We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style meets Substance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia
Ranked #205 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I just loved this hotel!

First of all I have been to Paris quite a few times and understand the need to speak French for respect. I greeted the front desk in French and it perfect English the front desk person said that she used to live in Minnesota! She was a delight and set the stage for a great stay. She was helpful in location and any needs in terms of being a tourist.

Room: We chose the Odyssey room which is the mid-priced. We were lucky enough to get the "blue" room and a window facing the street. The street was quiet but a perfectly French view. The room was very functional and rather small. We expected the size though because of the hotel's website and reviews. But it looked even nicer in person! Everything was very functional. Luggage goes under the bed, there was a small desk and shelves around the bed. We had a small closet but really didn't even need it. The shower was spacious and we were lucky enough to have the most special bathroom in the hotel, one that was hand painted by the artist. Apparently this is the only room. Butterflies (or rather papillon). It was whimsical and fun.

Location: I liked where we were. A few blocks to the Louvre but be careful, it is easy to get lost in Paris so pay attention. I often took a wrong turn. You can walk to the Marais but it was about 5 or so blocks. The Metro was a couple blocks away.

I didn't use the restaurant but the design was lovely.

Overall I just loved this place. Friendly and effective staff and the rooms were a nice departure from the normal. Don't expect a huge space though but if you get a chance stay here. If you want modern and different and not over priced check it out!

Room Tip: The blue Odyssey room has a specially painted bathroom and nice window that opens with a perfectly P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussellKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 661 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location was great. We were able to walk to all of the tourist attractions in the city. There are many cafes, restaruants, markets very close by that provide a wide variety of options for dining. We did not eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on the quality of the food there. The staff was extremely pleasant, polite and helpful. They spoke great english and were able to communicate just fine. Our flight didn't depart unitl 9pm on the day we checked out. Since check out is at 12 noon, we were a little concerned about what we would do with our suitcases as we spent our last day exploring Paris. The staff let us leave them at the hotel even though we were not technically "guests" anymore. They even arranged for our cab to the airport that evening when we came to collect our luggage. The room was very small. But they do utitlize the available space well. There is a closet with a safe. There is a "cubby hole" under the bed for extra storage, plenty big enough for a large suitcase. There is also a bench in front of the window that can also be used for setting a suitcase on and getting it out of the way. (The pictures did show a window in the room(s) so we were pleasantly surprised to discover a window and the bench behind the full wall size curtain). The rooms were decorated great. Very modern. Very green. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cocoon room. I may suggest upgrading and spending the extra money, as the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hôtel O was a neatly designed hotel. It is a small hotel in an old building quarter in the Les Halles area of Paris, made into a modern style hotel. There is no doubt that the Elegancia hotel chain, here have made a narrow, small and otherwise oldfashioned building space into something of a nice and interesting place to stay. The rooms are small in size and informed of being so and the reception, corridors, elevator etc is likewise. I stayed in a 12 sqm room, an upgrade from a 9 sqm standard. But the design is modern and smart, with solutions making the most out of the available space and the cleanliness was highly satisfactory. I will describe the hotel service as friendly and casual in style.
They have a decent room service menu, but only with cold dishes (by a 3rd party provider) and no main stream soda brands (like coke or pepsi). The wi-fi internet was free of charge.
The location is in the eastern part of the most popular attractions in Paris, but nearby to Louvre, the Opera and Notre Dame. If you don't like walking that much, there is easy access to Metro and RER stations within 6-8 minutes walk.
I wouldn't mind staying here again or trying any of the other 12 Elegancia hotels in Paris (designed by Ora-Ito) that are spread across central parts of Paris and can suit different location wishes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myliontiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed in an Odyssey room for one night in late August. We needed just a 1 night stay close to the apartment we were renting due to arriving in Paris the day before our scheduled check in at the apartment. Since it was just one night we were looking for something interesting and funky but well located. The room is small but functional with limited storage space. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The shower is separated from the rest of the room by a frosted glass panel. The temperature and water pressure were great. The room was quiet. The breakfast was 16 euros per person so we did not partake - we went instead to a nearby boulangerie and had coffee and croissants for 4 euro per person. The only odd thing we experienced was the light controls. They are at the head of the bed and several times during the night when one or the other of us rolled over we inadvertently turned on the lights! The staff was very cordial and helpful. The location is great - not too far from Notre Dame, the Louvre and Les Halles.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wheresanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Although tiny, especially by American standards, this hotel is a delightful experience. If you are used to a lot of space a couple of days would probably be maximum stay. Undulating shapes and beautiful colors abound, even the spiral staircase showcases a rainbow of colors. (there is an elevator as well) The staff was extremely kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dls1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My eleven year old son and I booked a Galileo room for our trip to Paris. We found the room to be comfortable and suitable for a touristy visit. I would have appreciated a little more closet or drawer space but we got by. The bed was super comfortable and while I worried that the rooms would be cavelike (no windows are shown on line), there was actually a nice view of the courtyard. Our favorite part about the hotel, however, was the breakfast. It was really awesome.

Room Tip: Spend a few extra Euros for the Galileo room -- the extra room helps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjmccool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Everything here were designed for 'bien-etre'. In this boutique hotel the confort breathing from each corner. Friendly staff always willing to help. If you take into account that the hotel is cetrally located, at just few min. away from Louvre Museum, you can be happy that you found the perfect accomodation in the perfect city.
The rates are a bit to high tough, but there is the possibility to get a hot deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirela77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
#330 of 1,803 in Paris
613 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Crayon Rouge by Elegancia
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
#874 of 1,803 in Paris
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Continent
Hotel du Continent
#100 of 1,803 in Paris
704 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
#643 of 1,803 in Paris
548 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Best Western Paris Louvre Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia

Address: 19 rue Herold, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#188 Business Hotel in Paris
#256 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $118 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the famous Les Halles district, near the Louvre and the Seine, discover the Hotel Odyssey, designed by Ora-Ito and his team. Odyssey Hotel is a haven of peace where prevailing welfare and comfort. In the original style of Ora-Ito, the hotel is a harmonious blend of clean lines and soft curves and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraude Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing