We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice
Ranked #1,037 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Camps Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed in April and from the reviews I was hoping for a small, romantic hotel in Paris. The lobby is quaint - we waited a while to be dealt with because there was only one person working on reception. Our room was opposite the front entrance on the ground level, so effectively the other side of the courtyard. This meant walking down a passage, opening a door onto another passage, going to the end of this one, opening our bedroom door onto another passage (dark), finding a light switch and walking to the end of this passage where we turned the corner to another passage: our room led off to the right at the end. Bathroom straight ahead - good facilities. And toilet off to the left (had to squeeze in to shut the door). The bedroom was very dark; there was a french door onto the courtyard, but the courtyard did not appear to be used for sitting in as there was some kind of structure between us and the hotel reception. No chairs or tables. Very busy colour scheme in our room, brown patterned carpet, green and white striped walls above yellow, and red & white bedlinen. Nowhere to unpack bags unless you used the bed or the narrow passageway.

Room Tip: It's possible we got the bad room - don't take the one opposite the entrance across the cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    65
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
16
62
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe NM
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Cute hotel, great location
Rooms face an interior courtyard, so it is quiet !
Great shopping in the area, also good restaurants in the neighborhood.
Content to metro and bus. Taxis are a must in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrisSantaFeNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I've stayed at the Relais St. Sulpice several times over the past five years, and I have consistently had a great experience. The staff is extremely helpful (never fear, they all speak English), the décor is tasteful, and the buffet breakfast is great. Rooms are small (hey, it's Paris!) but the tubs are big enough for a good soak. Rooms with a courtyard view have leafy vines around the windows -- the perfect antidote to too much city concrete. The location is fantastic for browsing Left Bank boutiques, and there are lots of restaurants and movie theaters nearby. You could spend a lot more for a lot less, especially in this part of town.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter, but the hotel is on a quiet street in any case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abqtarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blonay, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This hotel offers very quiet rooms with garden view in the center of Paris. Staff is very nice and helpful.The room was clean and nicely decorated. Good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marie1946485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

There are a few major positives about the hotel, mostly it's location and the helpful staff. The location is really unbeatable. This section of Paris, however, also happens to be our favorite! It is quintessential Paris - with cafes, shops, history, museums, restaurants and gardens abound. Some of the best... The Church of St Sulpice is right across the street with it's beautiful organs, St Germain des Pres is a 10 minute walk, St Sulpice and Mabillon Metros are a few minutes walk, the Luxembourg Gardens are at the end of the street, a treasure trove of great and affordable shopping on Rue du Four/ Rue de Buci, Rue Bonaparte and all of the surrounding small streets, great restaurants like our top favorite - Da Pietro for amazing Italian food.

However, I'm so sad to say that our experience at the hotel was really ruined by getting very, very sick and we think it's from the mold in the hotel. We were married in Paris this fall and other guests stayed at the hotel who also had allergies and colds from the mold. We are really healthy people who rarely get sick, so we knew something was up at the hotel. As soon as we walked in each night, my sinuses and breathing got very tight. As soon as we would leave, we felt much, much better. By the 2nd day, I had a full sinus infection. I can't say anything bad about the staff not accommodating us because we never brought it to their attention since we were so busy. We even had to postpone our honeymoon! We checked out as planned but stayed another few nights to recover in an apartment that other guests had rented for the week. So, if you are the least bit sensitive to this sort of thing (which I don't think I've ever experienced a reaction like this!), I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms on the top few floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank starchixx325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Getting to Relais Saint Sulpice is like going back home after a long trip. You do not get the standard, aseptic ambiance that have most of 3 stars hotels in Paris. After the sweet and warm reception you are shown your room...and there you get home. Each room has a different decoration with pieces of furniture sourced in antics they have reasonable sizes big enough for comfort and warm enough for a nice romance in the best district of Paris (VI). The courtyard gives a feeling of the movie Midnight in Paris by Woody Allen the Saint Sulpice church, which you can enter from the back ie 5 meters from the hotel door, is a good way to reach the wonderful restaurants and bars from Rue des Canettes, or Marche Saint Sulpice, not to mention Cafe de Flore or Jgo. Same for shopping as Le Bon Marche is nearby - 10 minutes walk max. Jardin du Luxembourg, the most beautiful park downtown Paris is at the end of the street,...fantastic for me as I am a regular runner. 2 metro stations are nearby for more distant options Taking the breakfast at the hotel is the best option though, as the buffet is just perfect. I have tried a good dozen of hotels in this category in the last 6 years and this one is definitely my home in Paris

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are probably quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelstarSpore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We spent six nights at the hotel and the best thing I can say about it is that the location is great. We checked into our room and found a clean & tidy small room without any frills whatsoever. Why would a hotel not have night stands next to the bed? I had to move the chair over to the bed to make a table to put my books etc. on. Hair dryer is something out of the 1950's- no shower cap, body lotion etc. just some shampoo. But the absolute worst is the wifi situation. The hotel charges for wifi (which when paying over $200. a night is an insult) and then the service is archaic (Orange). Only one device can go up at a time, each & every time you attempt to use it, you must put in a super long ID and code. The final straw was that Orange blocks Skype usage! This is inexcusable that a hotel would deal with a service that blocks such a necessary service for travelers. In addition, the hotel has the tv volume set to a maximum that is quite low as the rooms are all fairly close together. As mentioned above, the location is great and the maid service does a good job. All in all I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katshorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Recamier
Hotel Recamier
#318 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Louis 2
Hotel Louis 2
#575 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#106 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#412 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel La Perle
Hotel La Perle
#185 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice

Property: Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice
Address: 3 rue Garanciere, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#448 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful hotel of the 18th century situated in a beautiful environment; the St Germain with its terraces, its art galleries but also fashion boutiques (Dior, Yves St Laurent, Vuitton, Armani ...) all easily accessible on foot from the hotel. Le Relais Saint Sulpice, whose facade is listed as an historic monument, has a magnificent view of the back of the remarkable church of Saint Sulpice: Baroque architecture, paintings by Delacroix on the inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Saint Sulpice Hotel
Relais Saint Sulpice Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing