We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
Ranked #1,202 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Setubal, Portugal
2 reviews
“A really nice weekend”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Great place and location. Just a few steps from metro.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corregedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    78
    64
    28
    17
See reviews for
23
87
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My room was small but cleaned everyday; no complaints regarding the staff...always polite and ready to help. Great location...walking distance (20 minutes) to the Seine river. I had breakfast at a nearby crêpe/pizza/panini place which was a better deal than the breakfast at the hotel. I would definitely go back...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salsaaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I booked in for 3 nights in September despite some less than favourable reviews. My experience was generally positive. The price was reasonable for the area (105 Euros per night), the receptionists helpful and the room was fine (I marvelled at how they managed to fit in all the usual facilities into a very compact area) with free Wi-fi. I did not go for breakfast which sounded a bit pricey at 9 Euros but there are minimarkets near by (further up Rue Censier and turn right up Rue Santeuil) and the area is vibrant and attractive. I would stay here again if it was the best value hotel in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardodesantaalbana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My room was very small, i was given a bad room on the first floor when I returned from Nice. There was hardly any furniture and only one wood box broken to place clothing. Fortunately this hotel could hire a van to take me to the airport during a general strike.

Room Tip: Upper fllors have better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newyorker2431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

My stay at Hotel Maxim was terrible, and it can't be attributed to bad luck. From management to the morphology of the rooms, everthing's wrong. Overall quality is low even for a two-star hotel and it is definitely not worth 125 euros (for this price, big chain hotels are way better). First, property was really inadequate. Dirty sheets (which stayed that way the whole week), slimy shower curtain, dusty carpet. Decoration, which is supposed to look hip and modern, is so cheap that everything already looks worn down. Mattress is antediluvian, shower is diminutive even for parisian standards, and water pressure is, well, non-existent. Wanting to shorten my stay, I was confronted to a arrogant and unaccomodating staff. One night, I was even stuck for 15 minutes in front of the hotel, ringing the bell continuously, without anyone answering... Oh yeah, make sure you don't pay 9 euros for the insipid and very small breakfast they serve, and walk to a nice café instead.

It is a great neighbourhood and a calm location, but these advantages can't compensate for the sheer unprofessionalism of this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Strovonsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens, greece
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Small hotel, wonderfully situated. Very helpful and competent personnel.
On the minus side; the very small room I had and the gloomy colours of its decoration -chocolate brown furniture and walls took away what little light there was. Also, the bedlamps are definitely wrong for reading at night.
Breakfast buffet (extra 9 euros) could do with some fresh fruit.

Room Tip: Ask for room in upper floors, for more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gideon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed here for the value in price as some of my favorite hotels were booked up or more expensive this time because of the G8 conference. It was in a great location close to many restaurants, markets, and the metro. I expect small rooms in Paris as space is at a premium and the bathroom was actually a decent size with a tiled shelf for your toiletries. That said though there are reasons that I probably won't stay again. The walls are apparently uninsulated as you can easily hear people talking or the tv in the next room. The shower in our room had no shower hook on the wall so no hands-free showering. There was a sprayer you could use, or take a bath. The other thing I didn't understand is why they put in an elaborate bowl sink that was too large for the room but set in on a laminated table. They provide no soap dish so your only choice is to put the wet soap on the table and the water is causing the laminate to peel. The last thing I wanted to mention is bring a sleeping mask if light bothers you because there is only a frosted glass door to the bathroom and our room had a large frosted glass window in it with no covering so the light came through to the room.
The receptionist was pleasant but they were understaffed on weekends. She was there by herself most of the time and when we asked to have a burned-out light above the sink replaced on Saturday morning it was never done even by the time we left on Sunday. We ended up switching the light with another in the room ourselves so that we could see in the bathroom. Apparently there is no one around on weekends to do such things.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwenkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5
Quartier Latin
Best Western Quartier Latin Pantheon
Quartier Latin
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
#1,214 of 1,800 in Paris
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#617 of 1,800 in Paris
551 reviews
Quartier Latin
Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#207 of 1,800 in Paris
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin

Property: Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
Address: 28 rue Censier | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,202 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxim Quartier Latin Paris
Maxim Quartier Latin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing