We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring Paris”
Review of Hotel Cordelia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cordelia
Ranked #637 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is my 2nd stay at Hotel Cordelia and as ever the rooms are comfortable and spacious as a base for exploring Paris. The location is ideal and many attractions are within walking distance, the open top bus tour runs from Place de Madeline, less than a 5 minute walk, where there is also a Metro station, restaurants and cafe close by, but slightly off the beaten track so you dont get woken uo by bin lorries and city noise! we even walked back to Gare de Nord (25 mins) to get eurostar back home.
This year the hotel was undergoing a rennovatioin programme, which we did know about in advance, which meant no air con in the bedrooms so it was a little hot for sleeping, although fans were provided. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wareywarws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comment!
We are pleased to inform you that the 5th and the 6th floor are open! We just need one more month to have the air conditioning functional!
We will be pleased to welcoming you again; don’t hesitate to contact us by email to have the best price and a new room!
Regards,
The Cordélia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 347 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have stayed at Cordelia twice before, and this time we decided to stay for 2 nights. It was clearly specified that there would not be any AC in operation as renovation was in progress. We booked in June and arrived in August, having perfect weather approx 22 degrees outdoors. A fan was placed in both our rooms and use of this one during the nights allowed us to sleep very well though we slept on 2nd floor with closed windows.
The hotel is perfectly located in many ways, my children aged 18, 22 and 25 were surprised by the easy 5 minute walk to the Opera where the bus to CDG stops. Also several small bars close by to take a cup of coffee and a croissant mornings. Being located close to le Metro la Madeleine, Printemps and Lafayette is advantageous.
All 4 of us have decided to get back in 2014 if possible as we feel most comfortable at this hotel. Myself, I have stayed at 3 other hotels in the immediate surroundings but I like Hotel Cordelia the most.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Marie,
Thank you for having taken time to communicate us your comments concerning the hotel Cordélia.
Your message is full of kind and true details. Nothing to ad!
Thank you again for your great recommendation. Don’t hesitate to contact us directly to make a booking and be sure that next year we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again!
The Cordélia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

It was our first time in Paris and we decided to stay at this hotel for 3 nights. Firstly, hotel air conditioning wasn't working and when we inquired about it the staff was really rude saying that they couldn't and wouldn't do anything about it. They didn't compensate it us for this and also put on an extra charge when our friend from Paris stayed over the night to talk with us in the room. They blatantly accused us for lying and said that our friend was here sleeping with us when she only stayed the night to talk. We calmly tried to talk it out with the staff but they were very rude and just kept on yelling "this is not my probleme". Seriously, the worst hotel ever. Even 2-star hotels have better service.

In conclusion, hotel stay was bad and staff attitude is even worse. You can just imagine how bad it is staying here. The whole summer vacation ruined. If you want to have a fun and memorable time in the beautiful city of Paris, do not stay at this hotel.

-Fellow tourist

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_C0rdelia, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Madame,
Your message is absurd. You've deliberately lied during 3 days, living in a double room for 2 persons and you were 3. We watched again the video surveillance to be sure that we have right. At morning time, 2 of your friends were going out without telling us good morning and then 5 minutes later you were arriving alone to give us the key of your room. You have a lot of nerve to write your own misadventure because of your dishonesty. Plus you booked on booking.com and there is no mention of air conditioning so you booked a room without taking care of the advice on the first page about the renovation. You asked for compensation but you already had one: instead of 215€ you paid only 99€.
The staff is not rude at all and our hotel is unique. We like taking care about our guest, we like warm welcoming and we like helping and informing our lovely guest.
In conclusion, you spoilt yourself your holidays.
The Cordélia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hotel Cordelia is a lovely boutique hotel, in an excellent position for sight-seeing and shopping. The rooms are comfortable and stylish, My only criticism would be that there was a mini heatwave at the time of our stay and the air-conditioning was not working (not sure if June was too early for it to be on) and the room was uncomfortably hot at night. The cellar where an excellent continental breakfast is served is really pretty. The staff are all very helpful and speak good English. We have stayed at the hotel twice and look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_C0rdelia, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Gillian,
Thank you for having taken time to communicate us your comments concerning the hotel Cordélia.
The refurbishment of all our rooms has begun the 1st of July! The surface area is maintained, 12m², but all rooms will have a king size bed, a modern bathroom, a new minibar and safety box and a restored decoration! The most important novelty will be an individual system of air-conditioning reversible.
We have improved the breakfast and it is now an American buffet.
The new rooms on the 5th and 6th floor will be available in October 2013. Don’t hesitate to contact us directly to make a booking and ask to try a renovated room out!
We look forward to welcome you again.
The Cordélia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was our first time in Paris and we decided to stay in this hotel from July 31-Aug 4 due to the good reviews we read from trip advisor. We stayed in the 3rd floor which is not affected by the renovation. We were surprised that the aircondition unit is not working! Mind you that summer in Paris is very hot, but the ironic thing is that the temperature outside is much more colder that the temperature in our room! We were provided a very very small white electricfan instead. The TV ain't working either! And yet, we paid for the whole price!!! On top of that, the chair in our room has menstruation stain! We tried to negotiate but they are hesitant to offer anything to compensate how uncomfortable their guest is. Poor customer service by the front desk. He gave me a very cold answer "sorry i cannot do anything". This is the worst hotel I have stayed in my whole life!!! Even hostels are way better than this!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Phoebe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_C0rdelia, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Phoebe,
As we can see, you are new on the tripadvisor community and this is your first comment ... negative.
The air conditioning is not working only this summer 2013 because we are in renovation time of all the rooms. The management team is working on this project of refurbishment for two years now to provide better comfort to our loyal and future customers. We listened to their request and they asked for a better air conditioning system, for new decoration and new furniture so we perform. Work will last 9 months so we couldn't choose a better time to do it.
Fans available to customers have a standard size, 30 cm diameter.
The TV did not work for 3 days because of the storm had damaged the antenna, we explained it to each guest and we had their understanding.
The price of the room is 215€/night. You paid only 104€/night. So you had your discount.
We have a good customer service and here are the explanations:
You booked through Expedia. So when you have a problem with your stay in a hotel, you have to deal with them. My colleague called our manager on Expedia to tell them that they forgot to tell you about the air conditioning, he admits that it was their fault. He told her to call the customer service. So she called the customer service for you.
My colleague found another hotel for you but you didn’t want to move into another hotel because of the difference between the prices. And the customer service of Expedia didn’t find you another hotel or they find one and you didn’t want to move too.
In a hostel all over the world, you don’t have air conditioning everywhere and you have room for 6 or 8 people….so we can assure our future guest that we are a good 3 stars hotel and we will be better soon.
I invite our future customers to book directly with us to avoid this type of situation.
Since the 1st of July, when we have the e-mail address of our customers, we send automatically this following message:
The Cordélia team is pleased to inform you the refurbishment of all our rooms between the 1st of July 2013 and the end of March 2014.
The Hotel Cordélia will remain open and we will do everything we can during this time to make your stay pleasant.
The 5th and the 6th floor are closed and noise pollution can be expected between 10 am to 5 pm.
The air conditioning is out of order in all the rooms until the end of October. Fans are at your disposal.
It won't be long until we contact you and show you our new decor.
We wish you a great holiday and see you soon!
The Cordélia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We loved the hotel and area! Reception staff VERY helpful indeed. Would certainly stay again. We stayed for two nights during the time of refurbishment but we were not disturbed at all by noise. The hotel made us fully aware before we visited and the work went on not noticed.
Area is very central with plenty of good restaurants nearby.
Cricketers bar full of friendly staff too!

Room Tip: Bus from airport stops conveniently nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alimaxgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_C0rdelia, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Alison,
Thank you for your great recommendation. Don’t hesitate to contact us when you want to come back, the new rooms will be available in October 2013!
We look forward to welcome you again.
The Cordélia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

You will get the Parisian feel at this hotel; It is very cozy, nicely decorated.
Rooms are a slightly small if this bothers you, (it didn't bother me)
I went in Christmas and the hotel felt like family.
Breakfast: good variety and taste.
Location: it was perfect for me; close to Madeleine metro station, to the opera, la Fayette.
I really recommend this hotel to those who prefer to live the parisian culture rather than choosing fancy hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ranaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_C0rdelia, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Ranaha,
Thank you for having taken time to communicate us your comments concerning the hotel Cordélia.
Will we have the pleasure to welcoming you next Christmas in a renovated room?
You loved it before, you will love it more!
The Cordélia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Queen Mary
#669 of 1,802 in Paris
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Madeleine Haussmann Hotel
#449 of 1,802 in Paris
224 reviews
Hotel Massena
#1,041 of 1,802 in Paris
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cordelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cordelia

Address: 11 rue Greffulhe | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#517 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $132 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cordelia 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Cordelia is the place where romantic writers used to meet in the 19th century. In an elegant and relaxing atmosphere of serenity, Countess Cordelia of Greffulhe invites you to discover her 30 non-smoking and air conditioned rooms, all recently renovated. A harmony of shimmering colors combined with some historical eye winks and modern equipment. The courtesy of our staff will make your stay a special moment! The rooms are differently decorated but they stay true to style, each of the 30 rooms (Classic, Comfort and Privilege) have contemporary requirement and charm that inspire relaxation and serenity. Some rooms will surprise you with a flowered window. The hotel CORDELIA'S rooms inspire heaven and are placed in the heart of the world's business and fashion. They offer guests the assurance of a stay under the sign of comfort. All our rooms have the same level of technological equipment: • Direct Individual air conditioning • Direct Phone Line • Free WIFI connection • LCD TV with 56 satellite channels (CNN - Eurosport - BBC - RAI - etc.) • Individual safe • Courtesy tray - tea / coffee / kettle • National and international newspapers at your disposal • Hair - dryer and cosmetic mirror • Welcoming rank of products "Dream Thermal" • Mini bar • Desk • Luggage holder • Iron and an ironing board at your disposal • Other services: Room service 6pm/3am, laundry service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cordelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordelia Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing