We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel is filthy and overpriced - Don't stay here...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amarante Champs-Elysees
Ranked #1,268 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This hotel is filthy and overpriced - Don't stay here...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

When I first booked this hotel it was for the location and I thought the pictures on the website looked ok. However upon arrival it was apparent to me that I had made a bad choice. The staff first claimed that I didn't have a reservation and would send me down to the street to another hotel also run by the same manager....after I threatened to go somewhere else they quickly changed their story and gave me a room in the hotel. When I arrived in the room I was shocked to find black moldy stains on the walls, old worn bedsheets and bed, leaky bathroom and a smell I could not stomach....I immediately checked out and went to another hotel......also, this hotel is overpriced ...they try to charge you 30 € for internet access....after checking out I immediately found a cleaner hotel for less money in the same area....don't be folled by their website pics......do not stay at this hotel....

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hispeeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    57
    37
    15
    23
See reviews for
24
47
8
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

I booked this hotel having stayed at the one next door (Hotel Vernet) the week before and wanted a change of scenery. Worst mistake ever! It was not what I expected for 200 euros per night! The hotel still uses those heavy keys which you cannot take with you, so that you always have to ask reception every time you come back. I was given a room on the second floor so I went to take the lift, which again was a bit run down, but you don't have to stay in there for too long so that's fine. But here I am, in front of a heavily used door with the big key in my hand and another card for the light. Well, I can say that when I finally got in I was shocked. The room was very small, old, cheap and tacky. And I think I have been generous.
The wardrobe was heavily used too and scuffed, the wallpaper hideous and stained, the toilet seat was yellow, there were holes in the wall and it was all generally run down. A sense of panic pervaded me so I just decided to cancelled the other two nights I should have stayed there, spend the night and try to survive and move to the Vernet the morning after. I woke up too hot and too early at 5 a.m. and could not fall asleep again because of the noise coming from the street. I blessed the moment I left that place…

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fedetrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Brazil
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

The hotel is comfortable, the breakfast is great and the staff is very polite and helpful.Just one thing I didn't like, the price for using internet is extremely high, 10 euro for 1 hour.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrazilClaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2008

I booked this hotel via lastminute.com so I guess I was given the worst of all rooms.
As mentionned by other people, this is not a 4 star hotel. The room I got was old. Fabric on the wall had black stains. Most of all, there was no hot water from 6.30 until 8.45 in the morning in the whole hotel!
The staff was totally unhelpful.
I complained and did not get any partial refund nor any compensation.
This is a rip-off!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no hot water!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2008

Amarante Champs Elysees is a very lovely small Parisian hotel .
The location is superb giving travellers easy access to explore the surrounding area. Staff are friendly and the breakfast pleasant. The bedroom was very comfortable and clean There is no room service however I would not let this stop me booking again. The metro is also o your doorstep. You can step out on the hotel and in less than a minute you are in the heart of the Champs Elysees overloked by the magnificent Arc De Triomphe.
I would highly reccomend the hotel.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Charliestafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

Reading the other reviews about this hotel, I was at first a little worried about our stay.
But I'm glad to say my worries were unproven & our stay at this hotel was outstanding.

It did get a bit noisy in the morning around 9am but what do you expect being such a short distance from the Champs Elysees?
If you don't want the noise of the traffic don't stay on the main street!!!

Brilliant hotel, facilities & staff!!
Would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bucktoothbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2007

Arrived here at 8pm with a confirmed booking and was told that they did not have a room for me (though they acknowledged my booking had been made) and they were transferring me by taxi to another hotel in their chain. I had particularly picked this hotel for its location close to a business meeting.

The location of this hotel is excellent but the one they shipped me to was much less convenient and had a really tacky, plastic foyer with none of the 'extra' amenities advertised for the rooms here.

I asked for a partial refund to allow for the difference in quality and was told that a manager would phone me to discuss - no one ever did, naturally.

It should be said that two other couples booked into the hotel after me, while I was waiting for my taxi. I was told that they were part of a bigger (and hence presumably more lucrative) group.

In short, if you have picked this hotel because of its location and the facilities you need, based on my experience, you may end up with neither.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
5 Thank robini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
#718 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Vernet
Hotel Vernet
#363 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Galileo
Hotel Galileo
#112 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Radisson Blu Hotel Champs Elysees, Paris
Champs-Elysees
Warwick Paris
Warwick Paris
#337 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Francois 1er
Hotel Francois 1er
#151 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarante Champs-Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarante Champs-Elysees

Property: Amarante Champs-Elysees
Address: 19 rue Vernet, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#468 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarante Champs-Elysees 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amarante Champs-Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarante Champs Elysees Paris
Amarante Champs Elysees Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing