We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish location next to the canal”
Review of Marcel

Marcel
Ranked #2,553 of 17,304 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Saint-Martin
2 reviews
“Stylish location next to the canal”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stumbled upon Marcel as we were walking along the canal St Martin, which we've not really discovered previously in Paris. Menu looked good and the decor was stylish. Service was very good and attentive, but not invasive and we stayed for drinks and cocktails. Would recommend for a pre-dinner drink or nice indian fused meal. Can imagine it looking great lit up at night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraK010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    166
    66
    44
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Classy cocktails”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I popped in here for cocktails at 7pm before our dinner at a nearby restaurant and we really enjoyed the atmosphere. The drinks were around €9 which is average for Paris, and they were well mixed and came with complimentary delicious canapés. Relaxed and classy start or end to an evening.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Contemporary Indian”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Went here for lunch during the week while going for a walk along the canal. Food was fine and much better Indian food than found in the 6eme although it would be better described as "Indian themed" cuisine. Nonetheless, we had a delightful view of the canal (but this is only available from a few tables), the service was prompt, prices moderate (~50 euros for two for one course plus the inevitable Indian side dishes, drinks and a tip), food was good and staff were friendly.

I have seen the other comments of an adverse nature about service and attitude but can only mention our experience which was positive. Maybe the time to go is a weekday at lunchtime--all restaurants get under pressure both at night and on weekends, although bad attitudes should never be excused. I'm going again with kids in tow and hope to have as good as experience as today's.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leftbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Tandoori chicken on its best”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Tandoori chicken is marinated in yogurt and seasoned with spices. Cayenne pepper, red chili powder or kashmiri red chili powder is used to give it a fiery red hue - vibrant either in taste and appearance. Although popular, tandoori chicken can be a good choice, but it is at times disappointing. Never if you were dining at Marcel, a charming and pleasant restaurant in the banks of Canal St Martin, Paris. Book in advance to be seated on the comfortable leather chairs at the beautiful wooden room in the rear area. If Chez Prune is the most famous restaurant in this Parisian arrondissement, Marcel is undoubtedly the best option to have a great time there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alvares-da-Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
736 reviews
466 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
“Good food but unfriendly service”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had dinner at Chez Marcel. The food was good and the restaurant atmosphere was nice. However the service was unfriendly and we felt rushed to release the table. The prices were OK.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcel also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Marcel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing