We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hideaway in the centre of Paris”
Review of Hotel Edouard 7

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Edouard 7
Ranked #128 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A lovely hideaway in the centre of Paris”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel has that olde worlde feel about it that brings back back memories of a Paris sadly long gone. The entrance is small and discreet on one of the major roads in town and once you are inside a lovely sense of calm descends.
We had a room which was almost up in the attic and was wonderful, a low ceiling and access to a balcony almost at roof level gave this a real bohemian touch.
The service was excellent and the staff were always happy to help. I would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirkbyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelEdouard7Paris, Executive Director at Hotel Edouard 7, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

I trully appreciate your remarks after your stay at Edouard 7 that I will share with my team.

I really do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back for business or leisure in our Hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally if you need anything in Paris.

Kindest regards from Paris.

Cathy Lammens
Executive Manager
Hotel Edouard 7
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    275
    52
    10
    17
See reviews for
182
477
43
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed here for one night only in March 2013 for business.
The hotel is in the very heart of Paris and could not be faulted in location. Service was fantastic, nothing was too much of an issue. My room was clean, comfortable and had everything you would need (apart from an iron!). It's nice and perfect for a romantic break in the city. If I was travelling to Paris again I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hall284002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelEdouard7Paris, Executive Director at Hotel Edouard 7, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback which we have noted with concern.

It is such a pleasure to read some detailed comments after your recent stay with us.

This is the only way for me and my team to continue our work or to improve our quality .

Regarding the iron, do not hesitate next time, to ask one at the reception ( we do not put it in the room but it is at your disposal upon request)

Thank you for your trust to Edouard7 , member of Bessé Signature Collection, and we hope to have a new opportunity to welcoming you again and very soon in Paris

Sincerely,

Cathy Lammens
Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I have been staying here annually for about 15 years. We just happened to pick it at random because of its location and have been coming back ever since. It is within easy walking distance to many popular attractions such as the Louvre and conventiently located near several Metro stops. Over the years we have seen many changes in staff but the service has always stayed helpful and courteous. The rooms vary considerably in size but are always clean and well maintained. As with most non-chain hotels, you get what you pay for. We intend to keep coming back as long as we visit Paris.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelEdouard7Paris, Executive Director at Hotel Edouard 7, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to send us your comments after your last stay at Edouard7.

It is such important for us to see that you came back in our establishment for many years now and that you enjoyed your stay with us . Everyone here is giving generous attitude to our guests because we like that, we like to provide happiness to our clients.

As you said, over the years Edouard7 has changed ( we made some renovations in our rooms, and in the hotel in general) to continue our work to improve our quality and service standards that you are expecting to find at Edouard7.

Do not hesitate to contact me directly if you need anything in Paris , or if you have any relative and friends that would like to visit Paris, we will also take good care of them.

All the best from Paris.
Edouard 7 is your Parisian home address for ever!

Sincerely,
Cathy Lammens
Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great location within easy walking of many attractions.Eiffel tower one way.Moulin Rouge and manmatre the other.
Really nice hotel.Staff helpfull.Rooms good.Try to get a room at the front.Breakfast very nice and relaxing.would highly recommend this hotel and go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelEdouard7Paris, Executive Director at Hotel Edouard 7, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Edouard 7.

We sincerely appreciate that you enjoyed your visit with us and that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to serving you again when your travel plans bring you back to the Paris area.

Very best from Paris
Cathy Lammens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week in mid-February; wished we could have stayed longer. A bit pricey, but a 40th anniversary only comes around once. The staff was superb, both the day crew and the night crew; always very attentive & quick to make recommendations for sightseeing and/or dining. The room was small; but remember, this is Paris; after stepping out on the balcony to view the Opera, who cares??? The red velvet bed was comfy & so were the robes. The restaurant was very good & we really enjoyed the late night drinks at the bar. And, as mentioned by others, you can't beat the location; we just had a great time!

Room Tip: Go for the Opera view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salsi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelEdouard7Paris, Executive Director at Hotel Edouard 7, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you very much for your detailed comments you made to all my team.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Everyone here is giving generous attitude to our guests because we love that and we like to provide happiness to our clients.

Do not hesitate to contact us if you need anything in Paris or if you have any relative and friends that would like to visit Paris, we will also take good care of them like your family.

All the best from Paris
Sincerely,
Cathy Lammens
Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend in early February 2013. The pictures are kind of deceptive - the hotel is very small, with a tiny little lobby, and a lift that barely has room for two people and their luggage. The room was small, but about average for Paris. The hotel is located very near two metro stations (Pyramides and Opera), and was walkable distance to the Opera, Galleries Lafayette, the Louvre, and many interesting and notable restaurants and bars. Room service was reasonable - especially compared to many of the restaurants in the area - and very fast. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the towels and bathrobes were soft and fluffy. We didn't use the breakfast buffet, but there are dozens of cafes in the surrounding area where you can go for reasonably priced and delicious breakfast.

The only negative is that there was construction going on on the floor below us. It was very loud, but as we spent most of the time outside of our room and the construction only went on from 10-5, it didn't really affect us very much.

Room Tip: You might want to ring to check if the construction has been completed, or if you can get a room whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelEdouard7Paris, Executive Director at Hotel Edouard 7, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Madam,

I acknowledge your comments this morning after your recent stay at Edouard7 on February 2013.
Thank you for sharing all these detailed comments with us because it is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests, negative or positive. This is the only way for us to continue to improve our quality that you are expecting to find in our property.

We are sorry to read your unsatisfaction you have experienced with the noise of the works below your room . In fact, we decided to renovate some rooms in order to offer to our guest newly decorated rooms .
The renovation will be finished very soon now.

We do hope that you will give us a chance to come again and, in the same time, discover our new collection of rooms during a next visit to Paris .
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Edouard7 .

Yours Sincerely,
Cathy Lammens
Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great hotel, Located near to the Opera house but most important for me location ways is that is near to some of the best bars in Paris, like Le Forum, Hemingway bar at the Ritz, Harry's Bar, Park hyatt, etc.
I been staying on this hotel for the last 5 years and its always a great place to come back, the reception every time is ready to help on anything that may need, the rooms are really cool with a decadent and romantic look, if you decide to stay here pls make sure that you get any of the rooms that had the name of Edouard 7 wives.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fallwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelEdouard7Paris, Executive Director at Hotel Edouard 7, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you very much for your sincere and detailed comments !
For everyone who works here at the hotel , but also for a hotel manager , receiving such comments: "you made our day"!!!!!

We are very happy that you enjoyed each time your stay with us.

Do not hesitate to contact us if you need anything in Paris or if you have any relative friends that would like to visit Paris, we will also take good care of them.

All the best from Paris and Edouard7 is your Parisian home address for ever!
Sincerely,
Cathy Lammens
Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#133 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#138 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Square Louvois
Hotel Square Louvois
#15 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Maison Athenee
Maison Athenee
#145 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Westminster
Hotel Westminster
#230 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edouard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edouard 7

Property: Hotel Edouard 7
Address: 39 avenue de l Opera, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#116 Business Hotel in Paris
#125 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#162 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Edouard 7 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edouard 7 Paris Opera, unique Parisian with great views of the Opera from his balconies, located between the OPERA,Palais Garnier and the LOUVRE. Elegant and audacious address of 69 rooms and suites, offering inventive gourmet food and a creative bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Edouard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edouard Vii Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing