We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very roomy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Paris Montparnasse
Ranked #513 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 21, 2013

It might have been the way our room was situated, sort of in the corner, but it seemed like it was pretty large according to Paris standards. The bed was very comfortable with nice linens. It had a good size flat screen t.v. and a nice bathroom. The tub was one of those with a very high side which I think is dangerous and no safety bars. However, I have noticed this is quite common in Europe. It had a half size shower partition. Very nice toiletries...Roger & Gallet. Made in Paris. I had to buy more I liked it so much. An excellent breakfast buffet is included and it is everything you might want to eat. The location is a little out of the main part of Paris but not too far away from St. Germain. The best thing is the metro and train station is right across the street. Several nice restaurants located within walking distance and a jazz club right next door. There is a small mall next door also with a nice perfume and cosmetic shop in case you forget something. A branch of Galeries Lafayette is also nearby, so lots of convenience. They were remodeling the lobby area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank okietwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick A, Directeur général at Pullman Paris Montparnasse, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear okietwo,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
We were delighted to read your comments, we are always very pleased when guests enjoyed their stay with us at the Pullman Paris Montparnasse.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Patrick Arnoult
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,013)
There are newer reviews for Pullman Paris Montparnasse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,533 - 1,539 of 4,013 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

I was booked into the Pullman hotel for one night with a colleague as part of a business trip to France. The conference we were performing at on the Monday morning was also taking place in the hotel, so the location was excellent.

The hotel itself is located by the side of Montparnasse railway station. The area is a little like Kings Cross used to be in London. Rough and ready. My female colleague and I were accosted twice on the short walk from the station to the hotel by `undesirable types'.

The hotel itself is large and very much of the conference type hotel. The huge foyer has reception and concierge services, which every time we went to visit them always seemed to be busy. We had been pre-checked in, but on check out the following morning the queues were far too long for us to even see somebody and we just had to leave keys.

The Pullman is an immensely tall building so there are lifts that serve the first 13 floors and then express lifts that serve higher floors. We spent a lot of time in the 18 or so hours that we were there waiting for lifts. Coming out onto the 21st floor which was where my room was, the corridors were grey and dark. There was plenty of signage, but the corridors all look identical and it can be very easy not to be able to find your room. The rooms themselves are perfectly adequate. A little on the small side, but with great beds, good pillows, perfectly ample storage, nice bathroom and powerful showers and separate WC.

We didn't sample breakfast in the main hotel dining room as breakfast for our meeting was provided on the conference floor, so it was difficult to judge. It was a perfectly adequate breakfast, but nothing surprising or over pleasing.

I suppose that's how ultimately I would describe this hotel. Good points are its location right by a Metro station. Against that you have the neighbourhood. It's perfectly adequate and if you can get it at a good price I would recommend it, but if you're looking for any level of charm, individuality, or feeling that you are pampered then this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: The higher floors have great views, but you can be waiting a long time for a lift
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claytoncast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick A, Directeur général at Pullman Paris Montparnasse, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Claytoncast,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Pullman Paris Montparnasse with the TripAdvisor's travelers.
We are pleased that your stay have meet you expectations during your conference which took place at the hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Patrick Arnoult
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stay here for company business, so I have little say in the matter, however, I think this hotel can do better in several areas. A decent fitness room and fast Internet with enough bandwidth are hugely important to me on the road. This hotel has a gym with cardio and some weights, but lacks weight machines, so your workout is limited. The worst part is the room won't open until 7am because it is nestled between 2 actual guest rooms. The Internet is spotty when trying to use FaceTime to talk overseas. Highly annoying. They provide a hot water pot, but don't bother to provide coffee cups or a small selection of instant teas, coffee and sugar, which is standard in most large European hotels. The hotel is essentially a large and impersonal place that overlooks small things that make a business stay more enjoyable. With that said, my room was clean, my bed comfortable and the area around the property is filled with places to eat and is convenient to the metro.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick A, Directeur général at Pullman Paris Montparnasse, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Kimflys,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Pullman Paris Montparnasse.
I am sorry that the hotel did not provide you an outstanding experience.
Please be assured that we took notes of your several comments related to the fitness, the in room tea & coffee facilities as well as the WIFI.

We really hope you would give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future and to offer you the memorable experience you were expected.

Sincerely,
Patrick Arnoult
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed there for a weekend and it just made life easier as it is surrounded by loads of restaurants and bars, next to a big shopping gallery, and easy access to metro. If you're on a short term holiday for recreation or even business, it's a perfect haven!

Rooms are very modern, and I will probably agree that you will not have the "Paris feel" to it as it lacks character but hey ho, what matters to me is that it provided a very comfy huge bed, proper coffee machine, clean toilets and the view is just awesome from our room.

Breakfast is generic and always a bit manic. Staff especially front desk have that "laid back" and "care less" attitude giving the impression that they can't really be bothered if you stay with them or not! Not rude at all but just not warm.

But overall, it was a nice experience and we will return back!

Staff have that laid back attitude

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick A, Directeur général at Pullman Paris Montparnasse, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear D D,

What an honor to be described as "a perfect haven"!!
We are pleased that the Pullman Paris Montparnasse has meet your needs during your Parisian stay.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Patrick Arnoult
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Paris is a tough choice as far as hotels go. Lots of options but I would categorize them broadly into two. First: An old property, in the heart of town, with beauty and character that you would only find in Paris, but small rooms, unreliable service ,probably no lifts. Second: A modern hotel, with no character, could be anywhere in the world, but efficiently run and equipped with all lifestyle amenities. We opted for the latter, and so the Pullman Montparnasse.
At some 900 plus rooms, this Pullman is BIG! Runs like a no-nonsense machine. We were three of us so we were given a room with, what they called, two double beds. Sounded perfect, so we made a fully prepaid, non refundable booking on one of the major booking site online.
Pros: Very neat, clean and no fuss. All modern ameneties, decent bath, kettle, ice making machine on floor. Nice breakfast spread!!
Cons: Totally non personal, stand in a queue for everything: checkin/checkout/breakfast. You are just a number in 900 to attend to. Double beds were actually Queen sized beds, big for one and small for two. So we shifted and joined them, and whoever was in the center joint woke up with a backache! Totally, and as they say strictly non-smoking. When we requested for a smoking room, they regretted availability and informed us of a Euro 300 fine if any of us could not control his urge and took the liberty of lighting up in the room!! It was so rudely put across to us that, had we not prepaid, would have cancelled our stay at that point.
Overall: If you can pay upwards of $ 300 to subject yourself to their "rules and regulations", don't mind standing for 15 min queue for breakfast or for checkins/checkouts, then a neat/decent/convenient but forgettable place to stay in this beautiful city of Paris! Higher floors have fantastic city views, though no Eiffel Tower view.

Room Tip: Upper floor with city views are fantastic!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ashisharchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick A, Directeur général at Pullman Paris Montparnasse, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear ashisharchitect

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at The Pullman Paris Montparnasse.
We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

Please be assured that we took notes of your comments related to the waiting for the check-in, check-out and breakfast and that we will take appropriate measures to prevent future occurrences.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Patrick Arnoult
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hotel rooms etc all good, clean and spacious.
Due to being such a large hotel and catering for lots of group tours etc its can get verry crowded.
Trying to feed 2000 odd guests at breakfast most with time appointments the restaraunt is pendemonium with staff and guests.
Coffee machine always empty or broken.
Food only so,so.

Room Tip: Most rooms similar.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonaldWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I opted to stay here because the Montparnasse area has a lot of restaurants to choose from and the main train/metro station is right across the street from the Pullman. Very convenient since I was here for work and needed to commute to the La Defense area each work day.
The hotel offers a nice large buffet breakfast. They call it an American breakfast but it also includes food for Asian's too along with french pastries. I found the bed to perfect and the room very nice. I was on the 8th floor and it was very quiet. I stayed here for 14 days and it was very good. Staff are all very helpful and friendly and all speak English. The lobby was always crowed with large tours coming in and out. When I was there they were remodeling the lobby and bar area.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room I heard they're better the higher you go. I was on the 8th floor and it w...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMEZZ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Pullman Paris Tour Eiffel
#399 of 1,804 in Paris
2,277 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Pullman Paris Centre - Bercy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#363 of 1,804 in Paris
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Paris Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Paris Montparnasse

Address: 19 Rue du Commandant Rene Mouchotte, 75014 Paris, France (Formerly Le Meridien)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Paris
#229 Business Hotel in Paris
#255 Family Hotel in Paris
#306 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#551 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $284 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman Paris Montparnasse 4*
Number of rooms: 957
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Paris Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Paris Montparnasse Hotel Paris
Le Meridien Hotel Paris
Le Meridien Montparnasse
Le Meridien Paris
Paris Le Meridien
Meridien Montparnasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing