We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Upmarket Three Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Mayfair Paris
Ranked #417 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An Upmarket Three Star”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

As a regular user of TripAdvisor I sometimes find it hard to reconcile different visitor comments about a hotel and the Mayfair is no exception. My wife and I looked at the comments, the rages and the raves, both before we booked and with the benefit of hindsight. In retrospect, while I cannot comment on individual experiences with service or beds etc., it seemed to us that most of the comments we read are accurate enough. Nonetheless, our bottom line with hotels is to ask if would be happy to stay there again and in the case of the Mayfair the answer is yes, warts and all.

I have stayed in several hundred hotels in Europe and the USA over the past 40 years, hotels ranging from one star to five. In my view the Mayfair is an upmarket three star rather than a four star hotel. A couple of weeks beforehand I stayed in a three star in Como (the Plinius) which was nothing like as classy, but was just as clean and comfortable and with a much better breakfast, for about half the price. But let’s be realistic, what you are paying for in the Mayfair is location. Yes, at €15, the continental breakfast is very bad value for what you get, but on our first couple of days we tried a number of local cafes/bars and found that they were just as expensive for similar fare. In contrast, a few days later we ate an excellent three course lunch in the suburb of St. Denis for €13.50 each. A cup of coffee in central Paris costs €5-€6. The same coffee in St Denis costs €1.80. In Amiens it cost us €2.10. When it comes to food and drink, you simply do not get value for money in the first arrondissement.

Yes, you walk out of the hotel to confront the garbage cans at the rear of the Westin. Similar to comments in several other reports, the room we were in was dowdy and had a stunning view of a peeling inner courtyard wall. The bed, on the other hand, was extremely comfortable (and exceptionally large). The bathroom was fine and generous in size. Our only serious complaint about the room was the reading lights which were useless. Why do hotels not realise that guests like to be able to read in bed without incurring acute eyestrain? This is one of the reasons that I feel three stars is about right. A four star should have decent reading lights. On the positive side, the staff were all friendly and helpful and one of the lifts was quite an amusing experience if you had the patience to use it.

The €10 daily charge for Internet access is ludicrous in this day and age, especially when there is now free WiFi available in many public locations. There seems to be a general rule that the less expensive the hotel, the more likely the WiFi is free. Go figure. It encouraged us to spend 10 Internet and e-mail free days and this proved to be a surprisingly liberating experience.

Hotels like the Mayfair are bases. You do not go to them for the “experience” in the same way you might do for a hotel by a beach in Hawaii or overlooking the lakes of Killarney. The Mayfair is clean, comfortable and friendly, but it is not a four star as I would define one.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room at least. Front of hotel could be noisy. Back is very quiet if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedouaneYAHIAOUI, Operations Manager. at Hotel Mayfair Paris, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting the Hotel Mayfair Paris and for taking time to write this review.

Your review is complete but also with some very subjective comparisons between cities and Paris areas that make our answer delicate.

For Tripadvisor readers who did not browse all reviews and management answers, please note that all breakfast content and details can be downloaded with the hotel Service Directory available on the official web site of the hotel.

Please also note that to make sure all our guests book the correct room category, with an expected size, view, …, we have made available for download the Hotel Information Sheet (PDF file) on the hotel’s official web site. Page 4 of this PDF file gives precise information on rooms sizes, beds sizes, number of possible guests per room, connecting possibilities (…).

Dear guest, you gave a 4/5 note to your experience at the hotel, it is exactly the hotel ranking in French classification 4 star (on a scale of 5 maximum).

Thank you also for recommending the hotel for repeaters as we confirm to you that lots of our guests are indeed repeaters.

Kind regards,
Redouane.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    197
    70
    15
    25
See reviews for
151
232
59
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

First, let me say this is a true review. This hotel seems to get reviews all the way from the best to the worst. As a seasoned traveler, this is an honest assessment. First and foremost, the hotel's location can't be beat. Close to the museums, shopping, nightlife, excellent restaurants, etc. Second, some reviews would have you believe the staff were less than professional and/or kind. In our case, farthest from the truth. Everyone was extremely helpful - restaurant selections, taxis, Metro instructions, banks - you name it they were on top of it with excellent guidance. Interestingly, staff new us by name, room number, and after one day knew we wanted ice in the room when we returned.

A couple of downsides. This hotel is a tired lady. A bit threadbare in places and not as clean as we would have hoped. While we had an excellent, and large room - junior suite (26) - if you wanted a view this was not the room. Our room looked over a postage stamp inner courtyard and two walls that had large swabs of paint peeling off of the walls. Not an appealing view, but then again, by the time we got back to the room who carried. The lobby, while small, was very inviting as was the bar area. Both well appointed.

A couple of side notes. Don't even consider the restaurant to the right of the hotel entrance as you go out. Terrible, expensive and not worth the effort. There are too many other close-by bistros to consider. Also, think twice about breakfast at the hotel (I think catered by the restaurant next door). Again, there are too many other options to consider. Need to do laundry? Think twice. Eighty-five euros for a shirt, pair of pants, one pajamas, and about three pair of socks and underwear. Not worth the cost, for sure.

The gold standard question. Would we recommend this hotel? Yes. But, only if location is a strong consideration. Hotels next door were twice the price and I bet half the overall value. Would I stay here again? Probably not, because I would want to shift my location to experience more of Paris. If this was the first time in Paris I would say yes - try it, but get a junior suite. A honeymoon hotel? No - too many other considerations to include some options on the left bank

All n' all a very pleasant experience, a great location, very nice staff, and okay rooms.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedouaneYAHIAOUI, Operations Manager at Hotel Mayfair Paris, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting the Hotel Mayfair Paris and for taking time to write this review.

It is a pleasure to read that your comments about the hotel are positive as you grant 4/5.

Thank you also for your nice compliments and feedback about the staff professionalism that you obviously noticed and appreciated.

As for the Junior Suite you stayed in and enjoyed, please note that it was completely renovated in 2010 and that the hotel offers 6 other Junior Suites with different classic decoration, fabrics, patterns and colours.

We advise guests who desire a view on the street, to mention it upon reservation.
Majority of Junior Suites have a view on the calm and quiet courtyards.

To make sure all our guests book the correct room category, with an expected size, view, …, we have made available for download the Hotel Information Sheet (PDF file) on the hotel’s official web site. Page 4 of this PDF file gives precise information on rooms sizes, beds sizes, number of possible guests per room, connecting possibilities (…).

The walls on the courtyards mentioned in the review are not the hotel property and cannot therefore be maintained by the hotel because of a complex French regulation.

A small correction must be given about breakfast: breakfast is prepared in-house by the hotel and contains only fresh products. Pastries (100% butter) are cooked in the morning, orange juice and fruit salad are both prepared in-house each morning, hot dishes like omelette, eggs, scrambled eggs (…) are included in the buffet but cooked on request and brought hot to guests. All breakfast content and details can be downloaded with the hotel Service Directory available on the official web site of the hotel.

Dear guest, thank you for your time and your comments that help the staff and management strengthen service provided to guests.

Kind regards,
Redouane.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This small, intimate hotel is superbly located for the sights, even if its front entrance is across a narrow street from the service entrance of a much grander establishment - dustbins and street noise. Very much a tourist not a business hotel, with sleepy but friendly service and face recognition quickly achieved. I found it clean and my room was well equipped and ventilated (though compact as ever in such hotels in Paris). Breakfast was unexciting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedouaneYAHIAOUI, Operations Manager at Hotel Mayfair Paris, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting our hotel and for taking time to write this review.

I understand by reading your words that your stay partly met your expectations but also partly did not meet them, and I am very concerned by the second point.

Thanks to the fact that you left your first name and city on Trip Advisor, I was able to find in our internal system the room number you stayed in. Please note that it was a Classic Room which size is 18 square meters. This size is within the Parisian average.

If you decide to stay again with us (which would be the opportunity for us to make you change your mind on the hotel’s quality, with a better service provided to you); it would be more appropriate, knowing your high expectations, to book a Superior, a De Luxe or a Junior Suite category.

To make sure all our guests book the correct room category, with an expected size, and have a room that meets their expectations, we have made available for download the Hotel Information Sheet (PDF file) on the hotel’s official web site. Page 4 of this PDF file gives precise information on rooms sizes, beds sizes, number of possible guests per room, connecting possibilities (…).

Please note that, Breakfast offer and content is available on another PDF file, available for download on the official hotel web site. This file is the Service Directory and contains all detail on breakfast content and rate.

Please also note that in our will to always try to please and satisfy our guests, we are currently in the process of bringing improvement to the buffet breakfast. Guests will notice new changes soon.

A final information we would like to bring here is that the hotel is a Leisure (Tourism) hotel as well as also a Business (Corporate) hotel: among other business services and equipments, the hotel has a business meeting room and Corporate travellers represent around 50% of our guests.

Dear guest thank you very much for your feedback.

We are here to assist you and make sure your remarks help us improve guest service.

Kind regards,
Redouane.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel is close to sights, shopping and restaurants but the hotel itself is just okay. The front desk staff was just okay, the breakfast was not as good as the breakfasts we had had in the other hotels in Europe where we stayed. Room was small, which is fine as we are not in the room much, but the bed wasn't very comfortable. We had a bit of a communication breakdown (we do not speak French) with a cleaning woman. She kept trying to clean our room and we asked for 15 min so we could change clothes but she kept coming in the room. It was a little annoying but that just indicates I should learn a little more French before my next trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedouaneYAHIAOUI, Operations Manager at Hotel Mayfair Paris, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting our hotel and for taking time to write this review.

I understand by reading your words that your stay did not meet your expectations and I am sorry for that. Our every day (and night) work and challenge is to satisfy and please all our guests.

If you read this Management Response, I would be grateful to you if you could write me an email (my information is below) to give me more details on what did not meet your expectations, as the expression “just okay” you have used many times on your review do not give precise information to understand what was missing; or not at the expected level.

Thanks to the fact that you left your first name and city on Trip Advisor, I was able to find in our internal system the room number you stayed in. Please note that it was a Superior Room which size is 25 square meters. It is higher that the Parisian average.

Dear readers, to make sure all our guests book the correct room category and have a room that meets their expectations, we have made available for download the Hotel Information Sheet (PDF file) on the hotel’s official web site. Page 4 of this PDF file gives precise information on rooms sizes, beds sizes, number of possible guests per room, connecting possibilities (…).

Dear guest, as mentioned above, please feel free to contact me and give me more details on your stay. I would be pleased to help you and assist you and make sure your remarks help us improve guest service.

Kind regards,
Redouane.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. The rooms are attractive. Unfortunately, it was so hot!! The air conditioning is non-existent. When we asked for a fan, a little man behind the desk shook his fist at us. We paid over 6000 bucks to stay here-- had two rooms. Room service was poor-- both the quality of the food and the service. The Internet worked fine in our room but was very spotty in our kids' room, one floor beneath us. They never gave us clean glasses and acted surprised that we would want clean glasses! Not particularly clean in general. All in all cannot recommend and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedouaneYAHIAOUI, Operations Manager at Hotel Mayfair Paris, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting our hotel and for taking time to write this review.

It is with great regret that we read your stay did not meet your expectations.

I am surprised by the fact that you wrote your review in June 2013, while you specify your stay was in August 2012.

Therefore, I unfortunately won’t be able to investigate all of your very interesting remarks almost one year after your stay. But I can give some information below about mentioned subjects.

Please be sure that air conditioning is working properly and is compliant with the new European and French regulations. The hotel has changed its Air Conditioning System and Engines 2 years ago.

Room Service, provided since 2007 by our partner the next-by “Restaurant L’Impérial”, is usually recommended by our guests. We still collaborate with this partner in particular based on the fact that this restaurant manages to maintain service and quality level year after year using fresh products and preparing very appreciated French food.

As for the hotel cleanliness mentioned in the review, of course, the hotel is not safe from one incident, but considering a 4.5/5 note on Trip Advisor based on 361 reviews, it is reasonable to say that the continuous efforts of the Housekeeping team in this area are rewarded and recognized by guests. Cleanliness is a non stop labour and challenge and we thank you for your remark on that subject.

Even almost one year later, thank you so much for helping us improve our guest service.

If you wish any other information, please feel free to contact me. I would be pleased to help you and assist you.

Kind regards,
Redouane.
Operations Manager.
Email : yredouane@hotelmayfairparis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Spent nine nights at the Mayfair in a "superior" room on the second floor. Location is excellent allowing us to walk to many sites. Room was relatively large compared to many we have had in Europe, and the bath was large, clean and complete. Bed was large and very comfortable and closet space was adequate. The room was in a quiet area of the floor, no street noise. Breakfast was really a delight. Eggs as you like them served individually to each of us under domed covers; lots of breads, cheeses, fruits, juices and several meats. Table cloths were fresh and the service was excellent, thank you Louise. We hope to return before too long. One small complaint: 10 euro/day for wifi---not accustomed to that in the USA. There were no hidden charges or surprises upon checkout. A charming small hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedouaneYAHIAOUI, Operations Manager at Hotel Mayfair Paris, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Charles H.,

Thank you so much for selecting our hotel and for taking time to write this review.

It is such a pleasure to read that you have spent nine nights with us and that you were fully satisfied with our hotel, our staff and our services during this long stay.

In nine nights you have surely experienced a lot of the Mayfair’s identity and ambiance; discovered and used majority of our services and met almost all our staff!

This makes your review even more accurate, important and encouraging for us.

I have transmitted your nice words to Louise that you mention in your review, she is delighted and sends you both her regards.

Just a small word about Internet access. Indeed, it is charged 10 Euros a day and we understand that in some countries, it is free of charge. But please note that Internet access is free of charge for guests who book the hotel in direct, by phone, email or through our Official Web Site.

Dear Charles H., please also note that for your next stay, no matter the way you make your reservation, Internet Access will be free of charge for you.

The satisfaction of all our guests is very important to us and we are proud that we have achieved this goal during your stay.

“Merci Beaucoup” for your review.

We are looking forward welcoming you back to Paris!

Kind regards,
Redouane.
Operations Manager.
Email : yredouane@hotelmayfairparis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My family had several rooms at the Hotel Mayfair in Paris: one was OK, one was so-so, and one was unacceptable. Two of the rooms did not have air conditioning available for two of the four nights. If you have a room in the front you will get moderate strret noise which is a problem in the early morning. The mattresses in all the rooms sagged from moderate to severe, and one was covered in a plastic pad. There are no amenities other than shampoo and soap. No bedside light to read by. Housekeeping is spotty: baseboards were filthy and lots of chipped paint everywhere. One gets the sense that hotel management has checked out. Wi-fi worked well and location is great. Breakfast is ridiculously expensive. Difficult to understand why the Mayfair is rated 4 stars. Seems more like 3 to me. Botttom line: you may be satisfied with your room, but I doubt it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedouaneYAHIAOUI, Operations Manager at Hotel Mayfair Paris, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting our hotel and for taking time to write this review.

It is with great regret that we read your stay did not meet your expectations.

Your Trip Advisor Senior Profile indicates your great experience and also your high level of expectations, as majority of all reviews you have written on Trip Advisor give a poor average to hotels and restaurants you have experienced.

As for the very interesting and useful remarks of the current review, I would like to kindly bring some important information below:

Please note that the hotel is indeed located in the heart of Paris, which makes it even more attractive. Therefore, the street, as the city, can sometimes be busy. This is the reason why all rooms are equipped with double glazed windows.

Concerning rooms’ amenities, here is what is available in the rooms: soap, shampoo, shower gel, body lotion and of course cotton and shower cap. Additional and other amenities are available on request at the Front Desk or Housekeeping, with no charge, such as toothbrush and comb for example.

Please be sure that all rooms have two bedside lamps on each side of the bed.
This is visible on all available guests’ and professionals’ photos.

A small information about breakfast :
Continental Breakfast is 15 Euros and Hot Buffet Breakfast is 25 Euros.
This is in the Parisian average rate range.

For all guests and readers, two PDF files are available on the hotel’s official web site:
the Service Directory and the Hotel’s Information Sheet.
These two files give precise information on the hotel, its services, equipments, rooms’ sizes, breakfast content and rates, (…).
We kindly invite readers to go and browse our website and of course download these two files for a complete and precise information.

Dear guest, we take note of the photo you have posted. This is one of the room’s door corner where our staff and also our guests regularly rub the luggage when passing by. Therefore, it is for us a continuous effort to maintain them, and we will definitely work on this one and check the remaining.

We thank you very much for your remark on Housekeeping which indicates that our team was not optimal during your stay. I will inform and brief the Housekeeping personally to make sure they always pay attention to every detail when cleaning and preparing rooms for our guests.

Thank you for helping us improve our guest service. I wish I could contact you, but you did not leave any information on Trip Advisor that could help us identify you and find your information in our internal system. If you desire any other information, please feel comfortable to contact me. I would be pleased to help you and assist you.

Kind regards,
Redouane.
Operations Manager.
Email : yredouane@hotelmayfairparis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Cambon
Hotel Cambon
#364 of 1,801 in Paris
366 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Melia Vendome - Paris
Melia Vendome - Paris
#345 of 1,801 in Paris
880 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Duminy Vendome
Duminy Vendome
#404 of 1,801 in Paris
477 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Continent
Hotel du Continent
#91 of 1,801 in Paris
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayfair Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayfair Paris

Property: Hotel Mayfair Paris
Address: 3 Rue Rouget de Lisle, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#262 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#307 Business Hotel in Paris
#309 Family Hotel in Paris
#387 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mayfair Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the fashion & business area of Paris; within walking distance of the Louvre, Place de la Concorde, Place Vendôme, Opéra and the Champs-Élysées; the Hotel Mayfair Paris is an elegant boutique hotel offering 40 rooms, 7 junior suites and a business meeting room suitable for 12. Member of the Preferred Hotel Group selection, its decoration combines harmonious colours and luxurious fabrics that define the essence of this French style home. The Hotel Mayfair Paris is a perfect illustration of French hospitality at its very best, providing a very attentive and personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mayfair Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing