We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique, friendly and excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera
Ranked #138 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
City of Greater Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Boutique, friendly and excellent”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our stay exceeded our expectations from the moment we arrived. The room was very well appointed, clean and quiet. The breakfast was well appointed with a wide range of fresh and enjoyable choices. The location is central to all sites, transport and shopping centres.
The overriding factor was the staff who were friendly and welcoming from the outset. They ensured that all needs and requests were addressed promptly and professionally- including organising the return of a camera which followed us through Europe and ultimately was sent by this hotel back to Australia!

Room Tip: We had a room that looked over the central light well rather than the street. The lack of view was m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregTrichelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Good Morning Australia, here is Sydney Opéra !!!
We are so lucky your camera arrived safe...
Thank you so much for your kind comment, see you agin in Paris,
Sincerely,
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    227
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
95
313
42
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Rooms were small, but comfortable. Excellent location, just a short walk from Roissy bus stop for airport trip, and also la Fayette galleries and hop on hop off bus. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in room rate and was a good quality and choice

Room Tip: We had a room on the street, but very little noise when door closed. Shower over bath, and bath very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Good Afternoon Melbourne, Hello from Sydney !!!
Thank you to taking time to wrote a comment, we hope to have the chance to welcome you again in Paris, may be in an other season..,
All the best,
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I booked our night at the Hotel Sydney Opera after reading other reviews on trip advisor. I used to work in hospitality and so I know first hand, how quickly a hotel can turn around under good or bad management! I was impressed that the GM of this hotel responded to trip advisor comments and I was pleased by the recent reviews.

About our stay: We booked just a few days ahead of time through the hotel website, we got a great rate and breakfast included. On check-in the attendant was both efficient and friendly. Our room was in perfect shape, small, but we got a GREAT RATE and a perfectly clean, perfectly maintained, stylish room, in a great Paris neighborhood. I was not sure what to expect for breakfast, but was pleased to find a variety of health options (granola, hard boiled eggs, yogurts), as well as sweet breads, deli meats and cheeses, juice, coffee and tea. We dined about 30 minutes before they closed and everything was still fresh.

Check-out was smooth, our room was quite and we slept great!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterreflecting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Good Morning from Paris,
Your feedback is very important to us and we value it. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future, you encourage us ! Thank you so much !
Best regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very comfortable and clean, good beds, charming decor, rooms a bit small and helpful staff with prompt directions how to get to them and to nearby restaurants, shops etc. Breakfast was adequate for a 3 star hotel, front lobby with comfortable chairs and tables with newspapers in French and English and magazines.

Room Tip: Our room on the 3rd floor was facing the street and noisy if window ajar to let in some air at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avelana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Good Morning from Sydney...!!! We hope you had a nice trip back home to Australia.
Thank you to taking the time to wrote a comment concerning your stay with us ; we are so glad you enjoyed your time in Paris ! We hope to see you again in France in an other season may be ;
Have a nice winter..!!!
Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great boutique-style hotel located in a convenient central location in Paris. Staff were welcoming and helped us answer any queries we had. Our room was on the ground floor and faced an internal courtyard as opposed to the street. Decent sized room and pleasantly surprised to find that we had private access to a lovely little courtyard which had a small table and two chairs. Peaceful at night, we slept well. Breakfast is served until 11am which is good but depending at what time you arrive, you may need to wait for your table to prepared as there seems to be only one member of staff overseeing the breakfast area. Drinks from the bar were very affordable. In summary, a great little find and very good value. I am sure we will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouzigues09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hello from Paris !
We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us ; we try to improve breakfast on weekend because of tourist customers came down at the time in breakfast room ; we think to served again breakfast in room…If you had a good idea, let us know please, your feed back is very important for us to improve our services.
UK is not far from Sydney opéra, we hope to welcome you again in Paris, may be in an other season !
Best regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a small boutique hotel. Very clean. Only one person is there at any time who acts as check in/out and concierge. Breakfast area can get cramped and we would have preferred a little better selection and quality of food. Several items were never replaced by maid service after we used them. Close to several metro stations and bus and about a 25 minute walk to the Louvre and Place de la Concorde area. It was overall a good deal for the price we paid.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguy410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Good morning from Paris ! We hope you had a nice trip back home.
Thank you to taking time to wrote a comment to Sydney opéra ; it’s a pity you didn’t enjoy our breakfast ; do you mind to give me more details concerning your sentence : « several items were never replaced by maid service after we used them » ?!
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again to offer you a better experience,
Best regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel, Location is perfect, 5 minute walk from Auber Metro Station also the same distance from Bus Station. Staff are extremely friendly and courteous and spoke very good English.. Our room was on the top floor room 504, it went totally beyond our expectations, plenty of room. I would take note that a few drawers for storing clothes would be very useful. Breakfast was in plenitful supply and was the perfect start to our day.

We stayed for 3 nights and booked the hop on hop off tour for 2 days, this I wouldnt recommend, commentary is pre-recorded, very little commentary but loads of music being played into earphones, I was hoping to learn a little more about the history of Paris. Metro is a way more convenient to see the sites.

There is an English pub across the street called the Cricketer, we used to pop in there for a drink before bed time, very friendly staff, plus excellent musician there on Sat nights.

I really enjoyed my first trip to Paris, and hope to return very soon.

Room Tip: Yes there are a few steps up to 5th floor, but room 504 is totally worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upthekingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Good evening Liverpool !
Thank you for your kind comment ; we are so glad you enjoyed your first time in Paris with us !
May be you 'll come in a different season...
Best regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Maison Athenee
Maison Athenee
#124 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#136 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#55 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Hotel Monsieur
#290 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera
Address: 50, Rue Des Mathurins | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Formerly Best Western Hotel Sydney Opera)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#164 Family Hotel in Paris
#172 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Best Western FR, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sydney Opera
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing