We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed by this expensive four star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Paris Notre-Dame
Ranked #321 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I just returned from a ten day stay at the Melia Colbert. From the first to the last, my friend and I were very disappointed. It took four hours after the 2:00 pm cited check-in time for us to see our room. It was very tiny despite our request for a standard two-person room. For that, we were charged extra. The "upgrade" room was still very small and thread worn. Paint and plastering was needed on the walls, ceiling, floor boards. Even the tub was marked by a huge black chip. During three days, we had to request toilet paper. For a light bulb, we waited another three days. We had a front view that focused on office workers. The staff was not that knowledgeable about the beautiful sites of Paris. My friend and I were here under the old management; it was much better -- that is why we returned. Melia is not doing justice to this hotel with its past niceness. I will NEVER return to this hotel.

Room Tip: For the money and location, there are many more hotels with knowledgeable staff, cleanliness, good s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MECOLHO, General Manager at Melia Paris Notre-Dame, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Meliá Colbert Hotel. I really regret that you had to write two reviews about your stay with your friend in the same room.

You know it has been around eight years that the Hotel became part of Meliá Company. The Quality of the Hotel has been actually improved by the company by organizing some renovations in order to deserve the 4 stars we actually have and which have been confirmed last year.

Then, it is true that in September, as it is the highest season in Paris, the price of the rooms are not the same as July or August for example. Moreover, it is important to know that this is very valuable to stay in a Hotel few steps away from Notre Dame Cathedral and from a lot of very nice and famous places in Paris.

We hope we could welcome you back in Paris!

Best regards,

Alejandra Wharmby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 975 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

From the moment we arrived we loved this hotel. The first thing you see is the pretty exterior with the inviting front entrance. The hotel staff are courteous, approachable and very tolerant of my terrible french! The staff worked hard to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. Our room was everything we had hoped for, bed comfortable, view in the courtyard was just lovely, all the rooms had flowered window boxes which adds to the charm. The location is excellent, Latin quarter close to notre dame, st Germain, great shopping, walking distance to almost everything. Restaurants in the area were many and varied in price and cuisine. The breakfast buffet was the best we encountered in Europe with yogurt to die for! We would stay there again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a courtyard view but take ear plugs as it can be noisy. Don't let that put y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MECOLHO, General Manager at Melia Paris Notre-Dame, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this really nice review! It is so nice to read that you were very happy of your stay at the Meliá Colbert Hotel.
As you may have noticed it is really important to us to make your stay the nicest possible to enjoy the best of Paris next door. It is also a pleasure to know that you loved our breakfast buffet which is quite complete.
We are waiting for your next travel to Paris to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,

Alejandra Wharmby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

What an oasis of calm and style... this hotel is a true gem. From the moment we arrived we felt that the personal service and attention to detail were quite superb. I have had the (dubious) pleasure of staying in some very overpriced 5 & 4 star hotels all over the world ... trust me... this one is worth every penny. The rooms are elegantly furnished in traditional style and feel quite plush and relaxing. The amenities are what you would expect of a four star hotel. The really cool thing is that this Hotel is very quiet, calm and relaxing and yet you are literally steps away from the vibrant cafes of the quaint and rather 'Parisian' Latin Quarter, the river, Notre Dame and the tour buses (that stop very close by). You can easily walk up river to the Opera, Louvre and other main sites if you like a very pleasant and level 20-30 minute walk along the Seine.

Thank you to the Hotel staff who made us feel so welcome and went the extra mile.... even placing a complementary bottle of champagne and a card in my parents room when they discovered that we were celebrating their 50th anniversary.

Unless you want the bright lights and constant noise of the central area this is by far a much better choice and way better value.

We'll be back for a further visit in November and hopefully we will take their 1 bedroom suite which is more than adequate size for four adults as it has a large and comfortable sofa sleeper.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms at the front of the hotel facing the entrance garden... lovely views.... Oh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martins_x2_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MECOLHO, General Manager at Melia Paris Notre-Dame, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

This is truly a delight to read your amazing review about your stay in the Hotel with you parents!
Once again congratulation for their golden wedding anniversary! We expect that they loved the celebration in the city of love.

It is really important to us to make you feel at home in the Hotel, in a relaxing ambience, even if we are located in the heart of Paris.

We all look forward November to welcome you in our Suite looking over the cathedral, view that a lot of people will envy you.

Yours sincerely,

Alejandra Wharmby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Charming appearance of small hotel about 4 min walk from Notre Dame and right off the Siene. The price was reasonable- about the same, little less than the Westin. The room was small and disappointing. The bed was a little hard and the toilet was in a different room than the bathroom. There was a nice brunch in the morning, but we later discovered it was $25pp. There was a small fridge in the room. It took approximately 15 min to walk to the Louvre, 30 min to walk to Musee D'Orsay, 1 hr 10 min to walk to the Eiffel Tower.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MECOLHO, General Manager at Melia Paris Notre-Dame, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review about your stay in the Meliá Colbert Hotel.
We have a promotion in the Hotel for our Meliá Rewards members for the breakfast, it only cost 20€ per person and per day to discover and enjoy the variety of our buffet during all you stay.

We expect you had a charming stay amongst us and it will be a pleasure to receive you back soon.

Best regards,

Alejandra Wharmby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location couldn't be better. I felt the hotel was overpriced at $400 for a small room (booked as a premium). For some reason, our reservation did not include breakfast although many other people's did. The television was tiny, the carpet stained. Staff was OK, nothing special.

I don't think I would go back there for the price.

Room Tip: I wish I knew!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joycila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MECOLHO, General Manager at Melia Paris Notre-Dame, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

This is a pleasure to read that you appreciated the location of the Hotel.
You know that in the centre of Paris everything is tiny and the Meliá Colbert Hotel is one on the smallest of Meliá Company.
Let’s try our Suite on your next stay in Paris, which size is really pleasant with a gorgeous view over Notre Dame Cathedral, it really worth it!
About the price, it is true that September is the highest season; this is why the prices are higher than in August for example.

We truly look for the enjoyment of welcoming you back on your next travel to Paris.

Best regards,

Alejandra Wharmby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Location excellent, amenities very good. Staff was very friendly! Beautiful character to the facility. Would stay here again! Close to Notre Dame and many cafe's and shops. Close to Seine River and bus stops as well as river boat cruises.

Room Tip: Junior suite on 5th floor very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pottstown R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MECOLHO, General Manager at Melia Paris Notre-Dame, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

This is true that the Meliá Colbert Hotel is in a character building which make the ambience really authentic, perfect to enjoy a stay on left bank of Paris. We are really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. And for sure in the Junior Suite it could have been really pleasant.

We expect to see you back in Paris in a not so distant future.

Best regards,

Alejandra Wharmby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I would like to recommend specially Christian at the front desk! He deliver an excellent service, he was very helpful and knew exactly what you would like!!

Great location!!! Minutes away from Notre Dame ! right in St Germain des Pres, you can not get a better location! Minutes away from the Metro!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank VeroniqueKanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MECOLHO, General Manager at Melia Paris Notre-Dame, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are really delighted that you appreciated the good location of the Hotel and that it was practical for your stay in Paris, “city of lights”. Moreover we thank you for staying amongst us at the Meliá Colbert Hotel.

Be sure we will let know to Christian all your nice commentary we really appreciate!

With the expectation to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Alejandra Wharmby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Melia Vendome - Paris
Melia Vendome - Paris
#364 of 1,809 in Paris
972 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#713 of 1,809 in Paris
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#241 of 1,809 in Paris
957 reviews
Passy
Melia Paris Champs Elysees
Melia Paris Champs Elysees
#325 of 1,809 in Paris
648 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Melia Paris Tour Eiffel
Melia Paris Tour Eiffel
#370 of 1,809 in Paris
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Paris Notre-Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Paris Notre-Dame

Address: 7 rue de l Hotel Colbert, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#183 Business Hotel in Paris
#216 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#315 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $185 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Paris Notre-Dame 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Le Colbert Hotel, a magnificent Mansion House of the 19th Century, is strategically located, facing the impressive Cathedral of Notre Dame (500 m) and close to the Quartier Latin (Latin Quarter, 500 m), the famous Louvre museum (4 km) and the Seine river. Well communicated by train & metro, and close to the International Airports of Orly (20 km) & Charles de Gaulle (35 km). While in Paris, visit as well nearby Versailles (35 km) and/or Disneyland Paris (45 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Paris Notre-Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hotel Colbert
Melia Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing