We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel, best location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crystal Hotel
Ranked #1,132 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, best location”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Best location in Paris, very nice people, good rooms. Sometimes they have promotions on their websites. If you can get one it could be very cheap for the quality. It's located in St. Germain des Prés, right behind the famous Café de Flore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    142
    45
    27
    17
See reviews for
53
121
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I thought the location for this hotel was perfect! We were walking distance to most everything and literally next door to the famous cafe de Flores. Our superior double, room 9, was very spacious by Paris standards and had all amenities we wanted. The shower was a bit tricky. The best part of the hotel, however, was Bruno who went out of his way to make our stay a pleasure. He provided directions, restaurant recommendations and taxi reservations as needed. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in a twin bed on the 3rd floor. This hotel has an excellent location in the St. Germain area in the centre of Paris. It is a few steps (less than 5 min walk) to the Metro, RER, a major grocery store (great takeaway food) as well as many shops and restaurants for all price ranges. It is also walking distance to most of the major Paris sites. It's a location that's hard to beat... but it does come at a cost.

Like many small Paris hotels, you get to your room by either a tiny elevator (max 2 people) or many flights of stairs. Our twin room was quite small - even for Paris. Previously, we always stayed in a 2 star hotel a few blocks away for less, but it was booked. This hotel had a slightly better location, but felt more 2 star than 3 - even for Paris. The beds were extremely firm. The room was quite dark - and appeared clean, but did have a slight musty smell. The bathroom was very tiny with a shower that required squeezing between a narrow gap beside the sink to get into. We're not large people (around 150lbs), and found it a tight squeeze. Someone larger (> 180lbs?) would not be able to get into this shower without some lubricant... or perhaps not at all. No coffee/tea in room - but it did have a small mini-bar fridge. The hotel did have free internet - available with a code at checkin.

The staff were friendly both on checkin and checkout, and could not be faulted. The hotel (or a neighbouring building) appears to be undergoing some renovations at the moment, which made it very difficult to get a nap in the afternoon due to a lot of hammering. You may want to inquire about this if you care about noise during the day.

Overall, for the location, this is pretty good place to stay. Though for the price paid, I have to admit, we expected slightly better rooms. I would only stay here again for a lower (2 star level) room rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had an excellent stay in the Crystal Hotel. Initially a little nervous because of reviews of noise, but these were massively overblown. The hotel is on a side street of the bustling St. Germain des Pres area, but most of the noise is around the corner and the double-glazed windows kept our 4th floor, street facing window quiet when we needed it.
Location is awesome. Step out of the door and you have the cool street action of St Germain & the latin quarter to the east, St Sulpice & Luxemborg to the south, Louve & river to the north all within very easy walking distance. Metro station is a couple of minutes from the front door.
Staff were awesome. Like many visitors with an early-morning trans-atlantic arrival, early checkin is always a a lottery. The previous guests had not left yet, but they made us comfortable, provided the restroom for a quick freshen-up and took care of luggage storage.
It is a city hotel, so set room size expectations accordingly, and expect some late night street noise - you're in the middle of Paris! Stay here and enjoy a great city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
149 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I spent 3 nights there , midle of August this year . You can not find better location in St Germain des Près , if you want to enjoy the area without the noise , 1 step of Café de Flore , Deux Magots , St Germain des Près Church , shops , galleries , restaurants ... The staff was very nice and friendly , and even if my bed room was very small ( single room ) , everything was there , including wifi .They even gave me the use of a laptop computer in the lobby for free . Excellent value , i recommand it !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatachaBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Based on other reviews on tripadvisor and it's location in the heart of Saint-Germain - and the reasonable price- we decided to stay at the Crystal Hotel. We were not disappointed! Yes the rooms are small but no smaller than I have stayed in within Paris or New York. The room was comfortable and clean. With a window facing the inner courtyard is was remarkably quiet. The air conditioning worked well given that it was relatively warm outside. The bathroom was clearly renovated and updated to be quite modern relative to the room itself. For a reasonably sized person like myself (5'11 - 185), the shower was tight but adequate - don't drop the soap and expect to pick it up with the door closed. The bed had a firm but comfortable mattress (for me). The staff were incredibly helpful in all regards and very willing to give suggestions for places to eat or shop or relax. Our baggage was "lost" for 3 days and they were helpful in trying to find ways to retrieve it. Bruno was particularly friendly and helpful. It is easy to find and in an ideal location for wandering around Saint-Germain and the Left Back - and the Montparnese train station. They have a continental breakfast but it seemed a bit expensive for what they provided so we found local cafe's that were open early that served breakfast within a few blocks. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Very lovely hotel in a perfect location next to the Cafe de Flore in the heart of Saint-Germain. Service was friendly, my room was small but sufficient and clean, perfect for 2 nights in Paris when I was mostly out. Only point was that it is impossible to shower without flooding the bathroom, which was moderne and clean.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayhec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#647 of 1,798 in Paris
130 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#1,316 of 1,798 in Paris
3 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Academie
Hotel de l'Academie
#404 of 1,798 in Paris
169 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#735 of 1,798 in Paris
308 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Marronniers
Hotel des Marronniers
#737 of 1,798 in Paris
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Property: Crystal Hotel
Address: 24 rue Saint Benoit | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#512 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Crystal, in the Saint Germain's historic district, in the center of Paris. Our hotel is since the 1950s a meeting place for the artists, the writers or Nobel prize. In the reception, recently renovated, spacious and bright, our welcoming staff will do everything to make of your stay in Paris an unforgettable moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing