We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and cozy atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madison Hotel by MH
Ranked #149 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing location and cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hotel has a modern and cozy atmosphere, what stroke me is the attention to the details in the furnishings and the decor, i could hardly find a flaw! The room are not large but that you can expect in such an old building in the centre of Paris.
The location is simply perfect, you have everything you need at hand for a leisure trip. The breakfast area is simply too small for that size of a hotel, so due consideration should be made to the right timing. All in all, a place i recommend and where i will want to stay in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trustworthy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear TrustWortthy72,

The whole Madison Hotel's team thank you for your very nice review! We really enjoyed reading that our hotel and services met your expectations!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best Parisian Regards,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    179
    31
    16
    4
See reviews for
130
324
38
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
valley village, ca
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Loved the location... Right outside the St Germain metro so its easy to roll your suitcases to and from the airport and save the hefty taxi expense. There are amazing places to eat and shop right outside the hotel door. Our room was the "superior" room but still had a very weird layout and was tiny. The bathroom is the biggest annoyance... they had 2 showers but barely ANY counter space. And the lights attached to the mirror make impossible to actually see yourself in it. The bed was big but very hard (like 90% of european hotel beds). The staff spoke perfect english and was VERY accommodating! We stayed during the week of New Years when Paris is just completely packed to its max... paid around $400 for this room... I probably wouldn't do it again.

Room Tip: If possible to NOT have 2 showers and instead have more bathroom space, i'd go for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachellebrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Rachelle,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay which I gather is pretty favorable.

I nevertheless hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again to the Madison Hotel, until then I remain,

Kind regards,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hotel is brilliantly located in St Germain, is modern clean and easy to get to. Rooms can be smallish so don't go anything less than the Superior. Staff are helpful and when I had a problem they fixed it.

Room Tip: Go for at least superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Bruce,

We were thrilled by your feedback and the team and I thank you for that. We truly felt proud of ourselves in hearing that we have provided you with an great service. Thank you so much!

We look forward to your next visit.

A bientôt,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Advantages:
Good location
Clean hotel
Renovated and well maintained
Very kind personel
Nice breakfast
My room's windows were faced to inner yard, so it was very quiet.

Disadvantages:
The single room is VERY small hardly can get in between the bed and the walls, for 200EUR, I was expecting something bigger.

Room Tip: If you are claustrofobic, don't take the single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Mike,

Thank you very much for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.

It was such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Madison Hotel !

The size of our rooms depends on the category. Contact us directly for your next stay and we will select the room that suits you best.

Hope to see you again at the Madison Hotel !

Best regards,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Opposite the Church of St Germain de Pres, and within a short walk to Art Galleries and Museums, the Hotel Madison charms you from the moment yo step into it: a friendly and helpful reception desk, a mix of modern and antique decor in impeccably good taste, a comfortable room with a spotless bathroom.
Walk to the Musée d'Orsay and back again, then rest your weary feet at the famous Café Les Deux Magots (50 metres from the hotel).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Miguel,

Thank you for your comments about the Madison Hotel.

It is a great joy to know that our guests love our location and our hotel with its charming and modern atmosphere that is only completed with the great team service we provide to our valued guests.

We feel very happy to know that you highly recommend our hotel and we do look forward to welcoming back.

Best regards,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

It was our first time in Paris and we chose this hotel because it was in St Germain area. The location of the hotel is very good. There are lots of cafes and restaurants nearby. The metro is just opposite the hotel.

We were two couples and both of our rooms were really small. To be honest, I think this is the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed. We had two luggages and it was impossible to walk in the room comfortably. We chose to move the large useless bin somewhere else only to find everyday that it is being brought to the same annoying location. The bathroom was small too. When you take a shower, the water unfortunately splashes all over the bathroom floor and the provided towels are not really enough to absorb the water, so if you take a shower before going to sleep, you need to be careful when visiting the bathroom at night. We had no view from the window, just the blank inner walls of the hotel. The good part about the rooms: decor is very good, shower is powerful, beds are very comfy.

The reception desk and the concierge staff was helpful, polite but I did feel the Parisian attitude in a way.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a larger room than average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzet Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Izzetz,

Thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. You are right; we have one of the best location in Paris,close to the capital’s main attractions.

I understand you highlight the small size of our rooms and as for many hotels of the Left Bank of Paris, the size is always different from the Right Bank.
Please note we offer different room types allowing you to get a larger room. For your next stay in Paris, please feel free to contact us directly.

Kindest regards,
Caroline Demon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Unfortunately trip advisor does not have an incroyable excellent category because Hotel Madison is an utterly delightful small hotel - my room was furnished with very high end fittings and was comfortable, clean and extremely well appointed; carpeted walls, BOSE ipod docking station, bathrobes etc etc - I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone; couples, solo, business alike - no doubt about it. I noticed a couple of rough comments regarding the staff; not so, all spoke excellent english and were very accommodating; it rather shocked me actually (very unfrench). St Germain is a lovely part of Paris with lots of great Cafes and restaurants - be warned it is expensive here (16 Euro for a large beer!!) but I thoroughly my short stay and would deliberately seek out this hotel again if I am lucky enough to be in Paris again. Hotel Madison is very close to the St Germain de Pres Metro which is on a direct link to Gare Du Nord for the Eurostar. See if you can have a Blvd facing room for a view of the church. Well done Hotel Madison - I don't want to appear gushing but you deserve it.

Room Tip: Bloulevard facing will give you the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Richard,

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your stay at the Madison Hotel.

It made me happy to read that you were pleased with the service given by our staff and that you were made to feel welcome. Here at the Madison Hotel we aim to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and I am glad that we were able to do this.

I am indeed very proud of the staff and will pass on your complimentary comments. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#96 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#73 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#66 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pont Royal
Hotel Pont Royal
#148 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel La Perle
Hotel La Perle
#178 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#92 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel by MH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel by MH

Property: Madison Hotel by MH
Address: 143 Boulevard St Germain, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Paris
#108 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#127 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#218 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel by MH 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel, in the Latin Quarter of Saint Germain-des-Prés, is a boutique hotel in a chic, contemporary style.This delightful hotel with its 50 rooms and suites is located on the Left Bank opposite the church of Saint-Germain-des-Prés and a mere stone's throw from the Seine, the Louvre and the Musée d’Orsay, and the Cathedral of Notre Dame de Paris.The hotel rubs shoulders on the Boulevard Saint Germain with the Café de Flore and the Café de 2 Magots, at the heart of a quarter famed for its cafés, art galleries, museums, antique dealers and designer fashion boutiques. The Madison Hotel is also firmly at the heart of literary Paris... Albert Camus spent some time at the hotel in the spring of 1940, and it was here that he completed his existentialist novel "L'Etranger" (The Outsider). Perhaps his spirit still hovers somewhere... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Madison Hotel by MH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madison Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing