We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Elysees Union
Ranked #377 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel has a very good breakfast, rooms are very clean, staff are very helpful. Just wished had electric kettle and cups in room. Great location for Eiffiel Tower and Arc-de Triumph and metro. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golftaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a nice stay. The room was small, plain, white. It WAS pretty quiet with the windows closed. The bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. Very nice view of the Eiffel Tower, if you opened 2 sets of glass doors, and stepped out onto the "balcony" (read: windowsill, with very short, dangerous, railing) And we enjoyed ourselves, mostly. The location was WONDERFUL with several very nice restaurants/cafes next door, across the street, and nearby. We were between the Tower and the Arch, near the Metro, and buses. Perfect really.

But there were some issues.

In all the profile photos, the rooms have furniture, AND space to move around the bed, and wallpaper. Our room had a countertop built into an alcove, with a desk chair, and small fridge underneath, and a little padded bench we had to move around the room depending on what we were using it for, but mostly it just blocked the way. Two built-in floor-to-ceiling cabinets with a little cubby in them to put your watch/glasses/clock on. No room for our luggage. Nowhere to hang my wife's dress, except the TV on the wall. And the room was plain white paint. And the bathroom? Pretty in a waaaaay too modern way. White glass (1ft x 2ft) panels, raised bathtub/shower with no curtain, and this little glass half-wall thing that didn't keep the water in the tub. Got water everywhere. Square, raised basin-sink with fancy faucet. And a toilet so close to the wall you almost had to sit sideways. Pretty, but very strange layout.

And then there is the electrical, A/C, and internet.

First the internet. 13 Euros for 24 hours, and you can only use one device. In fairness, if you disconnect the device, you can pause the clock, or connect another device, but then you have to log in again with username and password. Pain in the neck.

We stayed there 9 nights. On one night the power, and lights went off, on at least 2 floors. I went down to tell the clerk (who told someone on the phone he only started yesterday). He grabbed some tools and started down a hallway. I followed him to a closet where the main electrical panel was. He open the door, and it fell off the hinges. He looked inside, muttered a curse, then walked out, over to the elevator, and up to our floor (3), found another closet, opened it, flipped a breaker, and the power came back on, for TWO FLOORS?. Another night, we came back to the hotel to find that the outlets in our room were off. Not the lights, just the outlets! On night 8 I came back to find that the power brick for my laptop was blown out. Told the clerk (I believe he was the manager) about these issues, and his response was to blame the clients for "using their blowdryers" (not us). They really need to get that stuff fixed before someone gets killed.

And the A/C was garbage. We finally ended up having a fan sent up to the room.

All-in-all the desk staff was very nice and did much better with our English than we did with their French, and they were generally very helpful. The maids ignored our first requests to leave our room alone. And the breakfast staff spoke zero English, and generally seemed really irritated to be bothered with serving us.

Don't get me wrong, we enjoyed our stay. After all, we were only using the room to sleep, not to be comfortable and watch TV (never turned it on). However, on a 10 day trip we had too much luggage for this little tiny room.

Room Tip: Don't get the room for the view. It's only good if you lean out the window. I believe that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSpry01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

You want to walk and feel Paris, or you want to use the metro, this is the place. Everything is round the corner...Arc-de-Triumph,Trocadero, Eiffel tower, Champs-Elysses, Av Montaigne. A perfect Bed Breakfast set up. For your daily needs there is a Carrefour couple of steps away. You can also see the Eiffel tower from the hotel.

Room Tip: We had taken a quadruple room which faces the courtyard. Our room was very lighted up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adhvanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our family of 4 (two teenage boys) stumbled across great accommodations while visiting Paris, France. The Hotel Elysees Union had everything we were looking for: 2 bedrooms and a pull-out couch that together could sleep 6 comfortably, 2 baths, a sitting room and a small kitchen. Not all rooms at this hotel offer this set-up, most of the rooms are smaller with just a double bed and bath. This is not a new hotel, but I found it's age to be charming.

We loved the location with the hotel located exactly between the Eiffel Tower and the Arc-de-Triomphe. We walked to both attractions within 5-10 minutes. Perfect. Because of the close proximity to the Champs-des-Elysees, plenty of shopping and eateries and cafes literally at your door-step.

The front desk was anchored by Saoussen and Christophe who were patient with my lack of francais and found their anglais to be "excellente." Both were extremely helpful at all times and thoughtfully offered us free coffee and croissants on our last morning at the hotel.

If you're looking for a Marriott, this ain't it. But if you are looking for old world charm, a local flavor and a fantastic location with helpful staff. The Union is for you.

Room Tip: Ask for the apartment if traveling with a family of more than 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saint4jst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It's tough to beat a hotel in Paris with air conditioning, walking distance to the Arc-de-Triumph, Champs Elysees, with easy access to the Metro stations. This hotel offered all of that with a great staff, included breakfast, and a view of the Eiffel tower from our room (if you lean out the window) for less than $170/night in early August 2013. It's not supreme luxury, but the rooms are relatively spacious, clean, and comfortable - for travelers on a budget, this was a great find.
Pros - Location (near Metro and the sights), price, air conditioning, breakfast included
Cons - Location (not much food/drink nearby), very limited parking, extra $ for WiFi

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

There are so many wonderful reviews for this hotel. I honestly thought I was at the wrong hotel. We spent 16 days in Europe and TripAdvisor reviews were spot on for everything else. Our family of 5 stayed in an apartment on the 6th floor for 3 days. On the plus side, we had plenty of space and the bedding was comfortable. The breakfast buffet was pretty good. The apartment, however, was badly in need of an upgrade. It smelled musty, the paint was terribly chipped, the wallpaper was starting to peel and the bathtub was also peeling badly (I didn't even know that was possible). The water ran hot and cold during our showers. The entire carpet in the hallway outside the room was stained and gross. The air conditioner did not adequately cool the room. The staff was friendly for the most part, but someone at the front desk suggested we take the metro from the airport and it was a nightmare with three kids and all our luggage (for a return trip they set up a van to the airport for only 55euros which seemed like a great deal). It is a challenge to find lodging in Paris for a family of 5 and space wise the apartment worked out great, but if you are considering the apartment it seemed overpriced for what it is in my opinion. Maybe the regular rooms are better?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familytravelers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The location gets a big tick here. You step outside the door and see the Eiffel tower when you glance down the street. Champs elysee in the other direction. Both a 10 min walk. Hop on hop off bus 100 meters down the street. ATM machine across the road. Train stations close by etc.
The rooms were clean, no personality though, nothing "French boutique" about them which is what I was expecting from website. however acceptable for a good nights rest and ok space. The staff were really helpful and pleasant, not at all stiff like other French hotels that I have stayed at, older guys that were geared to tourists. Breakfast so so. Restaurants close by if you are feeling tired and don't want to walk too far after a hard day of siteseeing. I'd recommend to my friends for tourist trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojoshopaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Elysees Ceramic Hotel
Elysees Ceramic Hotel
#509 of 1,804 in Paris
748 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#474 of 1,804 in Paris
388 reviews
Trocadero
Passy Eiffel Hotel
Passy Eiffel Hotel
#195 of 1,804 in Paris
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Montfleuri
Hotel Montfleuri
#554 of 1,804 in Paris
269 reviews
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#47 of 1,804 in Paris
880 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel 7 Eiffel
Hotel 7 Eiffel
#520 of 1,804 in Paris
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysees Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysees Union

Address: 44 rue de l Amiral Hamelin | 16 Arr., 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Trocadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#587 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $135 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elysees Union 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet street just off Avenue Kleber, this elegant hotel offers you a peaceful and refined environment within walking distance of the world famous Champs-Elysées, high-end Avenue Montaigne or the Trocadero. The Arc de Triomphe stands proud at the top end of the Champ-Elysées and offers an amazing perspective on the modern Defense business district to the west and the Place de la Concorde to the east. Located about 10 minutes walk from our hotel, this elegant monument is a great place to start your visit of the Champs-Elysées. The most beautiful avenue in the world is home to high-end brands, award winning restaurants and prestigious entertainment venues such as the Lido or Queen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elysees Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysees Union Paris
Elysees Union Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing