We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Acacias Hotel De Ville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acacias Hotel De Ville
Ranked #1,691 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Truely awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Apart from the location, this hotel has to be the worst I have ever stayed in. 100 Euro a night for a single room is disgraceful. The staff didn't have a clue, the room was dirty and only slightly larger than a rabbit hutch. Save your 100 Euro and sleep on the pavement outside the hotel, it's cleaner and the passers by will be a lot friendlier than the moronic staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyerGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
6
8
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

It looks nicer in the website than it really is and, in my opinion, this is the worse trick even when not on purpose.
The location is wonderful, close to Hotel du Ville Station from where you can go to anywhere in the city, close also to the Louvre Museum to where you can go on foot.
The carpet in the hotel is old and dirty, what give an unpleasant first impression, and there was a huge pack of dirty bed sheets beside my room door wich made my first impression really worse.
On the top of that,
1. when my reservation was not made, despite of my confirmation; fortunately there was availability
2. the shower did not work in the first day
3. I asked for a wake up call for 6:30 in the morning and did not get it.
It is such a pitty, because, in spite of all those weak points the staff are so kind, Natali always keen to help in anything you need and got really embarassed for those mistakes.
Actually I got a little late back to hotel for my check-out and she was so supportive and sympathetic.
Considering the price ($98) I expected more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank szisantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Having read bad reviews on this hotel i felt that i had to comment. Although the hotel is basic the location can not be faulted. Great area with lots of bars and affordable restaurants and walking distance to the islands and the Louvre.

We went for a typical sight seeing holiday and so literally used the room to sleep in and have breakfast. the breakfast wasnt gourmet but there was lots of choice of croissants, bread, yoghurts and fruit.

If you are looking for an affordable hotel in a good area of Paris which you only want as a bed for a night i would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vauclusegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

this hotel should be shut down, it is absolutely awful. it's noisy, (the room i had was right by the stair well), dangerous (i kept having the side of my head attacked by a tv that was positioned to get in the way and jab me every time i walked past it and went to use my loo), i left my phone in the room and when i got back it had gone, the receptionist was neither helpful nor polite, i was made to feel like a criminal for suggesting that i'd had my phone stolen (it has never happened here, you must be mistaken madam!!), i was offered nothing by way of compensation (to be able to use the phone to stop my phone account would have helped marginally but she refused). please don't stay with this bunch of idiots, they don't deserve your cash.

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank karouyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Stranraer Scotland
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights , september '09 108€ per night (high Season price) We emailed them months earlier to request a front room which they obliged, gladly as if gives a Great view of street life below. Hotel is bit thread bare (and furnishings rather old) but clean all the same with good maid service everyday. All staff very polite with 24 hr desk service. Hotel is due for large renovation this winter in three or four stages as not to close it down completely but is staying 2 stars so fares should remaine low. Our room was not too small had safe (30€€deposit) but no air con (maybe this will change by next summer) The biggest plus about this hotel is the Location!! Not only is it smack in the middle of Paris but is in a great nieghberhood with lots of great places to eat and fantastic shopping options all around you. Also there is a Metro at end of street. Great value for Money!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank falkensmaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

first hotel in europe so I was very shocked at the small size and quality of the room. everything was falling apart. less shocked about size as my trip continued but it was still the smallest room I took. the safe cost extra, shelves in the wardrobe kept collapsing on us. we saw the triple room upstairs and it was a completely unuseable room, am only 5'10" and I had to walk leaning. that being said....evening staff and breakfast ladies were a complete delight and helpful if you wish to interact . everything is close enough from the hotel, about 10 min. walk to the major multi route metro stops. next time I will save a few hours of total walking by getting a room nearer to the pompedue center or stay on the left bank. if you do not like crowds though this is about as close as you can get without being swarmed the moment you step out the door. the photos posted do make it look alot more like a boutique hotel than it really is, it is a bit scuzzier than they let on.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank taoish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

I wanted to write a realistic review as I often refer to Trip Advisor when travelling. I stayed at this hotel for one week in February of 2008. I found this hotel to be very reasonable (78Euro off season, although not publicized online). I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff was helpful, the rooms very clean . . don't mistake clean with new, this hotel is very old and could use a little work (new carpet, new beds, a little paint). The metro just two blocks south at the Hotel de Ville was both user friendly and affordable. The location is perfect. There are cafes on almost every corner, and there are a number of grocery stores within a 4 block radius of the hotel. If you cross the bridge at Notre Dame (and take a right) into the Latin quarter the restaurants are less expensive and very fun. (For the thrifty . . take out cafe is 1-3 Euro cheaper, beer in grocery stores is 7Euro cheaper!!) The walk along the Seine (three blocks south of the hotel) towards the Eiffle tower is very beautiful with many museums along the way ( Louve/D'Orsay, etc.) When you walk out of this hotel, you can basically go in any direction and find something of interest. You really are in the heart of Paris when you stay at the Acacias Hotel de Ville.
Diane. Ottawa, Ontario

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank Jacqulinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
D'win Hotel
D'win Hotel
#1,032 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Villa Mazarin
Hotel Villa Mazarin
#587 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Le Marais
Grand Hotel du Loiret
Grand Hotel du Loiret
#984 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#362 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
#309 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Dupond-Smith
Hotel Dupond-Smith
#296 of 1,811 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacias Hotel De Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacias Hotel De Ville

Property: Acacias Hotel De Ville
Address: 20 rue du Temple | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,691 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acacias Hotel De Ville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Acacias Hotel De Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacias Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing