We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golden Tulip - Average not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera
Ranked #924 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Golden Tulip - Average not Great”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed there over the weekend. The hotel was clean and staff were very polite but rooms were tiny and there was not enough room in the bathroom for two people to use at the same time. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were rock hard. Breakfast was OK, no fruit or cereal just pastries, bread, ham, cheese and plain yoghurt. We asked for a taxi to be ordered and the receptionist said it was too hard, taxis busy between 7-9am on weekday, so we had to walk down road and hail one ourselves. I think next time we will be going somewhere else...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna121299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    140
    52
    25
    48
See reviews for
102
116
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

- superior room with a king size bed = a small room with two separate beds
- the toilet was dirty, had been left unwashed
- the staff were passive and unhelpful
- they claim to do room service all day (I called to ask) but once I arrived found out it is only between 7pm and 10pm and no lunch.
- I left my bag at the reception to wander the streets of Paris and the receptionist gave my luggage to a cab driver with another woman leaving for the airport - I missed my trip home because of it! The hotel told the driver they would pay his fare once I retrieved the bag (the driver met me) but they refused (the driver called me afterwards furious). not very classy.

all in all, not worth my energy and time for a staff that seems bored at all times and are unhelpful.
Not going back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fläms e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

UK
Level Contributor
383 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at the Washington Opera Hotel in September 2010 for a couple of days before heading on to Italy. It is a well located hotel and we enjoyed our time in Paris. The room we had was a good size and was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was nice but fairly basic and the service was on the slow side.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMrsHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Lovely set of chaps, Convival. lovely customer service.

Room Tip: lovely location. compares well with another hotel i had slept in down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Expensive for a tired no frills hotel. The carpet on 5th floor is grotesque and needs replacing. The smell of cleaning products is also horrid. Nasty stain on furniture in the room.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGIRDGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Everything was below acceptable level- room size (we had junior suite), bathroom size, having on relatively small double bed only one old blanket with single sheet cover. Hotel staff was day-shift ok, night-shift terrible. All in all, never would go back, not even for free.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiropraktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

After confusion with a booking at another hotel we got "sent" to the Washington Opera. I was feeling very annoyed by all this but once we got into our room I was pleasantly surprised. I think it was a superior room and it was a nice size (for Paris). It was very clean and I think it had been recently refurbished. I did hear someone complaining about the quality of their room but I can say we were very happy with ours and if all the rooms were the same I would definitely recommend it to anyone. The reception staff were helpful to us at all times but I did hear them being quite rude to some other guests. It was certainly in a very central location within walking distance to most attractions. I would stay there again if I could be guaranteed the same quality room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Golden Tulip Opera De Noailles
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Richelieu
Hotel Louvre Richelieu
#1,190 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Therese
Hotel Therese
#176 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Moliere
Hotel Moliere
#217 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
#560 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Lumen
Hotel Lumen
#355 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera

Property: Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera
Address: 50 rue de Richelieu, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#427 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel housed in a building dating from 1760 with Louis XV-style facade - Rooms furnished in traditional decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Hotel Paris
Golden Tulip Paris
Paris Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Washington Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing