We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible beds”
Review of London Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
London Hotel
Ranked #1,025 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was Our second time to this hotel, after we've been there before and enjoyed it very much.
The location is great, but the beds were so awful we could hardly sleep. I say beds because the first room we had was freezing cold with no working heating, so they gave us another room.
The bed condition was the same in both rooms: these are tiny "double" beds (in tiny rooms), and we are fairly thin people. We measured the mattress and it was about 130cm wide. The worst thing was the mattress. It was very thin and had a plastic cover. It was full of cracks and hills and we tossed and turned all night long, every night. We will NEVER come back there again, no matter the price, even though the location is great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yaniv A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 342 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend in Paris. The location is excellent, very close to the Opera and metro station. 10 minutes to the Louvre, Tuileries and Place de la Concorde. If you like your shopping the upmarket Galleries Lafayette and even more upmarket Printemps are close by (the rooftop terrace of Lafeyette gives a great, free panorama).

The hotel itself is quite hidden, just being a doorway sandwiched between a McDonalds and a shop. If you have any disability this hotel isn't for you as reception is up a flight of stairs with no elevator. The room was sparsely equipped with quite old furniture. The wardrobe had graffiti on the inside!. The bathroom looked OK. No shower but a whirlpool bath, which we were disappointed to find did not work. We informed the manager on the first evening, who said he would get it looked at, but we were there for four nights and it wasn't sorted. The quality of the room wasn't such a drag as we weren't in it other than to sleep and get changed before an evening out.

Wifi was normally good but dropped from time to time. I certainly wouldn't bother with the 10 Euro breakfast as the food on offer is very limited and not that good.

The normal price of a room is too high for the quality, but they seem to have quite a few weekend offers with big discounts. I would go back the hotel London due to the very good location, but not if I had to pay the full price.

The hotel is OK as a base to explore Paris, due to it's very good location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expieeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Good location very close to the Opera, the room is very small, internet connection is not available in all rooms, the breakfast is poor and expensive
close to food restaurants and cafés the staff are not friendly
the elevator is sooo small and no elevator from the street level till the reception, about 15 stairs to be mounted and no one takes your bags from you
the hotel main gate is very hard to open

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sHajjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was the 4th or 5th time I stayed and this time I was really disappointed. Plus points first: The location is tops, close to the Galeries Lafayette and Printemps; close to the Opera Garnier and public transport. Restaurants all around. Room size is good and they keep the rooms very clean. Bathroom in the room I had was a good size and big for Paris. Staff is very helpful and friendly.
Minus points: The hotel lacks maintenance. The furniture is old and tired and so is the carpet. The curtains were hard to open and when one became undone, it stayed that way. The bed was hard and the lamps above the bed twisted any old way. The Internet pictures tell an old truth. The room I had certainly did not look this good. I will not be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Froglady9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Best location you could have anywhere in Paris and at a great price.
2 mins from Metros & buses and Roissy airport bus 5 min walk.
2 mins from glorious opera house where the tango is danced outside by locals on Fr/Sat nights.
2 mins from fabulous Gallery Lafyette Store....do go up on the roof terrace!
Lovely staff, pleasant and spacious room by Paris standards with good shower.
Will book this every trip from now.
The buildings around the hotel are being renovated, and although we had no noise at all, probably a good idea to check when booking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodhousesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Be under no illusions, this hotel is basic. The location is good, if this is the part of Paris you want to stay in, but the hotel leaves a lot to be desired. Our room was not recently renovated - paint peeling, carpet grubby, tiles in bathroom broken. Baths have no shower curtain and only some of the baths had a shower that you could hang from the wall. However, it did appear clean. An empty bottle of Perrier remained in the corridor for two days before it was removed - amazing as the chamber maid would have had to trip over it to get down the corridor. The check in desk is basic in the extreme - we were not even asked for our passports - most unusual in Paris - just handed keys to our room -by a very badly dressed, unfriendly night porter (we arrived at 11p.m. ). Breakfast was adequate - coffee, croissants, bread, apples, orange juice and natural yoghurt. The breakfast room is by far the nicest room in the hotel so don't be misled by the pictures. I dealt with two of the guys behind the desk while I was there and to be fair they were very helpful - although shoddily dressed and badly turned out overall giving a bad overall impression of the hotel. It always intrigues me how photos of hotels on Tripadvisor are nothing like the reality - shows you the power of photoshopping ! I would not stay here again and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We paid €145 for a double room per night - Stay in the Marais / St. Germain district - much nicer and spend a bit more to get something a lot nicer.

Room Tip: Avoid room 202 and 203 at all costs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann marie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

In most aspects this is a great Hotel, the location is excellent for getting around Paris as the Opera Metro station is only a 2 minute walk away which is one of the main stations. Surrounded by luxury stores and some decent restaurants/cafe's.

We used the Hotel as a base for a sightseeing trip over new year (3 nights), the rooms are on the small side and the decor is either dated or poorly executed (they seem to have spent the budget on over sized TV's in every room). However the main problem we had was that the rooms didn't have in room safes which is a must in this day and age when people travel with expensive items, thankfully we managed without and didn't have any problems.

The room for breakfast is very well decorated and the continental breakfast was ok. The hotel was clean and the reception staff were really helpful.

In summary I would only stay here again if they had in room safes otherwise I would find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garyhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Monsieur Helder Hotel Opera
Monsieur Helder Hotel Opera
#1,204 of 1,805 in Paris
12 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Richmond Opera Hotel
Richmond Opera Hotel
#1,023 of 1,805 in Paris
184 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Opera d'Antin
Hotel Opera d'Antin
#585 of 1,805 in Paris
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Opera Vivaldi
Opera Vivaldi
#1,102 of 1,805 in Paris
121 reviews
Opera / Bourse
The Chess Hotel
The Chess Hotel
#225 of 1,805 in Paris
371 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Lautrec Opera
Hotel Lautrec Opera
#1,131 of 1,805 in Paris
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Hotel

Address: 32 boulevard des Italiens, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,025 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $109 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — London Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing