We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Opera Deauville Hotel
Ranked #1,239 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel twice, in 2008 and 2010. The staff are very kind and always eager to help you. The rooms are very nice, they include a coffee machine, a flat TV screen and a big bed. The breakfast is delicious and varied. And the best of all is location, near the Opera, Seine river and the Louvre Museum. I would definitely go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julieta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 353 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

I made the decision to stay in this hotel based on the reviews here on tripadvisor and they were spot on. Excellent staff, great location, clean and worth it! This hotel made our stay in Paris even more amazing. Will definitely go back!! Free wi-fi connectivity was superb, fast! J'adore cet hotel!

Room Tip: request a room away from the street so as to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our 1st visit to Paris.
Location brilliant staff were very friendly and helpful .
We were on 4th floor room
45 as with all hotels room
Was small but very clean.
Would I stay here again.. Yes

1  Thank bee62
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

It was okay but it's getting old the hotel. And it's very tiny!

As I said It's good for a sleep. But in the night/morning there is a lot of noise coming from the street.

The breakfast was good but €12 is way to expensive. It's really close to the shopping street & metro..

THE RECEPTION IS REALLY FRIENDLY!!!

Room Tip: Ask a room not on the side from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillesVNieuwenrode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel. The room is really small, lift very tiny to fit your luggage and yourself in. Lift is also very slow and you have to wait patiently for it to come.

The bathroom appear to be slightly better den the room which had old furnitures and cramp. However there's a broken tile in the bathroom and I wonder why it's not fixed. The half shower glass screen is not useful at all and your bathroom gets flooded after each shower.

Service was however quite good and reception friendly and polite. Only problem I had was that they were not upfront with their charges. They told us to help ourselves to the breakfast at the basement so we thought it was included in the booking only to our astonishment during check out that we were charged eur12 for each breakfast. The basic breakfast was not worth the 12 euros. If the reception made it clear to us we would have opted to eat out instead. There was no change of variety throughout the 3 days.

Only thing I like about the hotel is the location which was near the opera garnier, train station and shopping areas. Overall im disappointed and would not return again. The last hotel I stayed in Paris was way better.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purplelove11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for seven nights. We chose it based on the TripAdvisor reviews for the price and the location. As stated, it's less than two blocks to the Gare St. Lazare station where you can get the metro for all points of interest and, also, the regional train, which we took to Versailles, which I highly recommend and plan to spend the day. Galleries Lafayette, Printemps, Opera House & Moulin Rouge are about a 10-15 min. walk away.

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, which was an additional 12 Euros, but went to the Boulangerie across the street. There is another cafe to the left that offers a nice breakfast, as well, but the dinner wasn't very good.

Now for the room. The hotel is very tiny. The elevator can hold one person and one suitcase and is very slow. The room we were given on the first night (#42) was a decent size with 2 twin beds pushed together, but was right on Rue D'Amsterdam and extremely noisy and warm, but bright. Didn't know that you have to ask the front desk to turn the AC on. The bathroom had lots of cracked tiles and what appeared to be mold, probably because the 1/2 shower door enclosed the back of the tub instead of where the hand-held shower was, so that all the water sprayed out and all over the sink and floor. The receptionist was extremely polite and gladly changed us to a quiet room (#11). This room was an interior room (on a "courtyard" piled with junk) with a double bed There was barely enough room to walk around the bed with suitcases on the floor and there was no room to open the bathroom door if someone was in front of it. The bathroom had a very tiny free standing shower, no cracked tiles and very clean. Interior rooms will be dark, but quiet.

There is no in-room safe, but the receptionist will give you a key for a safe deposit box in the lobby area.

Overall, the staff was outstanding and made up for cramped quarters. The rooms were very clean, but need updating. Next time, spend more money for nicer accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. If space is important, ask for a larger room. I would not recommend this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel isnt anything to talk about truthfully. There is definitely nothing fancy about it.. the rooms is fine, beds all right, bathrooms are clean. In terms of space you cant really move around a large suitcase in the room.
The lift fits exactly two people and is unbelievably slow.. the lights on every floor switch off automatically and need to be turned on. First time you go to your room and your not aware about the light switch it can be quite a task. Internet is free and the reception in the room is good. Breakfast is a croissant with coffee / cereal. Its avoidable if you get a better deal eating out. Right opposite the hotel is this really nice patisserie with great food.
The location is all right if you want to shop at the lafayette or printemps as they are walking distance from the hotel. The closest metro station is Leige and it has only one line going to it. So anywhere you want to travel will require at least one or in a number of cases a couple of switches. Champs Elysees is a 20 min walk to a 8 min metro ride.. st germain and all the fun areas will require a couple of switches.
The staff at the reception is really helpful though and they are fun to talk to .. they enjoy their work and are happy to dish out good advice.. so feel free to ask them for suggestions.
Would probably not stay here with the lady.. but its fine for a bunch of friends

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anirudh2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
0 mi away
Hotel de Geneve
Hotel de Geneve
#1,146 of 1,804 in Paris
254 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Exe Paris Centre
Hotel Exe Paris Centre
#1,184 of 1,804 in Paris
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel
Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel
#815 of 1,804 in Paris
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#240 of 1,804 in Paris
611 reviews
0 mi away
ATN
ATN
#707 of 1,804 in Paris
346 reviews
0 mi away
Villathena
Villathena
#422 of 1,804 in Paris
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Deauville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Deauville Hotel

Address: 40 rue d Amsterdam, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#635 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $81 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Opera Deauville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique hotel with French country furniture, warm colors and prints is located within walking distance to the Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Opera Deauville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Deauville Paris
Hotel Opera Deauville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing