We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris
Ranked #1,004 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My sister and I stayed there on July 2013. We booked early on internet so we get a really nice discount, the normal rates are a bit expensive (specially for our budget as young travellers). It was a very nice choice. The room size is quite ok, the bathroom too. It was pretty clean and staff are helpfull. The location is amazing! Few steps from Rue Mouffetard, near many metro stations which you easily go anywhere in the city and there's many spots you can go by foot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leticia_Vanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReceptionCardinal, Responsable réception at Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

The Hotel "Cardinal Rive Gauche" thank your preference Ms. Vanz. Was a pleasure to have given you a pleasant stay and we look forward to welcoming you next time in Paris”

Best Regards,
The Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 281 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel was chosen for a four day break to see Paris for the first time and could not have been better in terms of quality, location and price. The quiet street and comfortable rooms guaranteed a good nights sleep. The decor is very neat and tasteful (just what I might have expected). The breakfast selection was plentiful and fresh. Reception service was excellent for our needs. Metro stations are a few minutes walk away as is the Rue de Mouffetard meaning we could enjoy the best of Paris city centre with ease. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulonpiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very welcoming, clean, ideally situated within walking distance of most major sites of interest. Metro station just up the road for more distant sites. Good local eating places a short walk away.
We only stay spring & autumn so can't comment on the A/Con but it was fine when required.
This was our third visit and we will be returning.

Room Tip: All rooms are OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

It's a small hotel on a very quiet street. You are steps away from rue Mouffetard which can be somewhat of a tourist trap as far a restaurants go, but also has vibrant local scene with lots of bakeries, charcuteries and fresh produce stalls. Squeaky clean, adequat space, good location if you dont mind a little walking (10-15min to get to Pantheon), then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: dont mind the rooms facing rue Pascal as it is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a nice stay at the cardinal rive gauche!! The staff, although knew only basic English, were polite and helpful. The rooms were basic but nice. We had a cute window opening up to the street which we liked. Breakfast was basic, cereal, ham, cheese and cereal. Generally good all round... Air con did not work though!! Be prepared for this because in the height of summer, it can be very warm!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alij1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our air con did not work in the room and in the August heat, it was almost unbearable. We are from Australia, so are used to the heat, but with no air con or fans in the height of summer, it was unpleasant. Room size and cleanliness was fine, but the lift also broke for 2 days during our stay, so we had to use the stairs (in the heat, with our bags!). The breakfast was expensive, so we didn't have it. Having said this, location was good, near the metro and in winter it might be lovely!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellieg1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked last minute and were on a budget. We got the superior double (same sized bed as a double but bigger room for just under £70 per night ( without breakfast). The room , toilet and bathroom were clean. Shower good. It was a pleasant but we were only there for sleeping so cant comment on Breakfast etc. The hotel is in position A for the Latin quarter and la mouffetard with its numerous cafes, restaurants and bars. My only minor gripe is that free wifi is intermittent in strength but that's really about it.

Very good value overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nascot10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#331 of 1,804 in Paris
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#20 of 1,804 in Paris
494 reviews
Grand Hotel Francais
#93 of 1,804 in Paris
2,043 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#91 of 1,804 in Paris
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris

Address: 20 rue Pascal | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#581 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $93 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cardinal Rive Gauche is located on the left bank, in a quiet street of the historical heart of Paris.Take advantage of its location to discover or rediscover Paris and its many treasures.Stroll in the picturesque streets of the area and fall in love with our neighbourhood: the “Mouffetard” Street and its daily typical market and its many restaurants, the “Arènes de Lutèce”, the “Panthéon”, “Botanical gardens”, “Notre Dame cathedral”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris Hotel Paris
Comfort Inn Paris
Paris Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing