We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ideally located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera
Ranked #123 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideally located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We loved this hotel mainly because of its location. Next to the Opera, the best place for a tourist to stay in Paris in my opinion, and in walking distance to three metro stations. Our room was on the last floor but the lift doesnt reach this floor which is a problem especially with the luggage. Apart from that, our room was great,spacious, cosy and very clean. Wifi is free. The front desk is polite. The breakfast is average. There was nothing missing but nothing special... I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you to take the time to wrote a comment.
Unfortunately when we removed the building it was not possible to go up with the lift for the last floor, in old french property we can’t do what we want…
specially in Paris…
It’s a pity you did’nt say anything when you were in, we could change room floor when people didn’t appreciate the one they are.
We are quite sade you didn’t enjoy our breakfast, what can we add ?
There is so much food all ready !
We hope to have a chance to welcome you in 2013 and get the opportunity to give you a better experience with us,
Best Regards
Anne-Marie Gerbault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    219
    32
    10
    3
See reviews for
87
297
40
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed here almost completely on points with my sister for a 4 day holiday. The location of the hotel is excellent. There are three metro stops (Madeline, St Lazare, and Augustin) very close. This is a small hotel, with about 30 rooms. It is quite clean and cozy. The beds are excellent, with firm mattresses and two pillows. There is a TV, water boiler, and hair dryer in the room. The room was fine for me and my sister, but any more than two people and you would be very crowded in a standard room. Usually I travel with my kids, and you couldn't fit a crib or rollaway in a standard room. The sound proofing is terrible. You can really hear your neighbors. Fortunately, during my stay, people were quite polite about the noise level. The bathroom has a shower/tub and is clean but tiny. Lovely lemon soap provided in the bathroom. Wireless is free although reception was nonexistent in the lobby (in the room was fine). The front desk clerks are friendly and helpful with directions. The breakfast is great with a large selection of coffee, tea, juices, meats, cheese, eggs, toast, croissants, jams, etc. Cute breakfast area off the lobby. A nice hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piedmontcamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
First of all, Happy New Year from Sydney Opéra’s Staff !!! Good Health and evrything you wish...
Thank you for your comment, we hope to welcome you again in Paris, may be in 2013…
Best Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

If all hotels made you feel as warm and comfortable as this gem, all our holidays would be memorable. Nothing is too much trouble. Will definitely stay there again. Best location, everyone there is a pleasure to deal with.lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Sir,
by telling us your impression you help us to improve and continue our job as much we can do, thank you so much !
It's true than Madeleine Area is a nice place, walking distance to few museums, momuments and differents shops as Galeries La Fayette or Faubourg St Honoré street.
We enjoye when customers feel at home in Sydney Opéra, that's really our objectif.
Don't hesitate to contact us if we can help for any thing in France,
hope to welcome you in Paris,
Kind Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We went to Paris last minute for a business trip and was recommended to the BW Syndey Opera- not my normal choice for a hotel but since we were well advised we gave it a go! To everyone's surprise it was immaculate and it was obvious that investment in the property has been made. The entire hotel is spotless and modern but in keeping with Parisan tradition...very compact. Everything is very very small but once you get into your room very liveable. I didn't have time to eat the well laid out continental breakfast but it looked good. The only comment I have to make about the hotel is the sound of the lift going up and down which can be disturbing if you are not in a deep sleep ...other that...I would visit again. Also ...credit to the staff ..very friendly indeed. Thank you for the pleasant suprise!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Pleased to surprise you,
You have to come back to taste our breakfast !! Thank you for your kind comment,
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights and were very pleased. As Paris hotels go, we were afraid we were booking a closet sized room. Instead, our room was spacious for the two of us and our luggage. The bathroom was spacious with a shower that had a door (instead of a shower curtain). Breakfast was healthy and plentiful. The hotel staff are very pleasant and spoke English well. The location can't get better - walking distance from the Madeline station, Printemps, Galleries Lafayette, Place de la Concorde and more. If you are a walker you can walk to all the major sights from here. Restaurants are in abundance within walking distance. The hotel is situated on a relatively quiet street near a bustling part of town. We took the hotel van to CDG - very convenient!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comment.
All the staff and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us !
We hope to see you again in France, don’t hesitate to contact us if you need any kind of information
Sincerely
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel is quite small but has nice rooms. My window was overlooking the street but it was quiet and no noice whatsoever. Good mirrows but safety box would have needed 50€ deposit!
Breakfast was very French, quite good actually but not so abundant. Location being so good next to the shopping streets and big department stores as well as metro stations, this makes it a very good choice both for business and leisure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello from Paris! We are happy you enjoy your stay. Your right, our breakfast is a “French” one, we find there obviously croissant, pain au chocolat, home cakes(prepared each day), fresh fruit and other things like yoghurts, cheeses, ham, salami, boiled eggs… and of course the cereals. We would be glad to welcome you during your next visit in Paris!
Anne, réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Monsieur
#67 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#43 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Maison Athenee
Maison Athenee
#104 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#116 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera
Address: 50 rue des Mathurins | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#166 Family Hotel in Paris
#172 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sydney Opera
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing