilege.
We have taken account about your comment and we are going to change the labels.

However, we are glad to see how much you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings of the hotel.

We look forward welcoming you again soon to the Hotel libertel Austerlitz - Jardin des plantes and do remain at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Austerlitz - Jardin des plantes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The rooms are very small. If the room face the road it can be noisy but we were so tired and it didn't affect us all. the location is good. you can go anywhere by metro from the gare d'austerlitz which is located accross the street. the bathroom was clean but i can't say the same for the bed. there were some big red spots on the blanket. If you would just sleep then it is ok to stay here but if you look some more luxury or comfort this is definitely not the place. when you consider the price and value ratio. you can find some better place to stay for the same price.

Room Tip: Choose the biggest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cilekimsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre B, Directeur général at Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear cilekimsi,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.
We love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings of the hotel.

We're sorry that it did not meet your requirements in terms of peace. In order to satisfy our customers up to our rooms have double glazing.

We paid particular attention to the sound insulation (double glazing, seal, etc.). However, we are aware that for those very sensitive to noise, some nights might be a nuisance.

We look forward welcoming you again soon to the Hotel libertel Austerlitz - Jardin des plantes for your next trip to Paris.

Yours sincerely,


M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Austerlitz - Jardin des plantes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Devillas
#691 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Quartier Latin
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
#1,195 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Best Western Plus La Demeure
#391 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#456 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Gobelins
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
#651 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#200 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes

Property: Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes
Address: 12 Boulevard de l Hopital, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #732 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and refined, the Hotel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes is located on the left bank, opposite the Gare d'Austerlitz, beside the Jardin des Plantes and the Museum d'Histoire Naturelle (Natural History Museum). It is close to the Gare de Lyon and the Palais Omnisports de Bercy (sports arena) and not far from the Cite de la Mode et du Design (Fashion and Design Centre ), the new Paris Seine Rive Gauche district, Notre Dame and the quartier Latin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertel Austerlitz Jardin Des Plantes Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing