We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Paris Opera la Fayette
Ranked #615 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed January 10, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at ibis Paris Opera la Fayette (strangely, also called ibis Paris Opera la Palatier?). Check-in was quick and friendly. I've just seen a post by a fellow reviewer saying attitude of staff is horrible -- not in our case. They have been friendly throughout. Perhaps our effort to use our minimal French vocabulary helped! The staff spoke good English to us too, by the way...

Anyway, the location of the hotel is good. It may, however, be slightly troublesome to find as there is another ibis hotel 2 blocks away. In any case, it was convenient. A minutes walk from the Cadet metro station and a few more minutes from the Notre Dame de Lorette. There is also a supermarket nearby which opens till 10 pm.

Probably like any other ibis hotels, opera la fayette also tells you to go green by re-using towels whilst giving you plastic cups in the toilet...

There are some slight issues during our stay. The lift was slow. The main entrance doors were not working throughout our stay and the poor receptionist had to come to open the locked side door for us every time we show up. Also, after we checked out and needed to leave our luggage at the hotel... "please feel free to use the lockers down there...". Yup, 4 Euros for the big ones which comfortably fits two large pieces of luggage.

Other than that, things were largely fine. Our room had a nice little balcony overlooking the side street which wasn't busy. Throughout our stay it has been quiet and comfortable. For the price, and given how expensive things can get in Paris, we were happy customers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deinococc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

As a tourist, most of one's time in Paris would be spent sightseeing and out on the streets of the city. As such, the Ibis La Fayette is an ideal choice, since it is very reasonably priced compared to the other hotels in the city and offers a clean, comfortable and neat room. The staff are also helpful when asked. There are however no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

The hotel itself is also close to basic amenities such as a supermarket, some restaurants and the Cadet Metro Station. Please be warned though, that this station does not have elevators/escalators. As such, if you, like me, plan to take the bus from Orly airport to the main metro (can't remember the line) which links up to the Cadet station, travel light! I suffered carrying my big heavy bag up those stairs! Fortunately though, there were some kind souls who gave me a helping hand.

McDonalds/McCafe is also just outside the metro exit, a few minutes walking distance from the hotel, which was ideal for my morning tea and croissants. I did not find any halaal eating places near the hotel; however, on my way out of Paris, I discovered that there were quite a few nearby. So more research on my part may have helped in this regard!

I must add that I travelled alone on this trip and did not feel 100% safe on the metro at night, as well as walking through some of the streets en route to the metro, especially since some of the places were a bit isolated. Just a consideration if you plan on being out till late in the centre and need to get back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khadija_CPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h7402, Gérant at Ibis Paris Opera la Fayette, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for your comment. Hope to see you again in our hotel.


Yours sincerely,

SIMON Odile
Directrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mavi555
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
h7402, Gérant at Ibis Paris Opera la Fayette, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We arrived Hotel as 4 People, First they gave us Rooms in different etages, although they had Free Rooms at Same etages, , After our accomandation they Charged THe Full amount in our Credit Card twice!!!when we claimed THe failure they refused to help us, we are fighting to get money back .. Awfull Service Never ever Again

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nininum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimitris P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Before I begin, I would like to disclose that I've used other Ibis Hotels several times previously (Nice, Paris Montmartre, Grenoble, Paris Brancion & Lisboa Liberdade) and have found their hotels good value for money with friendly helpful staff and would gladly recommend Ibis hotels as convenient, clean and well priced hotels. That being said, I would strongly suggest staying away from the Ibis Paris Opéra Le Peletier

I had initially booked the Ibis Paris Opéra Le Peletier hotel as a "fall back" hotel (as the Ibis online booking process is easy to use and very convenient) with a view to book a four star hotel when I had a chance to search for a decently priced hotel. I did find the Le Méridien Etoile hotel at a very similar price but didn't have a chance to book it and ended up staying at the Ibis Paris Opéra Le Peletier hotel. I didn't particularly see this as a problem as it was my wife's first time in Paris and we planned to spend most of our time site seeing (so booking a luxury hotel wasn't a requirement for this trip). I've also always enjoyed good service from Ibis but this time however, I was horribly disappointed.

Problems we encountered were as follows:
- Staff were very unapproachable and didn't speak english properly.
- They were visibly annoyed when spoken to in english or asked any questions.
- Despite booking a double room (we were a couple), the room simply had two single beds moved together.
- The room also wasn't cleaned properly (an empty pizza box and used drinking glasses were left in the room - twice).
- The hotel only provided two bath towels (no hand towels and staff were annoyed when we asked for more towels).
- We were also changed for making a call, but the only call we made was to the Ibis reception!!!
- The main front entrance didn't work. Guests had to knock on a side door and wait for staff to come open the door.

I fully understand you get what you pay for, but in this instance taking into account the rate that the Ibis Paris Opéra Le Peletier charges, I certainly didn't get what I paid for!!! To be fair, we didn't bother complaining about the above as there really wasn't any point - based on how staff behaved when we checked in and asked for more towels, we decided it wouldn't be worth while complaining about anything. Had we complained, they may have surprised us and sorted things out but given the general attitude at the hotel, I highly doubt that would have been the case...

I do recommend the other Ibis hotels I've stayed at (Nice, Paris Montmartre, Grenoble, Paris Brancion, Lisboa Liberdade) but wouldn't recommend Ibis Paris Opéra Le Peletie. I would suggest people search elsewhere to get more value - perhaps Le Méridien Etoile hotel or the Ibis Paris Montmartre.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Shoaib_Laher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Ibis Paris Grands Boulevards Opera 9eme
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Premier Opera Faubourg
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#129 of 1,802 in Paris
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Ibis Paris Bastille Faubourg Saint Antoine 11eme
Opera / Bourse
Ibis Styles Paris Lafayette Opera
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
#248 of 1,802 in Paris
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Paris Opera la Fayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Paris Opera la Fayette

Address: 19 rue Buffault, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#476 Business Hotel in Paris
#627 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $85 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Paris Opera la Fayette 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Partner,We have the pleasure to inform you that the total renovation of the Opera Franklin will start from the end of November 2009.We hope that you will able to discover soon our new rooms. We apologize in advance for the inconvenience caused during this period that is supposed to finish on the summer time 2010. During the works of the hotel the capacity will be partly reduced therefore we thank you for your understanding and partnership.We stay at your disposal for any further information you may need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Paris Opera la Fayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Opera Le Peletier Hotel Paris
Opera Franklin Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing