We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Raspail Montparnasse Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveler rating
73
128
34
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
128
34
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvavin metrocigarette smelleiffel towercorner roomrestaurant suggestionsbreakfast roomluxembourg gardensjust round the cornerclose to the hotelbreakfast is servedspecial thanksvery nice hotelcleaning staffbusiness tripminute walkjunior suitenice breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 251 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This was our second visit to this small and welcoming hotel. Typically Parisien rooms but well looked after, clean and comfortable. The hotel is in the bustling Montparnasse area with more restaurants to choose from than you could wish for. Something for everyone here. Metro stop Vavin just accross the street means easy access to all the attractions. Free wifi is a plus and the front desk staff are always freindly and helpful. We chose not to have breakfast in the basement which is a little lacking in ambience, but instead sat in one of the many streetside cafes and watched Paris life pass by.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a superior room for more space.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winchgrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I love this hotel. when i first saw it (before entering) i was a bit worried because it's not the type of hotel i'm used to seeing. the building is old and it looked small from the outside. when i entered, i was even more worried. the reception area reminds of tiny inns from the 1920's we see on tv. when i checked in to my single room, i was shocked by the size, it's soooo small. BUT, after i settled, i realized that actually, despite its size, it was very convenient, enough closet space, good sized bathroom, flat screen TV, free wifi, and most importantly spotlessly clean.

it's the first time that i travel to paris and i guess such small hotel rooms are normal. i actually enjoyed my stay very much. the location of the hotel is fabulous, just accross the street from vavin metro station, and a 7 minute walk from montparnasse station (which is the main station). there are plenty of cafes and restaurants around it and u can find anything you want. there's also a supermarket very close by.

the only thing that i wasent very much pleased with is the breakfast. they only have croissants and jam, this is somthing im not used to as i like to have a full breakfact with eggs and cheese. but if you want to add eggs or chees to your breakfast, you have to pay, and it's not cheap! they should really make an extra effort with their breakfast menu.

as for the value for money, well from what i've heard and seen is that all hotels are very expensive in paris, so 105 EUR/night is not considered a lot (though for me, i think it's kind of overpriced). so compared to the prices of other hotels, i guess it has good value for money.

i would stay in it again, it's very comfortable and its location is amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmiraAwad80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We chose this specifically because it describes itself as an art-deco hotel and I had promised my wife a trip to La Coupole, which is just round the corner. While, for me, La Coupole is an "eat here once and them move on" sort of place, our hotel is a "stay here at least twice" sort of hotel.

In fact, having stayed for two nights at the end of December, we rebooked for a return trip for the end of January. It's a cosy little hotel, which is more like a home than a hotel. Sure we had a laugh trying to squeeze both of us into one lift but once we'd opened the door to our Junior Suite (Room 28) there was plenty of space to relax and unwind.

Our receptionist was fantastique and helpful and although we had arrived a little early, our room was ready within ten minutes. The room was not quite as art-deco as the web-site would have you believe though there were some nice touches. My wife was happy, great shower/mini bath and we didn't trip over our suitcases once! I felt that our room looked a bit tired considering the hotel had a make-over only five years or so ago though this could also have been exacerbated by the overwhelming mission brown furnishing the room. Also the old heaters are stil in place with notices saying they no longer worked. Why you wouldn't remove them is beyond me; they're an eye-sore and certainly detract from the aesthetics of the room.

As some of the other reviews have mentioned, the location is excellent and the Vavin metro means you don't have to go anywhere near Gare Montparnasse. The other advantage is that the airport bus from CDG whisks you from the airport and then drops you off just round the corner at its terminus, so the hotel is just six or seven minutes walk. Easy peasey. In fact everything was so easy, that we decided in the end to book on our return to Paris from Lyon.

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the Junior Suites if you can, just to give you a bit more breathing space.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank L0bbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Excellent small hotel perfectly located far enough away from the rest of the tourists to let you pretend that you're a Parisian, but close enough to walk to major attractions. The staff is welcoming and helpful. The area is full of excellent bistros, cafes, and patisseries. People watching in a street cafe along Montparnasse Boulevard with a Ricard or wine was a great way to relax in the late afternoon. The close-by Montparnasse Cemetary was an unusual way to spend 3 hours but it was fascinating and we've recommended it as a worthwhile "attraction" to friends - just like we recommend this hotel. Those that have tried it, love it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Raspail street with a window that opens.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Arrived late! From a long drive through the Alps
The management stored some precious cargo in the hotel safe!

The Raspail is very centrally located
A few steps from the Metro
And Restaurant abundant !

La coupole restaurant one of our favourites within walking distance.

Well appointed & well decorated rooms.

Good service across the board.

Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandydanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews