We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small hotel not suitable for older people” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Corona Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Corona Opera
Ranked #329 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Small hotel not suitable for older people”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were a couple and a friend and booked a suite. Suite 001 consisted of a modern room well decorated with a curtain and a narrow hall which included a chair bed not a sofa bed. End result we had to book another room which was a room for 3 persons as only one available. This is the smallest room I have seen room 405. Again a chair bed which did not fit between the two walls and was wedged between two walls. Bathroom so small that you had to sit side ways on the toilet. Breakfast very good. Good position for attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    210
    54
    12
    3
See reviews for
144
112
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Excellent Hotel good value for money.very helpful staff good breakfast. Location of the hotel is excellent, closed to opera, Lafayette and restaurants . Improvement needs is for lobby area and lift. To small both of them and needs to improve

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antonishd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

First of all, I was shocked at how small this hotel was. We had a triple (which was not problem in other cities), so we had 3 beds. I literally had to crawl over beds to get around. Having 3 suitcases was a challenge. The bathroom was so small that I missed it entirely. It was behind the door when you entered. The room reminded us of dorm rooms in college. No frills whatsoever. Not even a picture on the wall or nicely painted walls. The staff was helpful. The breakfast was ok. Oh!!! The elevator could only hold 3 people smashed in. Hilarious because it could only take up the luggage. The location was convenient, however. Many restaurants, stores, bus stops, and pharmacies in walking distance. This is not a comfort hotel. We used it to sleep and dress only. It was too small to just hang out and relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The location is not near any of the tourist areas, except for the Galeries Lafayette which is walking distance if you don't mind walking many, many long blocks - it's still doable. Catching the metro to any of the tourist areas is fantastic - practically right outside your hotel door. If you're able to read the transit maps and compare them with street maps you'll be fine at this location. A few restaurants near by, not a lot, just a few. Great boulangerie and creperies are steps away. Fantasic gelato at Amorino right around the corner -yummy!!. The lobby to hotel is very small - in back of the front desk is the dining room where they serve the continental breakfast in the morning. Breakfast meal - very good. Fresh croissants, warm breads, cheeses, deli meats, coffee and/or tea - which are served warm, not hot, so you may want to ask them to reheat or nuk. To get to your room, use the elevator - one-at-a-time. If you have a large suitcase, you may have to send it up alone...yes the elevator is that tiny! There are stairs that wind up, but again, be prepared if you have a large tote bag. The rooms are small, but clean and efficient. The shower/tub combo - prepare to find water splashed on the floor as the shower door is not flushed with the wall or the tub, there is a 1/4 or 1/2 inch opening allowing water to fall to the floor. Also the tub is quite high - so if you've a problem with raising your knee, this is not the place for you - and no rubber mat in the tub, or rails to hold on to; don't think of holding on to the shower door as it is not attched to the wall. Air conditioner is set at a certain temperature, so although the room can be cool, it won't adjust to make it 'cooler'. When we called the front desk, the manager said the engineer wont be in until the morning. The manager did stop by to try to adjust it, but said, it should be fine now. It wasnt and unfortunately, that weekend was one of the hottest in Paris (Aug. 2-3). Desk manager (2 we met) friendly and helpful, but even when asking directions they say "right there" or "very close" or "go here" when pointing to your map, but dont really say which street and how many lights or how many blocks. Thankfully, the station agents at the metros were all helpful and we were able to find our way. The hotel is located in the back of a busy main street, but it's quiet, the front entrance is in an alley-type, very narrow street. If you're street smart savvy and confident you're able to use the metro lines, this could be the place for you. If you're looking to be closer to the tourist sites, this is not the place for you; none of the tour bus companys we searched will stop at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drsisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Levels
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

nice renovated hotel, just two metro stops to main LFY shopping areas! Even you could have an easy walk from Opera with a big luggage for around 15mins from the Rossy bus Opera station.

Ppl. said small lift but it's quite normal in Paris small hotels. Nothing to be surprised about.

There is a famous restaurant just opposite to the street exit but you have to wait for around half hour.

one very bright & light restaurant on the left of the main exit is NOT recommended. Cheating ppl.. the quality is not good.

This area on Metro Grand Bouvolard is always our first hotel choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorachai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

the entrance is in the back of the narrow dead-end street, but it is safe enough there. It looks cute like a little French petite hotel. The location is convenient enough to go sight-seeing. There are enough cafes and restaurants around the hotel. No city view from the room. The staff were nice. A little small breakfast area, but there is one table in a small museum/bookstore type of space which made me feel cozy. At breakfast, they served camambert cheese. that was good. The room is cute and clean but small(no problem, though). They had free WiFi which was good. One issue is that the elevator is so small, and they have only one. So, either you have to wait for a long time or use the spiral staircase that goes around the elevator shaft. It did not really bother me much, though. I felt the history of the building.

Room Tip: Better to stay in the room at lower levels so that you can use stairs when you don't want to wai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8KellyCo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The family and I (2 adults, 2 kids) were having an overnight stop in Paris as we travelled through France so I was having a having a good search for a hotel with a family room that would take all 4 of us plus, if possible, somewhere to park the car....quite a big ask in the centre of Paris without spending a ridiculous amount of money. I came across the Hotel Corona and it met my requirements, however, it was quite cheap (in comparison) so I was a little concerned as to what I would actually get for my money.
On arrival day, I put the address into my GPS and the street wouldn't come up; after a bit of googling I found it was on a side street that wasn't listed....of course I was now even more worried about where I was sleeping for the night!
How wrong I could be! it was in a quiet little side street / courtyard amongst other hotels; the hotel has 4 parking spaces in front all with barriers to stop anyone else parking; I popped in to ask the guy if there was a parking spot available for me, luckily there was so that was a great start, a space right outside the front door. The reception looked inviting as we checked in, we were given a family room (411) so off we went up the small elevator. We were more than pleasantly surprised with the room, it had been refurbished to a great standard, it had a modern bathroom and toilet, it was very spacious (2 rooms interlocking), clean and well decorated with nice bed linen too. It was clear that we had struck lucky on this occasion so we were all happy.
I obviously didn't go into any other rooms but after speaking with the guy at reception, he told me that all the rooms had been refurbished over the last couple of years and the hotel was now complete.
I wouldn't bother looking any further than the Hotel Corona in future, whether I'm on my own or with the family, we had an excellent stay and I would thoroughly recommend it.
It is very central in Paris, 15 mins walk to Le Louvre, 35 to the Eifel Tower with lots of shops and restaurants in the immediate vicinity. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as it was €16 each and there's plenty of small bakery shops within minutes walk.
A great little hotel and we'll certainly be back next time we're in Paris.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JerrardDrivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Emeraude Hotel D'Espagne
Emeraude Hotel D'Espagne
#487 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de la cite Rougemont
Hotel de la cite Rougemont
#424 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
#216 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Mondial Hotel
Mondial Hotel
#1,036 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Opera / Bourse
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
#405 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Holiday Inn Paris Opera-Grands Boulevards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corona Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corona Opera

Property: Hotel Corona Opera
Address: 8 Cite Bergere | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#321 Family Hotel in Paris
#411 Business Hotel in Paris
#560 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corona Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the chic 9th district in Paris, this elegant hotel is half a mile from the Opera Garnier. With chandeliers in the lobby, it features guest rooms with a flat-screen TV. Family rooms available. Each air-conditioned guest room comes with a minibar and safe . They also have a private bathroom with a hairdryer. At the Corona hotel, a buffet breakfast is served every morning in the brasserie-style breakfast room. Room service is available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Corona Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing