We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In no way palatial”
Review of Victoria Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Victoria Palace
Ranked #355 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In no way palatial”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at the Victoria Palace in November 2012. Having read the reviews on tripadvisor it was such a disappointment. On entering our room we noticed a strong smell of damp, this was confirmed when we looked at the wallpaper. At breakfast the next morning, the brioche was stale and there was very limited choice in comparison to most European hotels. When we raised our displeasure with staff we found them to be haughty and arrogant and showed in the way of sympathy, leading to us requesting a change of hotel from the provider we had booked with. When we lodged our complaints the hotel refused to refund the room cost, despite the photographic evidence we had of damp and the inconvenience it caused us organising to move to another hotel. Thankfully the hotel we moved to was markedly better and left the Victoria Palace standing in terms of the cleanliness and quality of the room, customer service, breakfast and location. We tried at length on our return to obtain a refund, in view of the amount of phone calls we had made to change and the loss of time this had cost us when we could have been exploring Paris, but the hotel refused. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HayEy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael E, Director of Sales at Victoria Palace, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
One of the joys of working at the Victoria Palace Hotel is that incidents such as the one the review refers to are sufficiently rare that all the actors at our end have no difficulty in recalling the actual details.
No, the room was not damp. On the morning following the guests' arrival, they requested a refund because of a stain located on one of the walls, behind the night-stand, next to the headboard. This stain was not caused by damp, but probably by a previous guest having spilt a cup of tea or coffee from the nightstand. It is true that the Housekeeper had not reported the stain ; perhaps it had escaped her notice as it was located behind a piece of furniture and was not glaringly in full view. It was somewhat difficult to see ; in any event in this she was remiss and it was a lapse in our standards. We offered to move the clients to another room : the problem being the stain, the rather obvious solution was to move them to a stain-free room. This they refused and requested a full refund, which struck us somewhat excessive compensation for a rather minor lapse, in that the stain is unlikely to have prevented them getting any sleep, for example, or having a bath. (Since then, and for the record, we have brought in an outside company to steam the stain away.)
The clients write in their review that the dampness of the room 'was confirmed when we looked at the wallpaper'. To confirm dampness, the usual aproachis to touch the surface, not just look at it, in which case they would have realised that we do not use wallpaper anywhere in the hotel, but rather stretched chintz. Perhaps they did touch it, but being unfamiliar with the feel of stretched fabric, mistook it for damp wallpaper : because it is stretched over the wall and not glued to it, stretched chintz is slightly yielding and much colder to the touch than wallpaper, a feel not unlike the coolness of crisp sheets when first one slides into bed. Perhaps they interpreted this as dampness.
As to the breakfast, the baked items are delivered fresh every morning (no, we do not bake them on the premises) and any left over are discarded every day once breakfast is over. We do not serve up stale breads and croissants. As regards the lack of selection, our breakfast buffet includes juices, dried fruits, fresh fruit and fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, a selection of cheeses, a selection of cold meats, breakfast cereals, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, bacon and sausages in addition to loaf bread, baguette, butter croissants, chocolate croissants, sugar brioche and raisin rolls. There is also a choice of five teas in addition to hot chocolate, coffee or espresso ; there are 7 or 8 varieties of jam and honey. Most of our clients appear quite happy with the offerings, although there always may be something that we lack. It is very difficult to anticipate absolutely everyone's breakfast favourites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    134
    29
    6
    8
See reviews for
125
261
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here at the recommendation of our travel adviser as we waited for our Paris stay apartment to be prepared, and it's one of the best Parisian hotels I've ever visited - great staff, a decore I think of as very quintessentially French, and very efficient service in every regard. Large rooms which are always appreciated - my one small criticism is that the lovely bathroom, which was on rather a grand scale, did not have a drain on the marble flooring (but I shouldn't have splashed so much water around!). Good location - my first stay in this arondissement, but it was very easy to navigate around and much of it could be done on foot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Inger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel ticked pretty much all the boxes for us. It has good sized rooms - vast in Parisian standards. It has a breakfast room above ground. The service is splendid and properly 5*. It is situated within easy reach of all the left bank sites and the shopping district, within very easy reach of a whole range of great places to eat from simple to superb. It should really be faded grandeur except someone has spent some money on it and everything works from the air-con to the bar and the very helpful reception
It is not the cheapest hotel in St Germain but it is very good value for money.
The street itself is a cross street between rue Cherche midi / bd Raspail and rue de Rennes and not that inspiring but it does look out on very 'authentic' Parisian roof tops.
Very hrd to fault this hotel and it makes a great base for a long weeken in the french capital.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AndrewandKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is very clean and nice. Plenty of choice at breakfast.
Location very close to shops and restaurants.
€2 each way on a bus, if you can get a taxi it's €8 to the loove.
Avoid maxitaxis it's cheaper to use 2 separate taxis.
The hotel is child friendly, each child received a small gift from the hotel!
The rooms are very clean!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 79jaimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I spent one night in Paris as part of an European cruise. Th Victoria Palace Hotel in Paris was wonderful. It has a great location near the subway and/or bus connections. There is a lovely local neighborhood that it is tucked away in, yet very accessible to anywhere in Paris. We had a lovely Jr Suite and we couldn't believe the size of it. Knew this was a different hotel when I asked for a confirmation number and was told that my name was to be my confirmation number. I was their guest and not a number. Wonderful breakfast included. Beautiful hotel and amazing staff and service. Have to go back to this hotel again!!

Room Tip: The Jr Suite rooms are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank julieW6016UW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Victoria Palace. Since our daughter was traveling with us we needed a room large enough to accommodate three people. The room was beautifully appointed and the large bathroom was an added plus.
The breakfasts were terrific with a wonderful assortment of pastries, breads, cheeses etc.
Most of those staying were Americans which was a plus for us but might be a deterrent for others.
The staff was very helpful and friendly and were able to get us into our room when we arrived in the AM. After a very long flight this was just what the Dr. ordered!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed in this hotel with a mate for a few nights. It's was indeed a lovely hotel and if I could give it 3.5 I would, but I struggle to award it 4 as I have stayed in better hotels that I have rated as 4. This should not be seen as a criticism of the hotel, it was very very French, the room as big-ish by Paris standards, the staff were very helpful etc etc. but it didn't blow me away that I expected it was going to.....I have stayed in better hotels in Paris that I would rate higher eg: Hotel L'Abboye...which is close to perfect.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Damian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pont Royal
Hotel Pont Royal
#145 of 1,801 in Paris
882 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montalembert
Hotel Montalembert
#139 of 1,801 in Paris
611 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Bel Ami Hotel
Bel Ami Hotel
#177 of 1,801 in Paris
1,136 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#399 of 1,801 in Paris
264 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Littre
Hotel Le Littre
#203 of 1,801 in Paris
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Palace

Property: Victoria Palace
Address: 6 Rue Blaise Desgoffe, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#229 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#230 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Left Bank, near the pseudo-Bohemian and resolutely charming, trendy rue du Cherche-Midi, the Victoria Palace Hotel stands out amongst Parisian hotels by the size of its rooms, especially the 28 Junior Suites averaging 375 sq ft (35 m²) each. The hotel opened in 1913 and although completely renovated , the decor remains deliberately traditional and quintessentially Parisian. For those travelling by car, the hotel has its own garage. The hotel prides itself on its staff's ability to ease guests into a truly Parisian experience : local shops, local restaurants, local markets, etc. There is also a special welcome for children to help introduce them to Paris and the French language. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Palace Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing