We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Let Down by Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madison Hotel by MH
Ranked #139 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Our experience with the Madison Hotel started 4-5 days before we arrived when we emailed the concierge to ask for his advice on restaurants and for him to make some reservations. We got no reply. We emailed again with no response. We called, he wasn't in. We called again the day before we got there and he finally picked up. To his credit, although his tone of voice made it sound like he was taking time out of his busy day to do us a favor, he did get us a few reservations.

The hotel itself is very nice, the rooms are clean and quiet and the location is PERFECT. Our only gripe was that the shower could be finnicky, but there are two to choose from so it was not a problem. The hotel is located in the perfect spot if you plan on seeing the sights as it is close enough to everything that a taxi is rarely needed. We walked everywhere and explored the Parisian streets on our way to the various museums (I'd recommend the Orsay and the Orangerie). The hotel is also surrounded by great restaurants. We ate our first meal in Paris at the bistro around the corner, the Bistro Henri (ask the concierge, its small -- less than ten tables, and is the prototypical French bistro, nothing spectacular but amazing). Also in the neighborhood are two excellent restaurants, Semilla and Fish la Boissonnerie. Both are exquisite, not overly expensive (around 50 Euros a person) and offer excellent food. They are not as fancy as Joel Robuchon but, for what they offer, are just as good. If you are able to get in and the budget allows a meal at l'Atelier Joel Robuchon, it is worth every penny. Amazing food and presentation and you get to watch the chefs cook while you eat.

Back to the hotel, the stay was great up until the end when things began to come apart Throughout the stay we asked for water in the room, every time we prefaced our request by confirming that water was, in fact, included with the room. Every time the answer was yes. Lo and behold, upon checkout we were charged SEVEN EUROS a bottle. When we explained to the woman behind the desk what happened, she said she was unable to do anything because her manager was not present. For what a room here costs, that is unacceptable made worse by her then proceeding to prove truly incompetent screwing up the checkout twice and demonstrating an inability to do basic math.
I do not understand why we were repeatedly told that water was included when it wasn't (a first considering every other hotel in this price range includes it) and then when confronted with the bill she wasn't able to do anything. As we are leaving early in the morning we will have to wait until we get back home to know if the charges were dropped. In the future, hotel management may want to allow their employees to change certain small charges or allow their employees to call them if there is a problem... Needless to say this is unacceptable and really left a bad taste in our mouths.

Overall I think I would recommend the hotel to a friend as the rooms were fine and the location is great, but expect a unresponsive concierge and for what amounts to a bank robbery if you drink a bottle of water!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bms12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and observations on your stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us. Obviously, we did not meet your expectations in a few different areas I will certainly follow up in the required departments to correct any and all shortfalls.

However concerning water consumption rates are clearly stick up into the room.

I hope you will give us another chance to return to the madison Hotel in the near future.

With kind regards.
Caroline Demon - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 808 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

I choose the hotel for its location first: in the pleasant Saint Germain des Prés neighborhood, right across the church with the same name. The hotel itself is a small, familiar mood place. Very beautiful and well decorated. The superior room facing the street is very good, with bathroom, tub, very good shower and appliances. The breakfast is also very good. Plus, the staff is very welcoming and caring. Wonderful staying is what I can say.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeis0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Bonjour de Saint Germain des Prés,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments !

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

The entire team is looking forward to welcome you back soon to Paris,

Yours sincerely,
Caroline Demon - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I always enjoy staying on the left bank of Paris and decided to try the Madison Hotel after passing
it the last time I was in Paris. I couldn't have been happier with my choice. The service was
outstanding and the rooms were nice and clean. The location is perfect, with a metro stop
1/2 block away with shopping and restaurants all around the hotel.
I will definitely stay at this hotel on my next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ny-likestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Madison Hotel.

How wonderful that the hotel and the service were up to your expectations.

We truly hope to see you back soon.

Caroline Demon - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel was lovely. Ideally located on rue Saint Germaine. You get to all the main sites within 20 mins whether by metro or walking. Calling the room a courtyard view was somewhat artistic license as all there was was wall and a dirty roof but as we weren't in Paris for the hotel it was fine. However it was well worth it for location

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bambetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Bambetta,

Thanks you for your remarks. We will not deny that some of our rooms are bit small, and unfortunately, it is a real issue for hotels in this district of Paris. But as we used to say "Small is beautiful" :)

That's why we ask our guest to contact us directly to book a stay - to select the room that suits the best !

I will be pleased to welcome you back in a much larger room (with a view over Saint Germain des Prés) and meet you at this occasion.

Sincerely,
Caroline Demon - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A half term break to show our granddaughter the sights of Paris for the first time was certainly enhanced with our stay at this lovely hotel. Very well appointed rooms with everything you need including good views of the boulevard and old church. The superior rooms (we had 74 & 75) were a little small, but that seems consistent with Paris when reading reviews of other hotels, and being located on the seventh floor were so quiet we overslept on our first morning!
Extremely well located and within easy striking distance of all the main tourist sites, with the Metro stations adjacent, and a huge choice of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, which is very useful as breakfast was an additional charge which for four of us would have been an unnecessary expense, as any visit to Paris can be a serious shock to the wallet!
Lovely friendly helpful staff, and like other guests, who's previous good reviews helped us to make this informed choice via Trip Advisor we are more than happy to add our recommendations. The main accolade being from our granddaughter who can't wait to return to both Paris and the Madison Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralphwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Ralphwalker,

We thank you very much for your warm comment ! It was a real pleasure to welcome you with all your family and to help you during your stay.

Our priority is to make you feel like Home !

Do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit with your grand-mother !

We hope to welcome you all again very soon.

Kind regards
Caroline Demon - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Madison hotel certainly exceeded our expectations. We have stayed in Paris before and are used to tiny rooms but the Madison had huge spacious and really clean rooms and an even cleaner bathroom. Two showers one in the bathtub and a separate stand alone shower with the biggest rainhead shower. Separate loo, and beautiful sinks. Everything about this hotel exuded elegance. Breakfast was excellent very fresh and lots of choices, although if you would rather eat out there are plenty of cafés close by. The neighborhood is very safe and right in the middle of everything. Ralph Lauren has a lovely little wine bar just down the road.

Room Tip: Why won't it let me take the green dot off the fitness centre and kids fitness centre, I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose77710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Rose,

What a beautiful comment ! All the team of the Madison Hotel joins me to thank you very much !

Do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit.
We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind regards
Caroline Demon - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I booked to go to Paris over Christmas for 3 nights as a surprise for my wife. We were so happy with the rooms,they are amazing but by far the best thing about this hotel was the location. I can't emphasise enough hot good the location is. The staff spoke good English which was hard to come by in Paris especially by cab drivers(some of the rudest people we've ever met!)
As normal in hotels if you have anything from the minibar it is extremely expensive..I think it was 8 euros for a small water of something but if you need it then you have it! We had an amazing stay but we had major problems at the end. To cut the story short when we arrived in Paris we got a cab to the hotel from the station which cost us 16 euros. When it came to leaving the hotel offered to arrange a taxi for us. Before the cab driver had even pulled out of the hotel road the meter was showing 13 euros and when we asked the driver her said it would cost 30 to 40 euros!! Major arguments with hotel and driver as we asked him to take us back and we walked down the road and got a taxi for 16 euros so be warned if the hotel offers to book you a cab they must get something out of it because it is more expensive. Other than that it was an amazing trip and if I went to Paris again I would stay again and recommend to anyone.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank stuck25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Stuck 25,

That is so kind of you to help, the worldwide globetrotters who are seeking for the place to stay in Paris that fits them.

I hope your review will help them in their choice!

Thank you for the nice words you wrote.

We really appreciated it and we hope you will come back here next time you are visiting Paris even if Parisian Taxi drivers are bit rude :).

Best regards,
Caroline Demon - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#100 of 1,809 in Paris
815 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#114 of 1,809 in Paris
1,002 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#98 of 1,809 in Paris
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#82 of 1,809 in Paris
743 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#101 of 1,809 in Paris
697 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel by MH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel by MH

Address: 143 Boulevard St Germain, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#126 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#217 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $234 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel by MH 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel, in the Latin Quarter of Saint Germain-des-Pres, is a boutique hotel in a chic, contemporary style. This delightful hotel with its 50 rooms and suites is located on the Left Bank opposite the church of Saint-Germain-des-Pres and a mere stone's throw from the Seine, the Louvre and the Musee d’Orsay, and the Cathedral of Notre Dame de Paris. The hotel rubs shoulders on the Boulevard Saint Germain with the Cafe de Flore and the Cafe de 2 Magots, at the heart of a quarter famed for its cafes, art galleries, museums, antique dealers and designer fashion boutiques. The Madison Hotel is also firmly at the heart of literary Paris... Albert Camus spent some time at the hotel in the spring of 1940, and it was here that he completed his existentialist novel "L'Etranger" (The Outsider). Perhaps his spirit still hovers somewhere... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Madison Hotel by MH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madison Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing