We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cafe next to Notre Dame” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaurepaire Cafe

Beaurepaire Cafe
Reserve with
Save up to 40% when you reserve online *
Beaurepaire Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,813 of 16,718 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice cafe next to Notre Dame”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Although the cafe was full, we were welcomed to sit on the terrace. It was a chilly day but blankets and heat lamps made it quite cozy. We had a nice glass of champagne and lovely sandwiches along with great people watching near Notre Dame.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail_G74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    133
    49
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great terrasse, view and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Clear view of Notre-Dame on a quiet street intersection in the 5th. Heat lamps and blankets oon the beautiful terrasse with good service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, excellent service, wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We ate here on a Saturday night in March. We happened upon the restaurant while touring the area earlier in the afternoon and decided to give it a try. The concierge at our hotel was kind enough to take care of making a reservation for us...although he was not familiar with the restaurant. Thankfully we had him make the reservation because although there were plenty of open tables when we arrived for our 7:30 reservation, by 8:00, the restaurant was full...and still turning tables when we left at 10:00.

We were staying in Les Halles, so the restaurant was an easy 10-15 minute walk from our hotel. It is conveniently located near Notre Dame in the Latin Quarter.

Beaurepaire specializes in French-Basque cuisine and is a wonderful departure from the typical Paris bistro fare. For those of us who are French language-challenged, fear not, the incredibly friendly and warm staff at Beaurepaire speak English and are very happy to help solve the mysteries of their menu and Basque food.

We were seated at a lovely table in the centre of the restaurant and immediately served a plate of ham and a bowl of carrots. When we told the waiter, "thank you, but no thank you, we don't eat pork," he smiled as he picked up the plate of ham and said, "then I bring you more carrots!"

Our waiter too the time to explain several dishes on the menu and answered our questions. When we ordered the Pate Lapin (rabbit) for a starter he said, "No, you don't want this, it has pig in it, too." Thank you for listening and caring! When we asked for a proper wine selection, rather than going for the highest priced wine (as most waiters in the USA are wont to do), he expertly suggested a wine which was perfect for our palates and went splendidly with our meal.

We shared escargot and saumon fume (smoked salmon) for starters. Both were excellent. The escargot was served out of the shell in a delicious garlic butter plus excellent bread to sop up the garlic butter. The smoked salmon was to perfection. Sliced properly thin, full of flavor, and served with a earthy bread.

For dinner, three of us had the specialty of the house, Seafood Soup, and our fourth had whole-roasted Bar (Sea Bass). When we ordered the seafood soup, our waiter said, "Ah, you will work for your dinner." He was right; the soup was served with three large langostas (in their shells), three mussels, a wonderful piece of sea bass, and excellent croutons. The plate was served sans broth, which is provided on the side so you add it yourself. Shelling the fish is a lot of work but the soup was excellent. It was very filling as well.

The sea bass (served whole with roasted root vegetables) was excellent. The flavor was outstanding.

For dessert, we had floating island and creme brulee, both of which were outstanding.

Prices were very reasonable and the service was excellent. When we were there, we were among the few non-locals in the restaurant.

If you would like a wonderful restaurant unlike the typical Paris bistrot, Beaurepaire will not disappoint.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GoldenBear_Husker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We revisited this restaurant after first eating there nearly two years ago. It was worth going back. Just around the corner from Notre Dame and a nice area to wander around. The restaurant is lovely, quite samll, with a nice bright, interesting interior, and the staff are warm and welcoming. We'd sat outside the first time round, out on the terrace, but it was too cold this time. Our waiter was great, explained all the specials in detail and enthusiastic English. Good wine by the glass, and our food was delicious. We only had mains - a black pudding dish with lovely chunky chips, and a really tender duck confit. Both were excellent. My only wish was that we could have stayed longer, but we didn't want to eat more and the restaurant was busy, we sensed they wanted us to leave fairly quickly - we hadn't booked. Make a reservation if you're going at the weekend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TashaandAiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
186 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed around the corner on Rue Lagrange and stumbled across this place on our way down to Notre Dame. I am so glad we did, first dinner in Paris and honestly, one of the best. Grilled duck – out of this world, only rivaled by the carrot purée that was with it. Excellent food, wine and service. Very patient with us as this was our very first attempt at Parisian dining. Would highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tinleyparktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaurepaire Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Beaurepaire Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing