We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Villa Montparnasse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Montparnasse
Ranked #613 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Room was falling apart with stains and damaged electrical fittings. It was really small and no basics like an iron and kettle with tea coffee, etc... Still, it had a good feel to it and you could tell that it was once quite nice. Also it was a handy location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrequentlyAwesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdr_montparnasse, Responsable réception at Villa Montparnasse, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear FrequentlyAwsome,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor's travellers community of .

We are concerned about your room's issues. Our technician is now aware of it and will do his best to settle what you have underlined.

Regarding iron and tea facilities, security reasons prevent us from implementing it. Nethertheless you can always ask for a tea or a coffe at the Front Desk. We are always pleased to please our guests with any request. As for ironing your belongings, we work with a company that can arrange it for you within the day!

It is always very helpful to read about one's stay. We can try to improve small imperfections thanks to this.

I hope we will have the chance to see again very soon!

Wishing you all the very best,

Joan Chaussey
CDR Villa Montparnasse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    263
    119
    47
    24
See reviews for
64
317
49
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very nice stay at Villa Montparnasse. The staff very friendly and helpful. Near to Metro and RER. The room itself and the hotel were a little tired but perfectly acceptable. Great shops just around the corner for essentials and eating out. All in all a great base from which to explore beautiful Paris.

Room Tip: Apparently from some of the rooms you can see the Eiffel Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdr_montparnasse, Responsable réception at Villa Montparnasse, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear David M,

It is always useful for us and furthermore for travellers to read such reviews. Thank you for taking the time to write about La Villa Montparnasse.

The Front Desk team also plays the conciergerie role. So anything you need can be sorted out by the same person who welcomed you when you check in!

Hoping to welcome you again,

Joan Chaussey
CDR Villa Montparnasse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Thanks to other reviews found this hotel to be very suitable - really helpful staff, lift that works and takes more than just 2 persons, great king-sized bed, clean linen regularly replaced - ok, decor looking tired and where they've had to fix things in the bathroom the tiling grouting hasn't been done too well (and the over-bath shower wasn't the best) but the area is lovely, plenty of places to eat locally and comfortable to walk out late at night. Weather was very good, high 20s to 30s with some really high 30s. Disadvantage was that room 304 aircon didn't work so had to have windows open which meant noise from traffic and local bistro - not too bad but takes a bit of getting used to when you're used to a quiet street. Would recommend Cafe Rendevous for breakfast and Chez Papa for excellent cassoulet and other sud dishes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinksy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdr_montparnasse, Responsable réception at Villa Montparnasse, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear jinksy9,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor.com.

I am glad you have underlined the comfortness of our beds. These are brand new!

Actually the weather was more than lovely. During some days in August it has been very hot in Paris. One shouldn't have forgotten his bottle of water!

We'll hopefully see you next time in Paris. You won't have to ask for any other room than 304 as air-conditionning is on its way of being fixed!

Wishing you all the very best,

Joan Chaussey
CDR Villa Montparnasse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

i thought this hotel was worth a review as thought people should know this isnt a 4 star!the photos on all the websites look lovely and looks like a cute hotel. we were very disappointed.

we stayed here for one night in aug, booked it through the eurostar website, when we arrived they had no booking for us, (maybe eurostars fault not sure) the reception area is small and welcoming, the receptionist was very helpful.
when we finally got a room, it was no where near a 4 star quality, (on the les hotels de paris website has 5 R's for rating!!)id say maybe 2 at a push, the room was tiny and very tired, there was filthy blood or dirt marks up the wall. the wall covering made of funny wicker stuff was all scuffed and chipped and flaking off.
There was a bath with no proper shower just a bath attachment to hang up the phone in the bathroom was broken missing the handset. the bed was in need of being replaced, was all sunk in the middle, bed sheets looked very tired and old.
the carpet was covered in dirty marks and the furniture was very tired and old.
so we changed rooms and that wasnt great either, after trying for ages to get in because key wouldnt open door properly, we were greeted with a wardrobe which we had to squeeze past to even enter the room, even smaller room. it however was slightly cleaner.
the bathroom was so tiny that everytime u opened door it rebounded back in your face as the towel rail was directly behind it,not allowing it to open.
For the price you pay for this hotel i would not recommend it and suggest you stay somewhere else.
the only reason i have given this 1 star is because its in a good location and the reception staff were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ballyk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdr_montparnasse, Responsable réception at Villa Montparnasse, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear ballyk123,

Thank you for sharing your experience through tripadvisor.com. Good or bad reviews always help us to improve our service.

From time to time we don't receive the bookings in time – our fault or the partners’ one. Still our priority is to provide our guests rooms and to solve the issue later. This is what has been done in your case. Unfortunately we couldn't provide you a room when you arrived for two reasons: first you arrived before 2 pm – around 12 - which is the usual check in time. Second we were fully booked the night before. I remind you that check in time is indicated on the website you booked on. Sorry we couldn't make it faster to give a room. Anyway should you come back there is still the possibility to leave your suitcases and enjoy your day in Paris without sparing time waiting for your room.

Regarding the cleanness of the room I can but encourage you to read other reviews. As for the "marks" on the wall and on the floor it is left by the time and nothing but change it can solve this issue. Do not worry: these marks aren’t blood or dirt stains. Several rooms have already had its wallpapers changed. The others are on the way of being changed also.

Once you are not at home you need to find things to catch up with what you miss. So I can understand you didn't feel comfortable enough in the room you were assigned. However following the legislation to obtain the new stars l can assure you the dimension of our rooms matches the standards requested. We do have bigger rooms - Suites - but when you arrive they were already booked. Maybe you would have felt more comfortable in it.

And you are right. The public transportation around the public is perfect to visit Paris!

I have had the chance to let the Front Desk agent knows about his friendliness. Thank you for underlining it.

Wishing you all the very best,

Joan CHAUSSEY
CDR Villa Montparnasse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Lovely and comfortable. Decor very dated - wouldn't look out of place in a safari movie! Staff very friendly and informative. Great location with a non-touristy shopping area just around the corner - great place for breakfast, fresh fruit and bakery products. Very good bus service from Denfert Rochereux - I'm not keen on the Metro. Easy to get to the Muse Rodin, Notre Dame, Opera house etc....

Room Tip: Might be worth asking for a room at the back as the bin men are out and about early! Or take ear pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JReevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdr_montparnasse, Responsable réception at Villa Montparnasse, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear JLewis34,

Thank you for taking some of your time to share your opinion of La Villa Montparnasse. It was a pleasure to welcome you.

Our priority is to offer our guests rooms as comfortable as possible. You being satisfied is a pride for us.

Staying with us gives you the opportunity to travel thanks to our safari decoration as you perfectly underline it: cheetahs’ wallpapers, painted monkeys climbing the walls of our lift are some examples of what you had the chance to see!

It is true that the district the hotel is located in – 14th – is recognized as being typically Parisian full of shops selling authentic foods and goods.

Main museums are easily reachable from La Place Denfert-Rochereau thanks to Paris public transportations. You also find 2 blocks away from the Villa La Fondation Cartier pour l’Art Contemporain, another interesting gallery proposing temporary exhibitions.

The Villa Montparnase team hopes to see you very soon!

Wishing you all the very best,

Joan Chaussey
CDR Villa Montparnasse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA, MA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I like being in a real neighborhood in Paris. It's a different experience. This hotel offers a local feel but has easy metro access ton everywhere in Paris. Small rooms but expect that in Paris. Like all family type hotel some small issues but nothing that did not get addressed when brought to the attention of staff. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdr_montparnasse, Responsable réception at Villa Montparnasse, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear IntTavelGuy,

I am sure your contribution will be appreciated by Tripadvisor.

If your hometown embodies a typical area of your city and if you want to enjoy such feelings in a place elsewhere than yours, La Villa Montparnasse is the place to be for your Paris trip. Authentic bakeries, groceries, cheese, pastas, each and every cafés are far from being tourists traps. Our district is full such nice places.

It is certain that in Paris it might be hard to find rooms big enough. Have you had the chance to see our Superior Rooms or moreover our suites? Large beds, bathtubs and views on the Eiffel Tower to mention the most known of it!

I am glad the team reacts when you told about small issues. We apply the rule that every problem has a solution.

I thank you for being with us and for your very nice review. We would be very glad to welcome you soon!

Wishing you all the very best,

Joan Chaussey
CDR Villa Montparnasse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for four nights last week for a trip to the city. We were really pleased with the hotel as we had read a couple of the more negative reviews and didn't really know what to expect.
The staff were really great from the moment we arrived. We were early for check in but they kept our bags and arranged for our room.to be made up straight away.
Our room was really lovely with an extremely comfortable bed. We stayed on the fifth floor and had excellent views. The bathroom was very clean with good facilities.
We were close to the metro and some great restaurants and cafes. Everything was in easy reach.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kattythoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdr_montparnasse, Responsable réception at Villa Montparnasse, responded to this review, April 12, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Villa Montparnasse
Your satisfaction is exactly what we are searching for; therefore your compliments are a great reward for us and We will share your comments with the all team of the Villa Montparnasse hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future, and don't hesitate to contact us for your future reservation, we will gladly offer you our best rate with breakfast included.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel du Lion
Hotel du Lion
#592 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Montparnasse
Helzear Montparnasse Rive Gauche
Montparnasse
Hotel Du Midi Paris Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Sophie Germain
Hotel Sophie Germain
#516 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Villa Royale
Villa Royale
#447 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Montparnasse
Best Western Le Nouvel Orleans Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montparnasse

Property: Villa Montparnasse
Address: 2 rue Boulard, 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#341 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#519 Family Hotel in Paris
#619 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Montparnasse 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La combinaison exotique entre plantes, materiaux et mineraux accorde a l'hotel Villa Montparnasse le visage d'une maison coloniale. La couleur acajou, l'omnipresence du bois, la lumiere naturelle qui joue les contrastes appellent l'esprit safari dans chaque piece. Une decoration par petites touches est inspiree par le Lion de la place Denfert-Rochereau, tout proche. Un couloir en forme de goutte d'eau dessert les 46 chambres dotees d'une salle de bain retro melant le charme du marbre et du bois et la robinetterie a l'ancienne. La lumiere apprivoisee entretient une ambiance chaleureuse et cree des zones de convivialite, comme la reception dans le lobby pave de verre ou la salle du petit-dejeuner qui profite de cette meme luminosite. Le coin bar pres de l'accueil avec la presse a disposition incite a s'attarder et accentue le cote "demeure" de l'etablissement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Montparnasse Hotel Paris
Montparnasse Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing