We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Elysees Union
Ranked #394 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

The obvious selling point is the hotels excellent location close to the metro and 10 mins walk to the arc de triomphe in one direction and the tour Eiffel in the other
We stayed three nights and didn't have much call on the front of house staff
However they seemed pretty helpful to the many American tourists
Our room although a double was a tight squeeze , half a bath , separate toilet was so small you had to keep the door open
Carpets had seen better days, the mattress protector made sleeping uncomfortable and the room was so hot, impossible in the summer
The breakfast was shambolic tables left uncleared while quests waited for an adequate coffee watery Orange juice croissants and tartine all in the downstairs room hidden away from daylight
Ridiculously over priced for the offer but was full through out our stay
Next time I'll look for better value for money

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolmjonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights at Hotel Elysees Union. A three-star hotel, in a great location. It is a quiet neighborhood, with views of the Eiffel Tower in the distance. In walking distance of the Arc and Champs Elysses. We stayed in a flat (suite) with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a teeny tiny kitchen. It had a "washer/dryer" in the tiny kitchen, but it didn't work very well. The toilet in the main bathroom was terrible in terms of flushing. Not to get graphic, but it was a problem every day of our stay. I thought one of the front desk staff was nice, but the male clerks were definitely not as friendly or as helpful in terms of answering questions, or making small talk. The biggest downside of the hotel is that they charge a hefty fee for internet, especially in light of what you are paying to stay in the hotel. $6 Euro for a 1/2 hour for wireless internet. It wasn't worth it to check email and stay connected. I would expect that a 3-star hotel would include free wireless in the bill. I would reccomend to others, but do agree with other reviews that the hallways, main reception, etc. appear to be very worn down.

Breakfast was so/so. Hunks of french bread with jam was never my thing. Very safe neighborhood, and comfortable beds.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank IslandAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in September and spent a lot of time researching a hotel that would suit our group. It was just what we needed!

Location great, just near Bossiere metro, cafes on Ave Kleber, and walking distance to the big attractions.

Reception staff were fantastic and so helpful. The breakfast consisted of juice, yogurt, fruit, cereal and baskets full of croissant, baguette and choc au pain. When the waitress worked out my son liked the choc au pain, she brought extra over.

We had a triple room with 3 single beds, which was on the ground floor just of the internal courtyard. Bonus not having to use the lift and close to reception and breakfast, but annoying as people smoked I the courtyard which you could smell in our room. Beds were comfy, bathroom roomy, great shower and lots of storage space.

Loved returning after a days sightseeing to see the Eiffel tower glittering from the front of the hotel.

My sister and her family had a quad room which was really good value for money - not so much space but they spent no time there -just collapsed in to bed each night.

So thumbs up on this one, was great for what we wanted.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haggis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The website and photos are proof that photoshop is a valuable marketing tool. Everything on the website looks gorgeous and in actuality, in person, it all looks like the pictures. But in reality, the common areas are very faded and worn, very small and very very crowded when the hotel is full. The double room was so small that the queen sized bed was the only thing that could fit in it - not a closet, not a dresser, not a table, not a luggage rack. There might be bigger rooms in the hotel, but the one that we were in was very very very small. There were two redeeming points - the staff, especially Saucesson, who was the most helpful and delightful and warm and charming person I have ever met, anywhere, and the location, which was a safe neighborhood, with lots of fine neighborhood restaurants, and fantastic proximity to the iconic tourist sights of Paris. You can't complain when the view from your hotel room window is the Eiffel Tower!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the Hotel Elysees Union in July this year to complete our holiday following a Trafalgar tour around Italy. Our main purpose of visiting Paris was to surprise our children with a visit to Disneyland! Our apartment was 2 bedrooms, one with a queen bed and ensuite and the other with 2 single beds. As we were travelling with my husbands parents, our two children aged 13 and 11 slept in the lounge area on the couch and a pull out trundle bed. Although the floor space area in the lounge was small, we found the accommodation to be comfortable and were relieved to find an extra toilet/shower area other than the ensuite (a real treat when travelling in Europe!). We were on the 6th floor at the end of a very narrow corridoor, the room was quiet at night and the beds comfortable. The nicest surprise of this hotel was standing out the front and spotting the Eiffel tower down the road, what a view in the evening when the lights were on!! I really enjoyed the shops close by, particularly the bakery around the corner (great lemon tarts and coffee). We walked everywhere from our hotel but if you are not a walker, the underground train is not far away and takes you anywhere you want to go. The staff at the hotel were always helpful and organised taxi's, clean towels and tours for us without hesitation. I would definatley stay here again should we get to return to Paris one day!

Room Tip: We don't know if it was only our room but when the shower was in use, the pump noise in the wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludeadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our 6th trip to Paris and our 5th stay at Hotel Elysees Union. There are no words to adequately convey how much we have grown to love this place. The accommodations are great, but what keeps bringing us back is the amazing staff. For the most part, the same people are there now that we met on our first trip back in 2005. They treat us like family and are the most helpful hotel people we have ever known. We will return to Paris next year, and we will, without a doubt, again stay at Elysees Union Hotel. In addition to the wonderful staff, we love the breakfast that is included each morning. It's a great way to start every day. We also love the location of the hotel. It is within easy walking distance of the Eiffel Tower, the Arc de Triomphe, and the Champs Elysees. And now it's time to start counting the days until we can again walk into the lobby of Hotel Elysees Union and be greeted by the hugs and kisses of our dear friends who are always happy to see us return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eltut66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just stayed in Paris for nine nights and for the price I can't complain. Close to 2 metro stations and 5 min walk to Air France bus terminal at Arc d'Triomphe makes it very accessible from CDG. View of the Eiffel tower just as you exit on the left. Staff at desk always ready to assist guests and I'd give them a six star. Rooms are cleaned daily. Surcharge for internet but for 13 euros is fair enough cause I did not even use up half of my allotted time.

Room Tip: 519 no Eiffel view, small but good enough for a couple. Had no problem whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Elysees Ceramic Hotel
Elysees Ceramic Hotel
#477 of 1,803 in Paris
739 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#458 of 1,803 in Paris
382 reviews
Trocadero
Hotel Longchamp Elysees
Hotel Longchamp Elysees
#233 of 1,803 in Paris
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel de Sevigne
Hotel de Sevigne
#440 of 1,803 in Paris
436 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Montfleuri
Hotel Montfleuri
#564 of 1,803 in Paris
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysees Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysees Union

Address: 44 rue de l Amiral Hamelin | 16 Arr., 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Trocadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#279 Family Hotel in Paris
#588 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $136 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elysees Union 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet street just off Avenue Kleber, this elegant hotel offers you a peaceful and refined environment within walking distance of the world famous Champs-Elysées, high-end Avenue Montaigne or the Trocadero. The Arc de Triomphe stands proud at the top end of the Champ-Elysées and offers an amazing perspective on the modern Defense business district to the west and the Place de la Concorde to the east. Located about 10 minutes walk from our hotel, this elegant monument is a great place to start your visit of the Champs-Elysées. The most beautiful avenue in the world is home to high-end brands, award winning restaurants and prestigious entertainment venues such as the Lido or Queen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elysees Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysees Union Paris
Elysees Union Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing