We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, not expensive, nice place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Hotel Lafayette
Ranked #1,149 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We reserved two rooms through Venere.com, and by the time we arrived, rooms were ready and clean and looked as expected. There's free Wi-Fi

Location is great. Maybe 100 yards from Cadet Metro station, and a short trip to main tourist areas. Also close to groceries, supermarkets, pharmacies, McDonald's, Starbucks and many restaurants (chinese, italian, lebanese and some french too).

Staff was very kind and helpful. However at night, they keep only one person. One night I called because the house keeper didn't replaced our soap, and I was kindly told I could go to the lobby to pick some soap, since he couldn't leave the reception desk. Another night we arrived late (12:30 am) and we had to wait for someone to open the door (they deactivate automatic doors at night). I think the guy was at at the restroom or just sleeping.

One the rooms included breakfast, and we thought of eating all togehter, but at 12 euros it wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruben00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Antoun, Director at New Hotel Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments. We have in fact one person at night and I apologise that you didn't receive the service you expected. The breakfast is a continental buffet with a selection of cheese, ham and pastries served until midday. I hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 342 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2012

Our visit was a 3 nights short Paris break. The hotel is well located just few minutes walking distance from the "Trocadero" metro station. The room was extremelly small, but as I heard from friends, all hotel rooms in Paris are like this. In the other hand, the room was very clean, towels was changed every day and the personel very friendly. The continental breakfast was excellent and consistent and the good thing is that they served the breakfast between 06.00 and 12.00.Another thing which we don't like it was the room window which was looking to a small luminator trunk. Practicaly there was not natural light in this room.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Paris, is a wonderfull city, we will return for sure here, but next time will try another hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luci_Roxi_Dor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My visit in Paris was a short one in interest of business. The hotel was near by all the places that I needed to reach so this was a very important aspect in choosing it. The hotel itself and the rooms are very small and tiny but it compensates with great personal and friendliness. The staff is very attentive and polite, you have free wifi in all the rooms, the breakfast is served until 12:00 and it is very clean and neat. Cadet metro station is also very near and helps you reach any place in Paris that you want. Overall this is a good review, I recommend this hotel for short business trips and for traveling alone. It is not probably a good idea to spend your holiday there, due to the insufficient space in the room, but if you only go for business do not hesitate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmearround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We spent 3 nights here for a short Paris break. The hotel is in an excellent location being only minutes from the metro, yet located in a quiet street. The staff were really helpful and always ready with a smile. The continental breakfast was excellent but there is no restaurant as such because there is no hot food on the premises. The breakfast room is nicely decorated and is comfortable but being in the basement it gets quite warm and begins to feel a little claustraphobic. Everywhere seems very clean, including the room and ensuite. However the room was ridiculously small - one side of the bed was jammed up against the corner of the cupboard which should have housed a fridge. This meant that you couldn't get out of the bed at the side, you had to clamber to the end of the bed to get out of it and the cupboard door wouldn't open wide enough to be able to get a fridge in it; which brings me to my next negative - being a British tea drinker (are we the only ones on the planet who are addicted to tea with milk?) I expect tea and coffee making facilities, with plenty of teabags and milk. However, at this hotel you have to ask for it every day at reception and I was told by one of the guys on reception that I was only allowed one teabag and milk each! Apart from the embarrassment, I don't think it's acceptable to have to beg for tea and milk every day and I was going to buy a carton of milk and box of teabags from the local supermarket but when I asked about the missing fridge I was told that not all rooms have fridges and that it was not possible to put a fridge in our room (because of the tiny tiny space available I assume!) I don't know how this hotel got its 3 star rating - there's no restaurant, the rooms are far too small and the only amenity, the bar, is right opposite the reception so looks like a reception waiting area. I would say that the hotel is ideal for a single person (needing only one side of the bed to get out of!) and/or for a short stay where you only need a bed for the night, a quick breakfast in the morning and one cup of tea a day!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RomfordSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This hotel was relatively cheap for Paris standards but not good value i would say.

The room was dirty especially the carpet which should have been replaced a long time ago. Hairs in the batchroom etc. We nooked and paid for a double room but the double bed was a made up sofa bed, which was the most uncomfortable bed ever. We used the 2 single beds in the room instead.

If we had been staying more than 1 night I would have insisted on moving, but having checked in late we did not have much time to complain. On the other hand friends got a triple room which was much better, looked like it had been decorated more recently, laminate floor rather than threadbare carpet at least.

Our room was also high in the hotel, 5th floor i think and was basically an attic room with a slanted roof, making almost half the room inaccessible without croaching!

Location was not too bad, not that central but fairly easy to het to. We were able to walk to the Sacre Couer. Some very good cheap restaurants near the hotel. Look out for the Japanese on the corner and also down that same road across from the hotel a great authentic French cuiscine, 3 course meal for 12euro!

The other grips was there was absolutley no chance of a late check out even though the hotel details said you could, even if you had to pay, the fairly rude reception staff didn;t even ask the room number just insisted hotel was full and no chance of moving check out

also do not go to this hotel if you do not like those old rickety lifts with the pull over door, the alternative is a long winding spiral stairs !

Room Tip: insist you do not get attic room, and ask for modernised room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I loved this hotel...It's very much convenent for a short break.
It is clean...perfect location, 5 mins walking to Metro station and resturants, phermacy and supermarket are are just arround teh corner...Staff are sweet and helpful...nice breakfast too.

They just have one very small room, but they changed it immediatly once we asked to change it.

I very much recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Just make sure u didn't get the tiny room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donzella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Location of the hotel is very good : quiet street , close to a lot of metro / bus lines.

The hotel is clean, even though there are currently transformations at the reception (this will be better in the future).

Rooms are very clean, but they are extremely small and airco didn't work properly.

Personnel is helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank francois_guillaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Antoun, Directrice at New Hotel Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Dear Sir,

First of all we apologise for the inconvenient you met which is not corresponding to our standards at all. The air conditionning was not working properly in the hotel during your stay, the maintenance were informed about the problem and they fixed it unfortunatly after your departure.

We are undergoing some transformation in the lobby to improve the quality and the service to our guest and this will be finished at the end of the week.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again at New Hotel Best Western Lafayette and apologising once more.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Ibis Paris Opera la Fayette
Opera / Bourse
Villa La Parisienne
Villa La Parisienne
#891 of 1,805 in Paris
179 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Plaza Opera Hotel
Plaza Opera Hotel
#844 of 1,805 in Paris
380 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Touraine Opera
Hotel Touraine Opera
#646 of 1,805 in Paris
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Lafayette

Address: 25 rue Buffault | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,149 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $93 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Lafayette 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 5-story Hotel with winter garden & flowered courtyard, located near Galeries Lafayette & the Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Hotel Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newhotel Lafayette Paris Hotel Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing