We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Informative”

Vedettes du Pont Neuf
Certificate of Excellence
Central Coast California
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Informative”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our second trip to Paris, and we don't normally do touristy things, but we did want to see the city from the Seine. Therefore, we chose a small boat in order to avoid the herds of tourists. It turned out to be a great trip. The guide spoke excellent English, and we learned a lot about the history of Paris. Our trip was at noon, which turned out to be perfect because we had great weather.....a beautiful sunny day. The night trip looks like it would be fun too because of all the lights. Very worthwhile boat trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lakemissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    541
    162
    61
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nighttime is the right time for seeing Paris from the Seine”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I bought tickets for two on Vedettes du Pont-Neuf via the Internet, and this works quite well. Not only do you save a few euros, but you can by-pass the line. There are actually two ticket lines, one for Internet purchases and one for all-others. But, you can’t see the sign for Internet purchases from afar. You need to get close, almost in the admissions building, to see it. So, if you have an Internet purchase, just walk pass the folks in line and to the left as you enter is the ticket window for you.

We were on the Parisis, a boat that can carry about 500 people. Boarding is a smooth, orderly process via a single line. My lady and I sat on the top deck, and there was only a slight chill in the night air. Paris at night is a wonderful sight. Most of the buildings-of-attraction are lighted for visual effect. There is a guide on the deck who narrates the tour, but half the time we couldn’t understand what he was saying. There are a lot of tour boats on the Seine with you. They range from super-deluxe with dining and a small orchestra, to barge-like. It becomes obvious that everything that is anything … was built along the Seine, if it could. The most majestic sight, however, is seeing the Eiffel at night. Then, there are all of those university students socializing along the banks, doing what students do. You also get to appreciate the many bridges that cross the Seine. This is a wonderful tour. And, although we did not take the tour during the day, I think the nighttime is best.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beyondthebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Noisy and disappointing”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This boat trip could benefit from headphones for folk that wish to learn a little about the attractions on the Seine rather than how loud and obnoxious some French school children can be.
I'm sure on another day this might have been a better experience but for our family ,who were really looking forwards to going on the river, our time was spoilt by an average guide, poor acoustics for the commentary and bellowing teenagers.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sle1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not too expensive and a good hour's entertainment”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Although this is probably one of the cheaper options regarding a cruise on the Seine, it was pretty good value. If you are realy organised you can book online and get upto 5 Euros off per ticket. If you're slightly less organised (like me) you can still get a voucher from their website for 2 Euros off per ticket.

I believe the cruises are every hour, so we arrived around 15-20 minutes before the hour, more-or-less walked straight up to the ticket booth and purchased some tickets. From there we had to queue for around 5 minutes before boarding the boat. At the quay/jetty there is a toilet, but you have to pay.

The boat that was ready for us was an open top double decker (for want of a better description) and so we managed to sit up top at the back. From the website it looks like it's called Hydraseine. Fortunately it was a pretty warm day. We were quite near a speaker and could hear everything quite clearly. Before setting off everyone has their pictures taken, with the view to you buying them on return. I've no idea how much they charge, but it's probably not too cheap!

The cruise itself is almost bang on an hour long, and goes West down the Seine, turns round just after The Eiffel Tower, then returns East looping round Ile de la Cite and Ile Saint-Louis. Along the way the guide will point out many sites, and you can follow along in the little booklet that you should try and remember to pick up at the ticket office. As others have pointed out, you don't get a professional guide giving the tour, it's usually a student. But the girl who was guiding spoke pretty good English (not too much of an accent) alongside her native French, as the commentary switches from one language to the other. It's all scripted, but she put just about enough effort in so that it didn't sound completely monotone and uninteresting. Also some sights were pointed out that I was unaware of, and so we went to visit them onshore in the following few days.

Considering a large beer will set you back around 8-9 Euros in many centre of Paris cafes etc, then paying a bit more for an hour's cruise isn't that bad. Though it did help that it was a sunny day!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank shardlojik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great price and location, similar to other Seine tours”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I researched the various tour options and this was one of the least expensive (cheaper if you book online and print your tickets). Many of the boats essentially do the same loop on the Seine. This was also the best located for us as it was an easy 10 or 15 minute walk for us from our apartment on the Ile St. Louis to the tip of the Ile de Cite. We went after a late dinner as we wanted to be on the boat around sunset which we did; however, weather did not cooperate and it rained the entire time so we had to sit inside the glass part of the boat, which we were a bit disappointed about but took it in stride. We luckily had a little blanket and ponchos with us so we cuddled inside next to one of the windows. The windows do open to take pictures but it was raining so hard this was difficult and we got a bit wet. The tour operator narrates the tour in a few different languages which was OK, but you can essentially read this off the printed guide. You get to see all the Paris biggies along the Seine and you go up one side of the river and then down the other as you return. Despite the rain, we would recommend and would do the tour again in the day or evening. We thought it was a good value for the tour.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JT33Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vedettes du Pont Neuf also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Vedettes du Pont Neuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing