We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3 star hotel in excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Rue des Mathurins | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
99 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good 3 star hotel in excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

I have just come back after 2nights-3days trip in Paris. I chose this hotel due to its strategic location, price and good reviews. It is a good 3 star hotel in an excellent location to visit all major turistic sites in Paris.

LOCATION: close to Boulevard Haussman and its galleries, Opera, Gare St.Lazare (where bus 21 goes to Pantheon crossing Opera, Louvre, Notre Dame, ...) and Metro St.Augustin, that is only 2 minutes on foot from hotel. Louvre, Place Concorde, etc are on 10-15 on foot. The area is quiet, safe and buildings look elegant. There are many restaurants a few meters from hotel, Italian, French, Japanese, Vietnamese (I tried this one and it was very good).

ROOM: I arrived at 11:45AM and got an early check-in. First room assigned was still not ready, so they gave me another one which was in the first floor, not small, comfortable and modern. There is flat TV, free WIFI, bathroom has bath tub.

BREAKFAST: good to be a 3 star hotel but could be improved. fresh squeezed orange, juice, ham, cheese, cereals, boiled eggs, bread, cake, croissants, jogurts, oranges and apples and tanned fruit. No other warm food, maybe they should add it to improve breakfast. Price is 13 euros, but it was included in the room price I booked.

INTERNET: free wifi, that goes fine with the exception of early morning. There is one computer for free use.

TIPS: I booked the hotel through Best Western page, which offered best prices (I paid 89 euros for a double room including breakfast and free internet). Get a museum pass to save money in monuments and museums. Hotel can provide shuttle to airport at very competitive prices.

I was satiesfied with this hotel, getting a good relationship quality-price. If I choose a 3 star hotel again I would probably come back again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    208
    32
    10
    3
See reviews for
84
286
37
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed on the second floor, a large room, king size bed and a single bed ( there was three of us ) We found the staff very friendly and helpful as our luggage was missing and they did all they could by contacting the Airline for us. The breakfast was great plenty to eat so no problems there.
The hotel is so convenient to shops and Metro, and is walking distane to the Louve.
My family and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kolbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria British Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Thanks to TripAdvisor, we avoided some real problems with a hotel in Paris for our first trip to France but had a problem finding anywhere for a weekend that was located centrally and yet reasonably priced. Finally tracked this place down on the internet and loved it. Location is ten minutes walk from Gare St Lazare, where the RER train from the airport took us. Fifteen minutes from Place de la Concorde and the Seine. Twnety minutes from Champs Elysee. Loads of local restaurants. Very comfortable, spotless room that have been recently renovated (ask for one overlooking the Rue du Mathurins with the lovely window boxes), really helpful bilingual staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Very comprehensive buffet breakfast to fortify you for a day of trying to see all of Paris! This is a really great find, whether you are there for two days like us or longer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

this hotel was great for us. They helped us incredibly with an experience we went through when Air France lost my husband's wheelchair. They staff made phone calls for us and truly took this incident to heart. Karim is a young man with a great heart and really went out of his way to help us. i will be forever thankful for the service we received at this hotel. Will definitely go back whenever we visit Paris again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaruMiami_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbagirl123
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights while on our Paris trip. What attracted us was the free internet. The staff was very polite. The room was comfortable - the decor was a tad tacky - but we got a good deal, so you get what you pay for. The free breakfast was great - much better than american continental breakfasts. There was a selection of baked goods - croissants, pastries, etc.. Several beverages - teas, coffees, espresso, and juices (freshly squeezed and other). Cereals, fruit, a pot for boiling water for eggs. It was within a few blocks from the Metro, so that was convenient. A few downsides include: if you face the street - there is a bar right across the street and it can get noisy. We had to close the windows and it can get muggy (luckily it was September and the a/c worked fine). There was some sort of mix up when we checked in and apparently someone else mistakenly thought our room was their room, so we were startled at 12 midnight when the concierge opened up our door the first night while we were sleeping. I was startled and enfuriated, but I guess the woman who checked us in was busy doing other things and forgot to mark down we were registered. The next day, however, she apologized profusely and gave us two boxes of chocolates (not sure if that was enough though). But anyway, they tried.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abbagirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale Estates, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

We stayed for five nights and were very pleased with the incredibly convenient location. There are numerous shops, restaurants and cafes nearby and metro stops are just a few minutes walk. It's also an easy walk to the Louvre and several other museums.

Our room - number 204 - was clean and comfortable, with beamed ceilings, a separate sitting area, two TVs and a bathroom that was perfectly adequate (and even had a small tub). Our rate included breakfast, which was a standard (cold cereals, breads, cheese) European offering - don't expect an American breakfast and you won't be disappointed. The food does get a bit monotonous after a few days, but there are other locations for breakfast nearby. WiFi is free, but I could only use it in the lobby - I had a signal in the room but couldn't connect. There is a PC in the breakfast area for those who don't bring their laptop.

Staff was OK, but unremarkable. They were pleasant and prompt when we requested a kettle for tea (it's free but not standard in the room), but I gave up one evening after waiting several minutes for the evening clerk to finish a personal call while he was sitting at the front desk. They were helpful when we made transportation arrangements to the airport.

When I compared the room size and price of nearby hotels, it's clear what a value this is - how much more will you enjoy your stay by spending $100-150+ more per evening across the street? It's Paris - just use the room for sleeping and enjoy the city!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gorwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

If you just want a place to sleep in then this hotel may suit your needs. Don't expect good service from the receptionist/s. They speak minimal English, barely smiled and did not seem too happy to answer questions. Internet is free but it is difficult to access it from the room. The best place to use your laptop is in the lobby for a better signal. The rooms were clean but small (typical among European hotels, I gathered). The walls between the rooms were so thin that you can hear the people talking in the other rooms. Air conditioning was working well but the elevator was not (it kept breaking down). Location is quite good because it is very near Galleries Lafayette and Printemps. It is also possible to walk to the famous Rue Saint Honore and the Louvre from the hotel. There was a minimal selection of breads, orange juice, coffee or hot chocolate for breakfast which were quite adequate. Like I said earlier, if you just want a place to sleep in, this hotel is fine but don't expect anything more.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FabulousMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Monsieur
#32 of 1,811 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#58 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#37 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera
Address: 50 Rue des Mathurins | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#166 Family Hotel in Paris
#172 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sydney Opera
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing