We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Mayfair Paris
Ranked #450 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cosy hotel with friendly staff”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel is wonderful, if you are looking for a nice, reasonably priced stay in central Paris. My room was quite small single room, since I was staying there by myself. The small room offered me everything I needed during my stay, though. The separate shower was positive surprise since quite often in European hotels there are those awful shower+bath combinations.

The staff at this hotel is extremely friendly and attentive. They are glad to help you with restaurant reservations etc. The only con about this hotel is that the walls are extremely thin!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna88P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedouaneYAHIAOUI, Operations Manager at Hotel Mayfair Paris, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting the Hotel Mayfair Paris and for taking time to write these nice words.

It is a pleasure to read that you are fully satisfied with your stay, satisfied with your room and satisfied with the staff and the service of the Hotel Mayfair Paris.

The essence and the reward of our Boutique hotel is to obtain guest satisfaction, loyalty and trust.

You are obviously a Senior Reviewer on Trip Advisor and this makes your review and comments even more accurate, important and encouraging for us.

Thank you so much for your confidence and we are all looking forward welcoming you back to Paris!

Kind regards,
Redouane.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    197
    70
    15
    25
See reviews for
151
232
59
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A real gem this place. Close to the Rue de Rivoli in a historic building with excellent staff. Our room was perfect and given that the hotel has obviously seen better days it didn't lack in any way.

If you like "quirky" then this was provided by the sole lift which certainly was showing it's age and if there was room for improvement then this would be it - but I am sure some people would view it as quaint. It is also the first time in ages that I have had a room with a physical key rather thean a key card - a sign of it's age / timelessness (depending on your view).

In summary both the hotel and the staff have character and given it's location made for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel for free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKPlum_Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedouaneYAHIAOUI, Operations Manager at Hotel Mayfair Paris, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for selecting the Hotel Mayfair Paris and for taking time to write a few words.

It is a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with your stay and that you recommend the Mayfair as you have granted it 4 star in your review.

We would like to bring you an information on the physical keys:

All our rooms were renovated between 2008 and 2012.

That was an opportunity to have magnetic keys. At the opposite, we have chosen to keep the physical keys. Why? Simply because the essence of a Boutique Hotel is to build a relation with the guests.

With electronic badges, guests check-in and check-out and never meet the Front Office staff.
With physical keys, they leave them in the morning at the desk and when they get back in the evening, after a business day or a hectic visit of Paris, they take them back from the Front Office.

Which means, our staff and our guests meet and talk a minimum of two times a day, which is the best way to build a human and guest relation just by talking and exchanging news, ideas or information. It is also an opportunity for the staff to service the guests.

Finally, in 2012, having physical keys was one of the ten key points Conde Naste Traveller ranked as a “must have” for real Boutique Hotels.

This makes your review and comments even more accurate and encouraging for us, as your are an experienced reviewer on Trip Advisor.

We thank you and we are all looking forward welcoming you back to Paris!

Kind regards,
Redouane.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked for 2 nights at the Mayfair Hotel for the weekend of the final stage of the Tour De France. We booked 7 weeks ahead and booked through Expedia. When we arrived at the hotel we were told there was a problem - they did not have a room for us but had found another hotel. When we asked why there was no room when we had paid in full 7 weeks earlier there was a no straight answer, eventually one of the receptionists said the one of their guests had not checked out and after I queried this they then said that the guest was unwell. We were eventually walked to the other hotel by their front of house who proceeded to say that that do not usually double book!! It was pretty obvious that we were been lied to! There was no real apology and we were offered breakfast at the Mayfair as compensation - great get up walk to another hotel breakfast. The hotel looked very nice but I suspect they had someone there who was paying a higher rate than us and were therefore sent to another hotel that we had no choice but to accept. I would not advise booking with this hotel we were treated with no respect at all and they did not care whether were were happy with the alternative offered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJD1965186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedouaneYAHIAOUI, Operations Manager at Hotel Mayfair Paris, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept the Staff’s and Management’s apologies.

Indeed, the hotel had to relocate you. In this unfortunate case, the policy is to relocate the guest in a similar 4 star Boutique hotel in the same area. Which was the case. Please also note that there was additional compensation with breakfast being offered for the whole stay.

Indeed, majority of hotels overbook sometimes, like airways companies. For economical reasons and also due to the fact that nowadays guests have a 24 hours cancellation notice prior to arrival and sometimes do not show-up. So, if a hotel, which is a business, has to maximise its revenue, the overbooking situations happen and of course are very regrettable for both parties and in particular for the guests.

Sometimes is a general term, but be sure that in this property, it happens very rarely.
And if it occurs, the process is not to wait for the guest check-in to inform him of the relocation. There is a very strict process : the guest is informed a minimum one week in advance and is given all information about the relocation (new hotel access information, website, category, location, classification, …); the guest is also given the choice to go directly to the new hotel or to get here and be accompanied by the staff. And; as in your case, an additional compensation is given.

In your unfortunate case, the hotel could not inform you as this issue occurred the same day.
Yes a guest was ill, and his illness did not permit him to leave the hotel. So the staff had first to find him a Doctor who came to the hotel and decided with him that he should stay two days more before going back overseas, as a long trip back home was not recommended at all in his situation.

As a Manager, it is also important to clarify one point : there are no liars here as you write it in your review, this term is not acceptable and no Manager can accept this about his team.

Finally the relocation was done in accordance with the 4 star hotel policy and compensations have been given to you.

Dear Sir, the hotel’s Staff and Management are very sorry for the inconvenience caused to you and hope you had a nice stay in Paris in the 4 star nice boutique hotel selected for you.

Kind regards,
Redouane.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

As a regular user of TripAdvisor I sometimes find it hard to reconcile different visitor comments about a hotel and the Mayfair is no exception. My wife and I looked at the comments, the rages and the raves, both before we booked and with the benefit of hindsight. In retrospect, while I cannot comment on individual experiences with service or beds etc., it seemed to us that most of the comments we read are accurate enough. Nonetheless, our bottom line with hotels is to ask if would be happy to stay there again and in the case of the Mayfair the answer is yes, warts and all.

I have stayed in several hundred hotels in Europe and the USA over the past 40 years, hotels ranging from one star to five. In my view the Mayfair is an upmarket three star rather than a four star hotel. A couple of weeks beforehand I stayed in a three star in Como (the Plinius) which was nothing like as classy, but was just as clean and comfortable and with a much better breakfast, for about half the price. But let’s be realistic, what you are paying for in the Mayfair is location. Yes, at €15, the continental breakfast is very bad value for what you get, but on our first couple of days we tried a number of local cafes/bars and found that they were just as expensive for similar fare. In contrast, a few days later we ate an excellent three course lunch in the suburb of St. Denis for €13.50 each. A cup of coffee in central Paris costs €5-€6. The same coffee in St Denis costs €1.80. In Amiens it cost us €2.10. When it comes to food and drink, you simply do not get value for money in the first arrondissement.

Yes, you walk out of the hotel to confront the garbage cans at the rear of the Westin. Similar to comments in several other reports, the room we were in was dowdy and had a stunning view of a peeling inner courtyard wall. The bed, on the other hand, was extremely comfortable (and exceptionally large). The bathroom was fine and generous in size. Our only serious complaint about the room was the reading lights which were useless. Why do hotels not realise that guests like to be able to read in bed without incurring acute eyestrain? This is one of the reasons that I feel three stars is about right. A four star should have decent reading lights. On the positive side, the staff were all friendly and helpful and one of the lifts was quite an amusing experience if you had the patience to use it.

The €10 daily charge for Internet access is ludicrous in this day and age, especially when there is now free WiFi available in many public locations. There seems to be a general rule that the less expensive the hotel, the more likely the WiFi is free. Go figure. It encouraged us to spend 10 Internet and e-mail free days and this proved to be a surprisingly liberating experience.

Hotels like the Mayfair are bases. You do not go to them for the “experience” in the same way you might do for a hotel by a beach in Hawaii or overlooking the lakes of Killarney. The Mayfair is clean, comfortable and friendly, but it is not a four star as I would define one.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room at least. Front of hotel could be noisy. Back is very quiet if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedouaneYAHIAOUI, Operations Manager. at Hotel Mayfair Paris, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting the Hotel Mayfair Paris and for taking time to write this review.

Your review is complete but also with some very subjective comparisons between cities and Paris areas that make our answer delicate.

For Tripadvisor readers who did not browse all reviews and management answers, please note that all breakfast content and details can be downloaded with the hotel Service Directory available on the official web site of the hotel.

Please also note that to make sure all our guests book the correct room category, with an expected size, view, …, we have made available for download the Hotel Information Sheet (PDF file) on the hotel’s official web site. Page 4 of this PDF file gives precise information on rooms sizes, beds sizes, number of possible guests per room, connecting possibilities (…).

Dear guest, you gave a 4/5 note to your experience at the hotel, it is exactly the hotel ranking in French classification 4 star (on a scale of 5 maximum).

Thank you also for recommending the hotel for repeaters as we confirm to you that lots of our guests are indeed repeaters.

Kind regards,
Redouane.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

First, let me say this is a true review. This hotel seems to get reviews all the way from the best to the worst. As a seasoned traveler, this is an honest assessment. First and foremost, the hotel's location can't be beat. Close to the museums, shopping, nightlife, excellent restaurants, etc. Second, some reviews would have you believe the staff were less than professional and/or kind. In our case, farthest from the truth. Everyone was extremely helpful - restaurant selections, taxis, Metro instructions, banks - you name it they were on top of it with excellent guidance. Interestingly, staff new us by name, room number, and after one day knew we wanted ice in the room when we returned.

A couple of downsides. This hotel is a tired lady. A bit threadbare in places and not as clean as we would have hoped. While we had an excellent, and large room - junior suite (26) - if you wanted a view this was not the room. Our room looked over a postage stamp inner courtyard and two walls that had large swabs of paint peeling off of the walls. Not an appealing view, but then again, by the time we got back to the room who carried. The lobby, while small, was very inviting as was the bar area. Both well appointed.

A couple of side notes. Don't even consider the restaurant to the right of the hotel entrance as you go out. Terrible, expensive and not worth the effort. There are too many other close-by bistros to consider. Also, think twice about breakfast at the hotel (I think catered by the restaurant next door). Again, there are too many other options to consider. Need to do laundry? Think twice. Eighty-five euros for a shirt, pair of pants, one pajamas, and about three pair of socks and underwear. Not worth the cost, for sure.

The gold standard question. Would we recommend this hotel? Yes. But, only if location is a strong consideration. Hotels next door were twice the price and I bet half the overall value. Would I stay here again? Probably not, because I would want to shift my location to experience more of Paris. If this was the first time in Paris I would say yes - try it, but get a junior suite. A honeymoon hotel? No - too many other considerations to include some options on the left bank

All n' all a very pleasant experience, a great location, very nice staff, and okay rooms.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedouaneYAHIAOUI, Operations Manager at Hotel Mayfair Paris, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting the Hotel Mayfair Paris and for taking time to write this review.

It is a pleasure to read that your comments about the hotel are positive as you grant 4/5.

Thank you also for your nice compliments and feedback about the staff professionalism that you obviously noticed and appreciated.

As for the Junior Suite you stayed in and enjoyed, please note that it was completely renovated in 2010 and that the hotel offers 6 other Junior Suites with different classic decoration, fabrics, patterns and colours.

We advise guests who desire a view on the street, to mention it upon reservation.
Majority of Junior Suites have a view on the calm and quiet courtyards.

To make sure all our guests book the correct room category, with an expected size, view, …, we have made available for download the Hotel Information Sheet (PDF file) on the hotel’s official web site. Page 4 of this PDF file gives precise information on rooms sizes, beds sizes, number of possible guests per room, connecting possibilities (…).

The walls on the courtyards mentioned in the review are not the hotel property and cannot therefore be maintained by the hotel because of a complex French regulation.

A small correction must be given about breakfast: breakfast is prepared in-house by the hotel and contains only fresh products. Pastries (100% butter) are cooked in the morning, orange juice and fruit salad are both prepared in-house each morning, hot dishes like omelette, eggs, scrambled eggs (…) are included in the buffet but cooked on request and brought hot to guests. All breakfast content and details can be downloaded with the hotel Service Directory available on the official web site of the hotel.

Dear guest, thank you for your time and your comments that help the staff and management strengthen service provided to guests.

Kind regards,
Redouane.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This small, intimate hotel is superbly located for the sights, even if its front entrance is across a narrow street from the service entrance of a much grander establishment - dustbins and street noise. Very much a tourist not a business hotel, with sleepy but friendly service and face recognition quickly achieved. I found it clean and my room was well equipped and ventilated (though compact as ever in such hotels in Paris). Breakfast was unexciting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedouaneYAHIAOUI, Operations Manager at Hotel Mayfair Paris, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting our hotel and for taking time to write this review.

I understand by reading your words that your stay partly met your expectations but also partly did not meet them, and I am very concerned by the second point.

Thanks to the fact that you left your first name and city on Trip Advisor, I was able to find in our internal system the room number you stayed in. Please note that it was a Classic Room which size is 18 square meters. This size is within the Parisian average.

If you decide to stay again with us (which would be the opportunity for us to make you change your mind on the hotel’s quality, with a better service provided to you); it would be more appropriate, knowing your high expectations, to book a Superior, a De Luxe or a Junior Suite category.

To make sure all our guests book the correct room category, with an expected size, and have a room that meets their expectations, we have made available for download the Hotel Information Sheet (PDF file) on the hotel’s official web site. Page 4 of this PDF file gives precise information on rooms sizes, beds sizes, number of possible guests per room, connecting possibilities (…).

Please note that, Breakfast offer and content is available on another PDF file, available for download on the official hotel web site. This file is the Service Directory and contains all detail on breakfast content and rate.

Please also note that in our will to always try to please and satisfy our guests, we are currently in the process of bringing improvement to the buffet breakfast. Guests will notice new changes soon.

A final information we would like to bring here is that the hotel is a Leisure (Tourism) hotel as well as also a Business (Corporate) hotel: among other business services and equipments, the hotel has a business meeting room and Corporate travellers represent around 50% of our guests.

Dear guest thank you very much for your feedback.

We are here to assist you and make sure your remarks help us improve guest service.

Kind regards,
Redouane.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel is close to sights, shopping and restaurants but the hotel itself is just okay. The front desk staff was just okay, the breakfast was not as good as the breakfasts we had had in the other hotels in Europe where we stayed. Room was small, which is fine as we are not in the room much, but the bed wasn't very comfortable. We had a bit of a communication breakdown (we do not speak French) with a cleaning woman. She kept trying to clean our room and we asked for 15 min so we could change clothes but she kept coming in the room. It was a little annoying but that just indicates I should learn a little more French before my next trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedouaneYAHIAOUI, Operations Manager at Hotel Mayfair Paris, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting our hotel and for taking time to write this review.

I understand by reading your words that your stay did not meet your expectations and I am sorry for that. Our every day (and night) work and challenge is to satisfy and please all our guests.

If you read this Management Response, I would be grateful to you if you could write me an email (my information is below) to give me more details on what did not meet your expectations, as the expression “just okay” you have used many times on your review do not give precise information to understand what was missing; or not at the expected level.

Thanks to the fact that you left your first name and city on Trip Advisor, I was able to find in our internal system the room number you stayed in. Please note that it was a Superior Room which size is 25 square meters. It is higher that the Parisian average.

Dear readers, to make sure all our guests book the correct room category and have a room that meets their expectations, we have made available for download the Hotel Information Sheet (PDF file) on the hotel’s official web site. Page 4 of this PDF file gives precise information on rooms sizes, beds sizes, number of possible guests per room, connecting possibilities (…).

Dear guest, as mentioned above, please feel free to contact me and give me more details on your stay. I would be pleased to help you and assist you and make sure your remarks help us improve guest service.

Kind regards,
Redouane.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Cambon
Hotel Cambon
#381 of 1,801 in Paris
367 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Melia Vendome - Paris
Melia Vendome - Paris
#344 of 1,801 in Paris
881 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Duminy Vendome
Duminy Vendome
#389 of 1,801 in Paris
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Continent
Hotel du Continent
#89 of 1,801 in Paris
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayfair Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayfair Paris

Property: Hotel Mayfair Paris
Address: 3 Rue Rouget de Lisle, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#278 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#307 Business Hotel in Paris
#309 Family Hotel in Paris
#387 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mayfair Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the fashion & business area of Paris; within walking distance of the Louvre, Place de la Concorde, Place Vendôme, Opéra and the Champs-Élysées; the Hotel Mayfair Paris is an elegant boutique hotel offering 40 rooms, 7 junior suites and a business meeting room suitable for 12. Member of the Preferred Hotel Group selection, its decoration combines harmonious colours and luxurious fabrics that define the essence of this French style home. The Hotel Mayfair Paris is a perfect illustration of French hospitality at its very best, providing a very attentive and personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Preferred Hotels, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mayfair Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing