We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“dont stay here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Palace
Ranked #228 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dont stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I am this review from the hotel. I checked in today with my daughter. There is no AC and its very very hot. They claim that this is a five star hotel. - five star hotel which doesnt have working ac on hot days, the phone doesn't have any labeling on how to make calls. I tried calling the front desk, I kept pressing "0" but no answer. When I went downstairs to ask about the AC they said they cant do anything until the manager is contacted in the morning. For a five star hotel, I think manager should be available. Instead they don't want to disturb him, so i have to wait until 9 am tomorrow. I made this reservation using priceline which was also a big mistake. NEVER USE PRICELINE AND NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL.

Other Trip advisor reviews said the breakfast is included, but they adviced us that it's not included for our reservations. I dont know why but it's not included.

I am trying to check out tomorrow.

Room Tip: dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jagspage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael E, Responsable commercial at Victoria Palace, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are very sorry this client was disappointed.
Regarding the air-conditioning : the air-conditioning is controlled by a central unit that must be either on the ‘hot’ or ‘cold’ position ; it cannot provide both hot and cold air at the same time, nor can it be switched from one to the other on an hourly or even daily basis. (Sadly, the City of Paris does not allow us to install the sort of window units that would allow each room to be totally independent.) During the month of April temperatures generally remain too cold to be able to switch the system over to cooling, especially as some parts of our building take much longer to warm up than others. As soon as temperatures appear to stabilise at a warmer level, we switch the system over to cooling. This was not yet the case during this guest’s stay : on 16 April, the morning low was 10°C (50°F) and the afternoon high 19°C (66°F) ; on 17 April, the day of the review, the morning low was 12°C (53°F) and the afternoon high unexpectedly reached 25°C (77°F) ; by the next morning the temperature had fallen back to 9°C (48°F) with an afternoon high of 18°C (64°F). Indeed, the client who complained was seen on the morning of the 18th walking out of the hotel in a quilted coat against the cold.
Because it was not possible to provide the client with immediate air-conditioning, the Room Clerk on duty did offer to move her to another room ; as mentioned above, some rooms located in certain parts of the building take longer to heat up than others. The client declined the offer.
Regarding the telephone : when the Room Clerks show guests to their rooms, they tell them that should they require anything they should phone ‘9’. In addition, lying on the desk right next to the telephone there is a Guide to Guest Services which has the number of the Reception in bold type at the top of each page. Dialling ‘0’ would not be very useful : that is the number guest must use to get an outside line ; that also is explained in the Guide to Guest Services.
Regarding breakfast : some rates include breakfast and others do not and this is clearly indicated when the booking is made. The reason why this guest’s rate did not include breakfast is quite simply that she chose a less expensive rate that did not include breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    125
    28
    5
    6
See reviews for
118
242
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
antwerp belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

It is a fine hotel, in a quite street.
The rooms are big and comfortable, and well maintained.
The breakfast is good.
The hotel is a 5 star but it is more a 4 star.
It was a pity that there was so few other people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

we spend 4 nights with family in this Hotel. Very good location. Very Helpfull staft.
Very good connected rooms for family. We had 2 rooms connected, it was very good because boys were in one room and parrents in second.
Breakfast nothing special, a little bit less than 5 Stars Hotel.
Coffe ,,americano ,, it was a little less than expected in 5 star Hotel.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Valdas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fantastic location only a few minutes walk from marvellous bars, shops and restaurants. Hotel décor is nice enough for an expensive boutique hotel. Breakfast Ok without being remarkable. I had a problem in that at 11pm they checked another traveller into my room knowing I was in there. He had a key and an embarrassing exchange ensued as I was naked when he walked in! We finally got him another room and in the morning nobody was available to give me an explanation. I complained by email to the owner and got no more than a lukewarm "sorry, it shouldn't have happened". All in all an expensive place to stay but in nice surroundings. I'll definitely stay close to there in future but won't return here.

Room Tip: Lock the door from the inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fattim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael E, Responsable commercial at Victoria Palace, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Whilst we agree that a completely aberrant mistake was made by a very experienced and otherwise reliable staff-member—and we did apologise to the client in writing, twice—his account makes it appear as if the room clerk just handed out a room key to a random member of the public. It didn’t quite happen like that.
Just to set the record straight: the person to whom the key was given was a business associate of the client and by way of identification when he arrived at the hotel around midnight, he gave the name of the client who already had arrived. Mistakenly our staff-member understood that the new arrival was sharing the room with the other client. Incomprehensibly and contrary to all established procedures, he gave the key to the new arrival without first phoning the room and double-checking this. This was a fault and we take it seriously, but not quite the same as indiscriminately handing out room keys to all and sundry. The two clients were travelling together, but in separate rooms.
The staff-member in question has been severely reprimanded for this blunder and failure to stick with the proper procedures and we renew our apologies to the client.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The only bad part of the hotel was that some rooms were different than others. We had a nice room on high floor with a wonderful sunrise view of the area. Be prepared for a smallish bed...Paris is for lovers or least you will become very close friends after you end up sleeping close together.

During our stay they were renovating the lobby so I can only how beautifully French it will look come spring and summer.

The staff is old world helpful. They ran out to the cab to meet us and were quick to offer assistance if needed or an interesting chat when time presented itself.

A picky or limited eater might find the breakfast spread sparse but the food was high quality.

The area offers many different food options with cafes and small, high quality dinner options that are not at all like the snooty multi course options of old. Use the helpful staff. They know of many different small restaurants and will make reservations for you.

By the way, everyone speaks some sort if English and if you smile and say please and thank you (even in my terrible French accent) then the whole city is ready to help with open arms.

We used the metro, buses and connected to trains easily from our hotel and the staff provided detailed directions plus they had pre printed maps that were very helpful.

Paris is a wonderful city with so many different sights so this hotel is a great jumping off point and welcoming, warm place after a long day of exploration.

Room Tip: Ask for something in the front. The hotel is off the main street, so you will most likely be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredS2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland Center, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were not in the least disappointed with this choice...delightful, quiet room, very helpful friendly staff, great breakfast and contrary to what we had heard, the Coe is wonderful...not one complaint from us.... We walk everywhere so the location suited us fine. Our only bad experience so far was a recommendation for a small bistro around the corner....stay away at all cost from the Midi Vins...the pork was not done and so tough it was not edible....the mashed potatoes passed muster...the other one to skip is The Nemrod....rude, impatient wait person....passable stuffed cabbage and really gluey potatoes.... Will write up good ones later!

Room Tip: If you are not walkers, you may want to be closer to the louvre etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cumberlandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spend romantic week-end in February 2012. I prefer to book the small boutique hotels in for romantic trips to Europeans cities. I have strong opinion that famous hotel's system are good for exotic resorts ( guaranteed level of service ) and for business trips. I was not disappointed by Victoria Palace Hotel. Of course, declared 5 stars look overrated. But, hotel has unique atmosphere/interior, friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are quite comfortable, spacious. We had room on 6 floor with balcony and charming views on the roofs of Paris. The hotel is situated on small and quite street in 10 minutes of walking distance of Bd du Montparnasse ( restaurants and bars area). There are 20-25 minutes walking distance to Tour Eiffel and Les Invalides.
The hotel is clean. We were fully satisfied by breakfast ( quality and variety ). I do not hesitate to recommend this quite hotel to my friends. The price corresponds to the level of service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hangar2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pont Royal
Hotel Pont Royal
#146 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Bel Ami Hotel
Bel Ami Hotel
#192 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Littre
Hotel Le Littre
#184 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel & Spa La Belle Juliette
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
#79 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Cinq Codet
Le Cinq Codet
#166 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Palace

Property: Victoria Palace
Address: 6 rue Blaise Desgoffe, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#148 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#232 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cherche-Midi neighbourhood (Left Bank, near St Germain des Pres), the Victoria Palace Hotel is remarkable for Paris by the size of its rooms, especially the 28 Junior Suites averaging 375 sq ft (35 m²) each. The hotel opened in 1913 and although completely renovated over the years since 2000, the decor remains traditional, luxurious and quintessentially Parisian. For those travelling by car, the hotel has its own garage. The hotel prides itself on its staff's ability to ease guests into a truly Parisian experience : local shops, local restaurants, local markets, etc. There is also a special welcome for children to help introduce them to Paris and the French language. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Victoria Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Palace Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing