We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solo older traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Madeleine Plaza
Ranked #375 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A beautifully located hotel. The room was serviced to a very high standard. There is of course the expectation now that a solo traveller ends up in the small room at the end of the corridor, but I guess that's life. The front desk personnel ranged from charming - nothing too much trouble - to completely indifferent. Fortunately I only saw that particular person (female) once.
Very safe area, which is an important consideration.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helenbell424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHauth, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeleine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to comment your stay in our hotel. It is always nice to receive such a positive feedback. I have talked with the reception team to remind them that we aim to go beyond our guests expactations so indiference is not an option. We hope to welcoming you again for your next stay in Paris.

Best regards,

J. Chantre
Front desk manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Madeleine Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 551 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

We chose this hotel for our wedding and honeymoon stay in Paris. Location of it is amazing! Our room was facing Madeleine cathedral, and we could actually see the Eiffel tower right from our bed!!! (Room 703, top floor). Metro is right around the corner, "Monop" store 2 minutes away (groceries) - we were skipping breakfast (16 euros per person!) and instead buying orange juice, bananas and granola at “Monop”. Grand Opera is 10 minutes walking, very convenient as we took Roissy Bus from and to the airport (only 10 euro per person, comparing to 100 euros for the taxi), which goes right to the Opera, and we just walked with our luggage to/from the hotel. People at the reception were extremely friendly and super helpful; they told us about nearest restaurants, money exchange places, arranged for taxi on the wedding day, even mailed our post cards to our family. Two ladies at the front desk speak Russian (our native tong), and everyone speaks both English and French fluently. Our room was cleaned very nicely every day; comparing to other hotels in Paris where I stayed before, this room (even though small by American standards) was pretty spacious and comfortable. We were given fresh towels every day, robes, slippers, and all the regular amenities (soap, shampoo, etc.), plus free tea and coffee/ sugar. The room also had safety box, which was nice to leave our passports and money. Overall this hotel made us feel very comfortable in Paris, and was one of the best aspects of our trip.

Room Tip: Room 703 is facing Madeleine Plaza AND you can see the Eiffel Tower right from your bed! :)
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHauth, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeleine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to comment your stay in our hotel. It a great pleasure to read from you, and to see that we have been beyond your expectations. We have past on your words to the chamber ladies and the receptionnist who were very proud with their achievement. We hope to welcome you again to our hotel for your next visit in Paris and wish you all the best.

Regards,

J. Chantre
Front desk manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The price was right, room a little small but fine, amazing location--- walked to Louve, Champs, Seine, even Notre Dame. And great restaurants nearby. The only drawback was the road noise--- but even that wasn't awful. I would stay there again, for sure.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHauth, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeleine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to comment your stay in our hotel. We are very pleased that our staff have met your expectation. We hope to welcome you again to our hotel.

Best regards

Julien Chantre
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great location, very clean, helpful (English capable) front desk, convenient to metro and trains, and all tourist sites are within easy walking (10 - 15 mins). The metro has several entrances within a minute walk which was easy to use and navigate. We had perfect weather and only a few hours of rain throughout our stay.

Our room was a little small but the excellent mattress made up for that! What a great sleep. I wonder who makes the mattress and is it available in the US?

The brasseries next door and everywhere were good for socializing, drinks and food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sally_Rob4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHauth, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeleine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for your warm comment. We are very careful in providing a great experience at every level (room maids, waiters at breakfast, receptionnists and management team). We also have changed all our mattresses last year with a french company specialised in hotels. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to our hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very clean hotel in a nice location. You are walking distance to most Paris attractions and shopping. Also there are two tour bus lines converging around the corner from the hotel.

The rooms are small (as expected for Paris) but very clean with modern bathrooms. The widows open up big giving you a nice feel of Paris as well as the beauty of the Madeline Church which is right across the street..

Overall great experience and I would return to this hotel....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHauth, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeleine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment your stay at our hotel. It is always rewarding to read positive reviews and all the team was very proud of it.

Best regards

Julien Chantre
Front desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel was clean and efficient, and the staff was helpful. We communicated before our stay via email and they really took care of us.They accomodated our need for 2 twin rooms next to each other (we had two 14-year old boys with us who wanted their own room, and my husband and I needed twins to sleep comfortablysince we are accustomed to a king--they put the twins very close together, which was perfect).

The rooms are nicely decorated, while the lobby is more spartan. The price was reasonable by neighborhood standards because the shopping there is very high-end. The Metro is right around the corner, and the restaurant next door was the French version of an American diner, but of course BETTER for the food! It was open 7-midnight, which was also fantastic for travelers adjusting to jet-lag.

Really, the only negative was the street/restaurant noise. Unfortunately we were on the 1st floor, so this was tough at times...very NYC. But the beds were lovely to sink into.

Just blocks away from the Champs, Louvre, Opera House, Rue du Rivoli, Place de la Concorde. Eiffel Tower is more of a hike as was Notre Dame and the Catacombs, so used the Metro for those.

WATCH OUT FOR PICKPOCKETS AND DROPPED-RING SCAMS (they'll ask if it's yours and then ask for $$ to give you what they claim is a "real gold" band they found on the ground, HA!).

Room Tip: Ask for what you need, and if noise is an issue, say so. Avoid 1st floor as janitorial closets are...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHauth, Directeur général at Hotel Madeleine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear guests,

I would like to thank you very much for the time you took to write these nice comments on your stay after your stay at the Hotel Madeleine Plaza.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by the noise of the restaurant and the street, as it is on the 1st floor. In that case, when the guests tell us, we always propose to change for a room on a upper floor.

I am very pleased that you liked the comfort of our beds that were changed one year ago.

I stay at your service for any further information and look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

With my best regards,

François HAUTH
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed one week, Central hotel on Place de la Madeleine. Near shops and dept. stores on Haussman. 20m from Subway entrance. Location makes it easy to walk or reach all attractions. Safe neighbourhood.

Room was a bit small for 2 adults and one child but manageable and clean.
Hotel was in renovation, staff was very helpful and were not bothered by construction at all. no noise at all.

Nice view from 7th floor toward Place de la Madeleine and Eiffel tower.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tohtem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHauth, Directeur général at Hotel Madeleine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013
Google Translation

Chers clients,

Je tiens à vous remercier chaleureusement pour le temps passé à nous faire part de vos commentaires très positifs après votre séjour à l'hôtel Madeleine Plaza.

Effectivement, entre mi février et début avril 2013, nous avons fait des travaux de rénovation au rez-de-chaussée et dans les couloirs afin d'améliorer notre produit. Je vous présente toutes nos excuses si vous avez eu des désagréments.

Les chambres du 7ème étage sont très belles et ont une magnifique vue sur la Place de la Madeleine et la Tour Eiffel. Je suis ravi que vous ayez apprécié une de ces chambres.

Je reste à votre service pour toute autre information souhaitée et je me réjouis de vous accueillir à nouveau à l'hôtel Madeleine Plaza.

Avec mes chaleureuses salutations,

François HAUTH
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Madeleine Haussmann Hotel
#435 of 1,804 in Paris
215 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#117 of 1,804 in Paris
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Waldorf Madeleine
Hotel Waldorf Madeleine
#426 of 1,804 in Paris
261 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel du Triangle d'Or
Hotel du Triangle d'Or
#288 of 1,804 in Paris
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madeleine Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeleine Plaza

Address: 33 Place de la Madeleine | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#243 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#283 Family Hotel in Paris
#340 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $175 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madeleine Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Madeleine Plaza 4* located Place de la Madeleine famous for its luxury boutiques and delicatessen is ideal for business and leisure travelers. The hotel features 49 spacious rooms decorated with refinement in a French classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Madeleine Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Plaza Hotel
Madeleine Plaza Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing