We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Plaza Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaza Opera Hotel
Ranked #689 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Charming hotel. Clean. Friendly Staff. Nice and simple morning buffet. A few times they went over and beyond to call around to get great prices on services I needed. Wifi service was nice... not like other places I have been where it keeps logging off every few minutes. Flower shop at the corner has very pretty fresh cut flowers and the pizza place a few doors down has some great dishes to try.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 359vincel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Plaza Opera Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 365 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at Plaza Opera Hotel during the first week of October 2013 for 3 nights. The location is ideal for tourists visiting Paris since it's close to the Metro and bus stop. Our room and bathroom was clean and beds comfortable. The room was cleaned daily. We looked forward to our breakfast which included an individual bread and pastry basket for each table. The main table in the dining room had a choice of cheeses, bread, preserves, butter/margarine, yogurt, cereal, fruit salad, boiled eggs, tea, coffee and juice. The lady working in the dining room was efficient and made it a point to seat guests at clean tables with clean table mats.
The receptionist at the time of our checkout on October 8th was very helpful. We were extremely happy with the service and will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwynette n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Always a welcoming and friendly environment. The hotel service is second to none for the very reasonable prices. Rooms have all the amenities for and enjoyable stay in Paris . Ideally situated for Metro from Eurostar's Gare du Nord station. Typical French breakfast with fresh rolls and croissants with a staff for whom nothing is too much of a problem. If you wanted to go anywhere in Paris ask the reception staff who always took the time not only to give clear and concise directions but also drew the routes and highlighted the areas of intersts on the free supply of maps which are always available .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartCongleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent ages looking through hotels on trip advisor and came to the conclusion that if you want a 4+ star hotel in Paris it will be expensive. So we settled on the hotel opera plaza and stayed there for 4 nights.

Overall, the hotel was ok. The location was a little away from some of the attractions (Eiffel tower, louvre etc) but there was a metro station 5 min down the road so catching the metro was easy enough to get around. The hotel is also about 20 mins walk from Gare Du Nord train station where our train from London arrived, so we didn't need to catch a taxi to the hotel upon arriving.

The hotel room was small, but I think this is the standard for Paris which you come to realise very fast that space is expensive in Paris as many restaurants and shops can be crammed or small. The hotel room was very basic but it had the essentials that you need such as toilet, shower, bed and tv. Unfortunately there is no fridge or safe but they do make up your room each day (even though we weren't told) so just don't leave any valuables on the bed which is just common sense. That being said, our valuables we did leave in the room were safe and overall we felt safe in this part of Paris.

The hotel staff are friendly enough and generally attempt to help you where they can. The breakfast included is pretty standard for Paris and consist of a couple of croissants, baguette, cereal, milk, coffee and jam/spreads. They also have yoghurt as well. The area where you eat breakfast is quite small so we felt a bit uncomfortable and always ate pretty quickly.

I would say the hotel is good value for money but I would strongly recommend researching hotels in Paris to give you some idea of how far your money goes. I don't know if I would stay at this hotel again but it's definitely ok if you're not too fussy and don't want to spend a small fortune.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We travelled to Paris in October 2013 and were advised to stay at Plaza Opera. The price was good, and the room was basic, but ok. The hotel was very nice, well-located; the breakfast was simple but pretty well served and, above all, the reception staff was incredibly helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chema0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with our toddler and it was amazing. I am so glad I chose this hotel. The view from our little balconettes was amazing, we could see the top of the Eiffel Tower!

Staff were very friendly and always helpful (especially with a tantrum ing toddler at breakfast!), the personalised maps they had were a great idea, as it pinpointed the exact location of the hotel.

We we're completely new to Paris, and I was worried that being in the 9th Arr. Would. It us too far out, but nope, it's perfectly ideal in our situation. With a toddler we need quiet, which it was, noisy if the doors were open, but when closed couldn't hear a thing.

Room itself was very clean and cleaned every day. The bathrooms must be new and it was superb, stylish and always cleaned well.

The lift is tiny, but better shaped than others have experienced in Europe, you can get in with your luggage ok, or if you have a lot, you could run up the stairs to meet it (we had a stroller/2 suitcases/2 handluggage and fit it in with one person).

It was by far our favourite hotel when in Europe. We would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I arrived early into paris and they found me a room as soon as I got there! The room was small which was expected, so no worries there! Bed and pillows comfortable and room/bathroom clean! Windows open for fresh air which is good as there is no air con! This was probably my only negative as it was quite warm in the room and only a fan available!
The location was great... 3min walk to 2 different metro lines and less than 15 mins from door to the Louvre via the metro which is great as most tours leave from there! Plenty of restaurants nearby! The staff were very friendly and helpful! I'd definitely stay here again, but may try to avoid it in summer as the no aircon can make things uncomfortable when its hot!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OZLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,098 of 1,804 in Paris
331 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel
Opera / Bourse
Ibis Paris Opera la Fayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
#437 of 1,804 in Paris
378 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Villa La Parisienne
Villa La Parisienne
#1,051 of 1,804 in Paris
136 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Opera Lafayette
Hotel Opera Lafayette
#1,236 of 1,804 in Paris
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Opera Hotel

Address: 12 rue de Maubeuge, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #689 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $100 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Opera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel situated in the heart of the city near Opera, art galleries, fine restaurants, museums, Gare du Nord & Gare de l'Est. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Opera
Plaza Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing