We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, little bit shabby”
Review of Moulin Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moulin Plaza Hotel
Ranked #912 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Location of this hotel is fantastic - only a few metres from the Metro and Moulin Rouge. However, our room was disappointing - very small and because it was in the roof, our view was of the sky. My boyfriend didn't sleep much the first night because of the location - it was very noisy until about 4am (I took ear plugs!). The furniture in the room including the wardrobe was very shabby. On the positive side (and these are probably the most important things), the shower room was excellent and very clean, the bed was solid and very comfortable and the bed linen couldn't be faulted. But it was a little hard to get over the disappointment of our first viewing of the room. We were advised that no larger rooms were available, although we know a lot of rooms had not been checked in to at that point. Couldn't help but feel that we had been given a small room because of the good rate we got through Octopustravel - £75 per night - reasonable at this price given the location. The rates at the hotel are quoted at 150 to 200 Euros a night - definitely not worth that. Breakfast was very simple but kept us going for a few hours in the morning. Definitely not worth the 9 Euros per person if you have to pay extra for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank KTJPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
office9, Assistant Manager at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

Dear customers,

We thank you as usual for sharing with us the experience in our establishment.
We appreciate)in particular details of your comments because il help to improve the quality of our services.
I specify you that all our customers have all services of a hotel 3 stars, but only in our Junior Suite you can find coffee and tea.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 371 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2011

We don't really want much from a hotel - clean rooms, good value for the money, a place to come back to after a long day in a new city....The room in this hotel was neither clean, nor welcoming. We had to ask to change the bed cover because it smelled of some food. There was no kettle, the carpet has seen a better days and the whole room was old and dusty. The room size is subjective, I wouldn't mind a small room be it sparkling clean as a hotel room should be, but that was not the case.

The quote from hotel website "Double Rooms with Double bed (1.60 m x 1.90 m)" got me booking the room but our bed was about 130m width (with my own height 1.64 it was quite easy to measure).

The shower holder had the only fixed position "in your face" which made taking the shower a bit tricky. The hairdryer was made before I was born and didn't do it's job.

The breakfast is not included and therefore can't say anything about it, the tea from the machine at the reception was 2euros.

Apart from above, the hotel staff was all smiling and they have changed the bed cover once we asked, all of reception staff speak English and seems to be ready to help with some sightseeing advice, the WiFi is free (and you hardly get it in a cafes there).

Location could be okay, depending what you'd want to see, close to Moulin Rouge as can be said from the name of the hotel.

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel to anybody, since it's really overpriced for what it is, wouldn't pay EUR40 for that room (even though paid 300 for 4 nights).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank connected2space
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
office9, Responsable relations clients at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2011

We are so sorry , you had a bad experience in our hotel during you stay.
We remember you because it was the first time, we had problem wiyh cover...sometimes unexpeted problems happen everywhere...i remember too that our staff change you cover immediatly , it's normal.
To answer you for others things : i don't know, maybe you didn't read very well our hotel despription and saw our photos in our web site before booking. It mention that beds are 140 cm and 160 cm, you should to verify which type you book...and if you realize you made an error, it's possible to change the room, only asking at the frontdesk. If we have rooms avaibles, we find a good solution for you because is our job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

We were very satisfied residing in Moulin Plaza.
It is small hotel, but with good serving personnel. We took twin room (2 single bed) with a bath, hair dryer, refrigerator, TV set. The room was small, but with a window from a floor to a ceiling. We hadn't used the conditioner because our vacation was in cold June and we with pleasure used a heater. There is a breakfast for additional
payment, but we didn't take it: preferred to oversleep time
breakfast and to have a bite in the nearest cafe.
The hotel is in about 3 minutes of walking from the Moulin Rouge, and it was not necessary to us to think how to come back in hotel after the show termination in 1pm.
In the evenings we can with pleasure walking on silent nearby small streets, though at once have bought tickets: near to hotel there is the metro station.
Next time we would like to stop in that hotel again and, It is desirable, in the same room: we had a view of internal courtyard and opened a window for the night .
I very recommend to all.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lBudka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I have to say I was a little worried after booking a room and reading all bad reviews. So this is my experience:
This is not a bad hotel. You cant beat location, especially if you planning to see the show. It's a 3 minute walk to the hotel (at 1am in a morning) Hotel staff was good obviously not American customer service but we were prepared for that. They were nice and pleasant. But we did not have any inquiries, so we never bothered them. We were also not supprised of the size of the room. We had a double and it was small, there was no place to put a suitcase ( we only had small carryons, so again not a problem). I'm not sure if we had an AC or not, but we did have heater (im guessing ac as well). Never got a chance to use it, heater was turned on more often. We got lucky and our window was out to back yard/well, so it was not AS noisy as some people have mentioned in previous reviews. But there was some noise, early in a morning during breakfast time and when cleaning crew would be busy. You would hear banging of doors as people were passing in and out. Again, dont feel it was an issue, because we did not come to Paris to sleep, but explore the city. The room was outdated but pretty clean I've seen mush dirtier rooms in Vegas much more expensive.
There are several supermarkets near by, including a russian store. And, of course, the price was pleasant, considering we were there during the busy season.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank val062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Just visited this place on 21st August 2010 and really could not fault it. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and lovely breakfast and breakfast area. It is right next to the red light district and the Moulin Rouge but don't let this put you off we couldn't hear a thing and the room was air conditioned which in a 3 star hotel in Paris, is a rareity. If visiting try the restaurant Le Durer which can be found at 19 Rue Yvonne-Le-Tac, 75018, Paris Tel no 01-46-06-03-02, nearest metro 'Abbesses' and try the lamb chops!!! Cracking value for money hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broadholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

This place is a two minute walk from the show. So great location. Yes it's in the rld so take note if this is not acceptable to you or your family. However, we were not hassled in anyway being in rld.

Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are smallish with no air conditioning. Repairs to equipment are not done. Gives poor impression of owners concern for customers comfort. Ask for a fan if you need better air flow....otherwise open the windows, hear the sounds of the rld, and sleep in a breeze....

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QatarRyans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

My 19 year old daughter and I have just returned from our stay at this hotel. The hotel is clean and the staff are extremely helpful. It is close to the red light district but the night life is great - many good cafes to sit and watch the world go by. Of course there are sex shops etc but its one of the things Montmarte is famous for so don't stay here then moan - you know what you're getting into. The hotel is near to the metro which is ideal for travelling around Paris - buy a daily ticket and you can hop on and off as often as you like.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Libertel Montmartre Opera
Libertel Montmartre Opera
#426 of 1,804 in Paris
625 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Fromentin
Hotel Royal Fromentin
#977 of 1,804 in Paris
435 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Contact Hotel Alize Montmartre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Gold Hotel
Gold Hotel
#1,489 of 1,804 in Paris
163 reviews
Hotel B Square
#1,160 of 1,804 in Paris
227 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Le Squara
Hotel Le Squara
#891 of 1,804 in Paris
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Plaza Hotel

Address: 39 rue Pierre Fontaine | Montmartre, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #912 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $85 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moulin Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 19th-century 5-story hotel with beautiful gardens - 5 minutes from Montmartre and Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Moulin Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Moulin Plaza
Moulin Plaza Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing