We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than reviews make you believe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Lutece Port Royal
Ranked #847 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After reading the reviews below I was a little wary of the hotel we had booked, but on arrival these trepidations were proven to be false. The location was in more of a residential neighbourhood but it was in no way unsafe. The Hotel itself was very welcoming, and the staff were very friendly.

On checking we were told our room was ready, but on entering we found it was not. The concierge was very apologetic about this and the problem was rectified within 20 minutes. Once we were able to get into our room we found it to be very nice. it was a very decent size with plenty of storage space and a large spacious, clean bathroom.

During our trip the closest metro stop was under maintenance, but there were two other metro options, both easily with a 10 minute walk. The other reviews claiming that a taxi was needed were truly unjust, the area was very safe. Unless you have never visited a mid-large size city in your life before you would understand this. There are also several Vélib (rentable bicycles) stations around the hotel which are very fun and useful.

Checkout was at 12 rather than the usual 10 and we were able to leave our bags in the hotel's locked baggage room for the day while we visited more of the city.

Overall this is a great hotel if you get it at a good price. We paid £180 for Eurostar and two nights, so a great deal. The reception desk has a sign with prices starting from €440 so book in advance!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrHudson87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 510 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hotel was cute but modest. Not much in the area but transportation was fairly easy. Basic amenities only, but reliable. Service was a little spotty -- missed one night of housekeeping, and not very forthcoming with suggestions, recommendations. A good choice for a longer stay (8 days) like ours but I would have upgraded for a shorter stay. Surrounding area feels like a working class neighborhood and we never had any concerns over safety. There is a small handy little market just across the street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SM592013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Me and my husband visited , Paris 02 August 2013 for 4 nights. The hotel room was good and clean. It is 6 stations away from Eiffel tower by metro. There are some good restaurants in walking distance to a stop named place d italie . We had french food there. The hotel staff was not helpful . Overall average.

Room Tip: book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remidatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and i stayed here for 3 nights, the hotel itself is really nice, the room was great no complaints what so ever except the area its in isnt very nice, the metro (line 5) isnt stoping at the 3 stations closest to the hotel till end of august 2013, so we walked back one night, some guy followed us for a few minutes then passed us waited 5m infront of us then as we passed started following us directly behind us and shouted at us, we also had problems with drunks/homeless on the main road next to the hotel, so i might advise getting taxis to the hotel, especially at night and while the metro is still not working

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sébastien D, Responsable relations publiques at Villa Lutece Port Royal, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and its service. As you have noticed some stations on line 5 are closed until the 31st of august, but they have organised some buses to deserve them. These buses are running every 5 minutes from one station to the other. Our Hotel is also deserved by line 6 which takes you right to the center of the city in 15 minutes (Eiffel Tower). The area around the hotel is safe and we never experienced any complaint as far as safety is concerned. We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in our property very soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was my first trip to Europe. I had business at an outfit at Place d'Italie so our event planner could only find this place with the short notice we had. This was about a 15min walk up Boulevard L'Hopital. The initial impression was a tidal wave of opulence and poshness. Though after about 5min one realizes it is small, though it has been clearly refurbished and well maintained.
My actual room was fairly small. The entry door could not open the entire arch due to it hitting the bed. The bathroom door had the same characteristic. Once inside the actual room and the doors closed – it was a tight fit, but had enough room to store stuff and move around. The room was equipped w/ a mini fridge/mini bar, hair dryer (w/ a 120V adapter – bonus!), tv – don’t know much about French tv but seemed like an adequate selection – mainly background noise for me. For an older building I thought there were plenty of outlets. The wifi worked fine with both my laptop and my phone.
There is a small park/garden (dedicated to Louis Armstrong) directly in front of Villa Lutece Port Royal and I saw the benches that were mentioned by another Trip Advisor member who winded up sleeping on b/c there no one at the front desk to let him in at approx. 12midnight. This always gave me a moment of trepidation as the hotel’s policy is to have you leave your key when you go out. Fortunately this experience did not happen, but I can easily visualize it.
Since this was a business trip I had the breakfast for 4days. It consisted of scrambled eggs, cold ham and salami, juice, cold cereal, coffee, croissants and such all for 14.50 Euro. That’s a steep price for breakfast and if I had been there on leisure I’d have probably ventured out and found other options. It was basically a continental breakfast like I’ve had at a Fairfield Inn (minus the waffles).
On my own time, I hoofed it down to Place d’Italie to catch metros to: the Eiffel Tower; The Louvre (did not go in – walked from there to the Arch de Triomphe, caught the metro back from the Arch; and to Norte Dame – perhaps the most complex metro trip from Place d’Italie (but still fairly reasonable). So I thought this hotel was a decent local to get to the ‘meat’ of Paris. There were probably closer metro stations but I used what I was familiar with. I also was please that it was w/in walking distance to the Gare du Lyon, which I had a bullet train to the Provence. Though, I had one bag that doubles as a carry-on and a backpack. One could probably pull larger luggage there but it would be rougher than inside an airport terminal – but achievable.
On checkout there was some confusion about the breakfast bill. I thought it had been included in the room rate. They said it was not, so I decided to simply pay it and settle up with my employer afterward. In the confusion, the front desk lady charged me for the entire stay. So she went about refunding my credit card, and then had to get some help. Then they both answered phones and it seemed like they droned on and on ( I did have a train to catch, but I didn’t say anything as I didn’t want to motivate them to go any slower). Finally they refunded me the room charge, and the mgr(?) comped me the breakfast for my wait. I thought that was a nice gesture, but sort of empty until I returned to work and clarified that breakfast had not been included – so a sincere nice gesture.
Overall, I thought it was a nice room/hotel. Though for $375/ night it could have been more attention to detail in the overall hotel. I’ve never been to Paris, so I have no sense of scale as what to pay for what. The location was great, as far as getting around to the major sights, and to get into or out of Paris via train. Place d’Itaie has plenty of cafes to eat at, there’s even a mall there and a Carefour store (some kind of grocery/department store) in the basement. I did see some bums/drunks in the Louis Armstrong Park, but I did see some at Place d’Italie too – in fact I saw some pretty much everywhere. It is a city of 10M, so you’re going to see some. They never bothered me and I never felt threatened either.

I would have rated it 4 stars, but at $375.00/night I think the cost must be considered. Honestly, I've stayed at $100.00/night places that were just as nice or nicer. Granted none of those were in Paris, so I again state I have no sense of scale. Neverthelss, it seemed very expensive. I would stay here again, but on my own dime I would shop around.

Room Tip: There’s a store front vending machine on Boulevard L'Hopital in case you need a snack or someth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtobeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Visited this hotel between 30.6.13 & 4.7.13. Situated near a metro Campio Furmo but between 1.7.13 & 30.8.2013 the metro line is shut for essential repairs. Nightmare but there is a replacement bus service. To be fair the walk up from place di italia is not far but with luggage would be a nightmare. The area is run down to be nice. Lots of vagrants drinking on benches. The hotel itself was clean and staff very helpful. Would I stay here again? Probably not but only because of the area not because of the hotel or staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATE j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We chose this hotel because the location was just right for us. We arrived at the Gare du Nord from London and needed to be near Gare d'Austerlitz which was convenient for getting to the Roland Garros tennis tournament and also for travelling to central France. We stayed for 4 nights and the reception staff were good and helpful. We have had many breakfasts in Paris and this one was average and fairly expensive. We were not in the hotel much during the day but it was warm and welcoming in the lounge area in the evening and we had our own 'nightcap' there as, although there was a bar, this was not staffed, and having ordered wine and it not being served, we started to bring in our own drinks, using the wine glasses provided in the room, and nobody seemed to mind or notice. There didn't seem to be many staff on duty.
The room was quite adequate and had everything we needed although we cannot comment on the Wifi or the t.v. as we didn't use either. Neither did we try the air conditioning as we had the window open at night as it was a quiet area. We used the mini bar fridge for our own drinks. The lift was surprisingly large for a Paris hotel. We have stayed in many hotels in Paris and we would recommend this one if you need to be in this area. We would stay again.
One word of caution - on the first night we had a meal at the restaurant on the corner of the main road nearest to the hotel. The food was good but we did check the bill and two extra puddings had been added which we had not had. It may well have been a genuine mistake but it's as well to check your bills. All the restaurants we tried in the area were good with pleasant staff.

Room Tip: We stayed with friends. We had a room at the back, theirs was at the front. Both rooms were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suki504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Pavillon Nation
Pavillon Nation
#400 of 1,802 in Paris
638 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Villa Alessandra
Villa Alessandra
#1,059 of 1,802 in Paris
486 reviews
Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
#478 of 1,802 in Paris
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
#731 of 1,802 in Paris
683 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Villa Eugenie
Villa Eugenie
#1,107 of 1,802 in Paris
449 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Luxembourg
Villa Luxembourg
#972 of 1,802 in Paris
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lutece Port Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lutece Port Royal

Address: 52 rue Jenner, 75013 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Gobelins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#412 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $105 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lutece Port Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Paris 13th arrondissement, near the Jardin des Plantes and the National Library, is the very stylish Villa Lutèce Port Royal hotel. The Villa Lutèce features air-conditioned rooms that are stylishly decorated and equipped with a minibar. The private bathrooms feature a modern décor and a shower or a bath. Before venturing out to visit Paris, you can enjoy the breakfast buffet in the dining area. Room service is available all day and the hotel features a bar where guests can socialize over a drink. Staying at the Villa Lutèce Port Royal places you in the centre of the world's most visited city. In the surrounding area you will find a variety of restaurants that offer traditional and international cuisine, lively night life and many of the city's most famous sights. 13th arr. is a great choice for travellers interested in ancient landmarks, cathedrals and art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Splitty, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Lutece Port Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lutece Port Royal Hotel Paris
Hotel Lutece Port Royal
Lutece Port Royal Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing