We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera
Ranked #105 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights on our July 2012 Paris trip. Perfect hotel albeit the public areas being small. Well located. Room and bed were comfortable. Easily adjustable electronic air conditioning controls. Friendly staff. Easy access to the airport by Roissybus (10 Euro fare). Only con is that rooms were not well insulated for sound. However, the hotel is located in a relatively quiet area.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Paddyboy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you so much for your kind comments, Anne-Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 646 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

My partner and i absolutely loved the hotel for the 6 nights that we stayed here. It is situated in an ideal location, 2 minutes from a metro and right in the heart of the shopping area of Paris. The staff were extremely friendly, very helpful and always had a smile on their faces, even when we came back late one night at 2am, they were happy to see us. It was also a benefit that the hotel staff were multi-lingual as it's sometimes difficult to keep up the speaking in French 24 hours a day. We would definitely stay here again! Our only downside was that the hotel did not serve us a cooked breakfast and, although there was a large variety of food to choose from, I would've killed for a rasher of bacon or a sausage by the end of the week. Also, we had no drawers in our room and therefore had no where to place our items of clothing other than the coat-hangers that hung in the wardrobe. An iron in each room would also have been beneficial rather than having to get dressed and go downstairs to borrow an iron from reception. Other than that, our stay was marvellous and i would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon12666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Sorry for bacon and sausages…our kitchen can’t let us cook the kind of food, that’s why we making french cakes to proposed our customers different breakfast as usual.
Thank you so much for your sympatic comments, all the staff and I hope to welcome you once in Paris ! Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A very good three star hotel. From motherly Daisy at reception to excellent breakfast and well furnished, comfortable rooms and bathrooms, it is so welcoming. Ideally placed for the best of shops, restaurants and public transport, this is an optimum hotel, An easy walk through the Madeleine and Concorde to the Champs Elysees and Tuileries or perhaps Rue St Honore (boutique shops) to the Palais Royale for lunch. Adjacent, in Rue Arcade is Pompei, one of the best Italians in which we have eaten. On the way, on the right, in Passage Puteaux is the quirky Boutique des Vins. Le patron expects some sophistication but, having passed the interrogation, he will share his good Margaux at E5 a glass . The other way leads immediately to the Haussmann. Towards Printemps there is Brasserie Triadou Haussmann, stuffed out with Parisiens, who know what is good about the menu.

Room Tip: We took ground floor rooms 601 & 603. Very quiet, at the back.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank embleton07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

We are so glad you discovered nice place around the hotel !
Specially Margaux’s glass… !!! Thank you very much for your comments and hope to see you again in Sydney Opéra, kinds regards
Anne-Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here over 20 years ago so a return visit to Paris would not be complete without staying here again. The recent refurbishment has been done beautifully. The rooms are well appointed, beds very comfortable, a great shower, adjustable air-conditioning, an in-room safe, and helpful & pleasant staff. It's in a lovely part of the city, near the big department stores. Within one block you'll find a pharmacy, deli, cafes, expensive but good quality restaurants, two metro stations. The only reason for 4 stars was the sound of water from the bathroom upstairs running through pipes in our bedroom, but it wasn't overly intrusive. The hotel was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzie_Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very clean and very well located. The rooms are small but the bathrooms are a decent size. The location is fantastic.

The staff was very helpful and polite. I would definitely stay here again.

Great value.


  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rene l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was a perfect location for us -- near the Metro and train lines.
Anything that we needed we could walk to.
The staff was more than helpful, gave directions freely and always were most helpful.
While the rooms were on the smaller side, as compared to American standards, they were well maintained, neat, fresh and very clean.
Breakfast presented a larger number of options and included homemade breakfast breads and homemade custard.
The baguettes, of course, were to die for!!
It is a non-smoking location.
Would we go back?
Would we suggest you check it out?
You bet 'cha!

Our only negative comment is that the sheets occasionally smelled of faint cigarette smoke.
Our thought was that maybe they were not processed in a non-smoking facility.
A dash of linen spray on the linens could have taken care of that.
This was the reason we rated the Cleanliness as "Very Good" as opposed to "Excellent".
Small point to be sure...

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the center court yard for perfect, very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 15442Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This Hotel is well located. Close to great shopping and all the attractions, yet very quiet and
peaceful for great night of sleep. The room was clean and comfortable and also had a nice A/C unit. The wifi is included and works well. The price for the room is also great. The staff is very nice and accomodating especially Anne at the front desk. My daughter and I had a nice stay at this Hotel. We will surely be back. This is nothing like the Best Westerns you find in the US!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PositiveNancESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#117 of 1,804 in Paris
349 reviews
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#49 of 1,804 in Paris
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Maison Athenee
Maison Athenee
#161 of 1,804 in Paris
460 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Hotel Monsieur
#210 of 1,804 in Paris
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera

Address: 50, Rue Des Mathurins | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Formerly Best Western Hotel Sydney Opera)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#164 Family Hotel in Paris
#172 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $145 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sydney Opera
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing