We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“December 2013” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crystal Hotel
Ranked #1,131 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“December 2013”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

The location was superb , you could hardly be in a better position , easy walking to the River, the Museums and the beautiful shops of the Boulevard St Germain, and two Metro stations within minutes also . All the staff we encountered were very helpful and the room was spotless, but not very well lit , which at this time of year was something of an issue !! We didn't eat breakfast in the Hotel as we like to breakfast in cafés ,so I can't comment on that . Overall it was moderately expensive, but given the location that is to be expected .

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lower floors. We were on the fifth floor and it was a bit cramped and rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROWE698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    142
    45
    27
    17
See reviews for
52
121
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

The staff was extremely helpful and our room was very good. This was our first visit to France, but compared to London hotel rooms, the room was quite spacious...and who spends time in the room in Paris anyway??? The location is perfect and we often walked to where we were going. There are also two Metro stations close by. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We face the street on the second floor (US third) and it was quite quiet. The trash collectors came...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J&JHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Service could definitely be improved - non- working wifi and being waked up at 8 by hotel personnel is definitely not that funny ;)! The room was spacious enough and clean. Great location as advertised.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kroketka007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel is nice and central, 5 minutes walk from the St. Germain des Pres metro station. The room was quite small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast is quite expensive (15€) but I did not test it, so I can’t compare it to that you can find in the bars nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcorovinello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. Saint Germain is a nice neighborhood to walk around in, shop (if you want to pay €500 for a sweater) or eat (often main course >€25).

But the hotel is below average, especially for what you pay for. The curtains could not fully open, the mirror was never hanged to the wall but just stood on the floor, there was no desk but some weird arrangement of tables/minibar and chairs and the shower head could not be hanged to the wall because the hook was broken. When I told the front desk about the hook, the guy wrote something down, but that was just to get rid of me! He was never going to have a look at it!! This hotel obviously suffers from procrastination issues since they get people anyway because of their great location. Please go to another hotel, so that they learn to be more friendly to their paying customers!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystal75006, Responsable relations clients at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Madam,

We would like to sincerely apologize to you for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay at the hotel.

Your room was a renovated the last year, we can understand if you don’t like our arrangement but every thing is new.

About the hook, it was broken and we are sorry for that, the technician came to fix it but after your departure.

We will be more than happy to welcome you again in the future.


Sincerely,

The team of The Crystal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our stay at Crystal Hotel was extremely mixed, and I can't say I would recommend it to a friend.

On the Pro side:
- Claire at the front desk is wonderful! Very helpful, knowledgeable, kind and efficient. Lot's of great suggestions and advice.
- Fantastic location in St. Germain and near metro -- can't ask for more!

On the Con side:
- Bathroom was almost unuseable... extremely small shower with no door left water all over the floors of the bathroom. Minimal space to put anything on the bathroom counters meant things falling into the toilet several times.
- Room is small, but as is quite common
- Room was extremely dark: it was hard to get enough lighting in the evenings/mornings to even get dressed. Looking for a black iPhone took 20 minutes because everything from the carpets to bedspreads blended together in darkness in the very dim light
- Room felt borderline dirty... simply not fresh and clean
- Extremely negative interaction with owner/manager of the hotel: a very sharp metal edge near the shower sliced open my heel, and when my friend went downstairs simply to ask for bandages, the owner/manager argued with her about how it was impossible that I had hurt myself because nothing in that room had changed for years. This frustrated my friend, who was simply trying to address the medical issue. After I was able to stop the bleeding, we had the owner/manager come to the room to see the sharp edge, and only at that time did she apologize and agree that the safety guard that should have covered that edge must have come off. I understand that accidents happen (though walking through Paris with an open wound on my foot was very frustrating for the rest of the trip), but the way the situation was handled was inappropriate and unprofessional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank montanaphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystal75006, Responsable réception at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Crystal Hotel.

Your comments regarding our service are very important to us.

After your refusal to see a doctor, the manager, concerned, went to your room to inquire about the situation.

We apologise if you saw it as a refusal to believe you.

As a token of our good faith, and a gesture of our desire to make amends, we compensated you with the amount of 15 euro to get to the restaurant where you had a reservation.

We hope you accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience, and we will be more than happy to welcome you again in the future.


Sincerely.

The Crystal Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

very friendly staff, great central location. recommended. could do with shower holder on wall but thats the only negative i can think of, breakfast is value compared with outside options as brasseries charge for every cup of tea/coffee which is not the case in the hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystal75006, Responsable relations publiques at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Sir,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Crystal Hotel.

Your comment is a great achievement and we thank you.

Hoping to see you soon, I wish you a good continuation.

Please accept, Sir, the assurances of my highest regards.


The team of The Crystal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#659 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Academie
Hotel de l'Academie
#290 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Marronniers
Hotel des Marronniers
#747 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel La Perle
Hotel La Perle
#138 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#671 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Property: Crystal Hotel
Address: 24 rue Saint Benoit | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#512 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Crystal, in the Saint Germain's historic district, in the center of Paris. Our hotel is since the 1950s a meeting place for the artists, the writers or Nobel prize. In the reception, recently renovated, spacious and bright, our welcoming staff will do everything to make of your stay in Paris an unforgettable moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing