We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only foreigners will like this hotel - great staff though - poor sleep”
Review of Hotel Le Littre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le Littre
Ranked #229 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I think their star level needs to be revised 2* down. They must have gotten their 4 stars in the 80's.

This hotel is pretty much out-dated from its run-down bar (I gave interviews there but frankly the place is poorly lit, the choices in drinks are very limited (closed during the day), etc....

My first room was more a 2* room than anything else. Very poor noise isolation so almost no sleep the first night.

Upon my complaining I was moved to a higher floor in a brand new room. Very large and of a higher standard. Bathroom was small and very basic. And in any case if your room overlooks the Rue de Littre, you will hear the trash pick up at 6 am EVERY morning..so don't expect sleeping in.

Wifi is spotty at best. TV is small.

On the bright side: great location (next to Montparnasse) and very nice and efficient staff though they never, ever got my breakfast order right.

If I say only foreigners will like this hotel it is because of its old-fashioned Parisian flair...because so many famous writers came here a long time ago...it still has retained some of this "creative" atmosphere with pictures on the wall et al. French and local people are past that and are looking for more modern accommodations.

Room Tip: ask for a very high floor, a remodeled room and NOT overlooking the street
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vorsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Littre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

very lovely hotel with excellent service and very good breakfasts. the rooms bery very confortable with twin beds pushed together to make a king. excelent location 2 blocks from 2 metro stations. i would defenitely return for another stay

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank realtorseena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed in Paris at Hotel Le Littre in the Latin Quarter. The staff was very accommodating especially when my daughter hurt her ankle during the trip (not at the hotel). The rooms were a nice size, and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was excellent.

The Hotel is located near several Metro stops and just off a major boulevard which was very convenient.

We enjoyed the hotel very much and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at Le Littre on our first trip to Paris 20 years ago and decided to try it again simply because of the terrace and view of the Eiffel Tower. We had one of the 7th floor rooms with the terrace. The room would have been small without the ability to go out onto the terrace or, as it rained some, to at least have the door open. The view of the tower is always special. The room itself was plainly decorated, not bad but nothing special. The bathroom however was large and well appointed.

The breakfast which others have loved left us cold. The dining room is large and lacks charm. There is a lot of food but nothing that we found exceptional. We would have preferred a small neighborhood cafe but breakfast was included in the room price. Some love the location for the ease of transportation but we like to walk and found that we had to walk long distances to get where we wanted to be.

The staff were helpful with making reservations but didn't quite have their act together in other ways. We got slippers and some toiletries on the second day which weren't there on day one. A man at the desk was too anxious to help with our bags at checkout, annoying my husband by grabbing one from his hand as we headed for the elevator. On our next trip we will go back to a favorite hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solisue7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Carpet, design, rooms would all need some serous relooking to meet a 4star standard. The only way I can explain the previous positive reviews is by the overall low standard in Paris. This is maximum a 3 star hotel and the breakfast is a joke. For the modest price of 20eur per person you get a cold hardboiled egg (probably couple of days old), croissants made of frozen dough and candied fruits as no fresh fruits are available in Paris in the summer. Frankly, I call it a robbery asking people 20 eur for this breakfast. I do not recommend the place although the receptionist was very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife, daughter and I had a "junior suite" overlooking a courtyard and we were there for 5 nights in late May-early June 2012. Overall, we were very disappointed in the overall performance of this hotel.

The air conditioning did not work properly, as it blew out non-refrigerated air and we complained to the management. They sent up a bellman who could not get it working properly. Two days later it started working properly for one day only and then it resumed back to blowing warm air.

Looking out the window, the courtyard was littered with 4' x 8' pieces of plywood that looked like they had been there quite awhile.

There is only one iron and ironing board in the entire hotel we were told, located in the "ironing room" on the first floor. There were small lines at times by people who wanted to iron their cloths.

The breakfast buffet, which was included with our room, was okay but they did not offer to cook eggs or anything else to order, as they only offered what was on the buffet. The two brands of breakfast sausages were not cooked properly every morning and they were in-edible and the bacon was barely cooked.

The staff was very helpful about questions about local knowledge and attractions. The female staff was very helpful and the male staff was mostly indifferent.

The "junior suite" had a large (by European standards) bathroom with a large bathtub and an extremely small separate shower without any shelves to hold soap, shampoo, etc. The wireless internet, which costs 5 Euros total charge regardless how long your stay is, worked sporadically. The king size bed is actually a queen size (by American standards) and the sofa bed is a larger twin size bed. The room was extremely quiet as long as the window was not opened, which then made the room noisy coming from other rooms who also had their windows open.

The Montparnesse area where the hotel is located is very busy and vibrant with lots of restaurants and shops. The hotel is located on a side street off a busy street located between 2 metro stops and a block away from the Gare Montparnesse Train Station, which has frequent roundtrip non-stop service to Versailles.

This property is not a 4 star hotel. The next time I am in Paris I will look for a 3 star hotel, that is certainly better than this one, in the St. Germain / left bank area that has a lot more to offer in a great area.

Room Tip: Reserve a room closer to the elevator by the front desk. The elevator by the reading lounge, located...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerryBuchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Le Littre. Short distance to everything, a nice room and helpfull and kind staff. Absolutely recommendable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pkr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
#118 of 1,804 in Paris
1,138 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#51 of 1,804 in Paris
566 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#175 of 1,804 in Paris
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#18 of 1,804 in Paris
1,860 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Chaplain
Hotel Chaplain
#199 of 1,804 in Paris
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Littre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Littre

Address: 9 Rue Littre, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#201 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#227 Family Hotel in Paris
#514 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $180 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Littre 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Littre offers you a warm welcome at the heart of Paris. From the moment you set foot in the hotel, the concierge and the rest of our team will give you a personal welcome, and you will always be greeted by a friendly face during your stay. We take pride in offering a genuine welcome. Hotel Littre has been in the same family for three generations and is still going strong. This place has real character Hotel Littre has a unique feel to it which radiates peace and tranquility to all its guests. Classic elegance perfectly complements the warm atmosphere. Whether in the cosy bar, the new winter garden or in your room, you will feel at ease. Luxury at Hotel Littre is expressed through timeless refinement reflected in the surroundings, furnishings and gestures. "Art de vivre" the French way… It occupies an ideal Paris location between Montparnasse & Saint Germain des Pres The rue Littre is one of those Paris streets which you may stumble across by chance; a quiet street cached between bustling shopping streets. Discreet and elegant Away from the city hustle and bustle but still close to Paris life, tucked away in the street of the same name. Daytime pleasures near the Hotel Littre include Montparnasse and Saint-Germain-des-Pres, a quick trip to the Bon Marche department store, or the Jardin du Luxembourg, Hotel des Invalides and the Eiffel Tower. When night falls, you have Paris theatres nearby and the popular Left Bank brasseries. There is nothing better than exploring the treasures of the French capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Littre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Littre Hotel Paris
Hotel Littre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing