We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Indian”
Review of Marcel

Marcel
Ranked #2,405 of 17,020 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Canal Saint-Martin
Paris
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Contemporary Indian”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Went here for lunch during the week while going for a walk along the canal. Food was fine and much better Indian food than found in the 6eme although it would be better described as "Indian themed" cuisine. Nonetheless, we had a delightful view of the canal (but this is only available from a few tables), the service was prompt, prices moderate (~50 euros for two for one course plus the inevitable Indian side dishes, drinks and a tip), food was good and staff were friendly.

I have seen the other comments of an adverse nature about service and attitude but can only mention our experience which was positive. Maybe the time to go is a weekday at lunchtime--all restaurants get under pressure both at night and on weekends, although bad attitudes should never be excused. I'm going again with kids in tow and hope to have as good as experience as today's.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leftbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    161
    63
    43
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Tandoori chicken on its best”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Tandoori chicken is marinated in yogurt and seasoned with spices. Cayenne pepper, red chili powder or kashmiri red chili powder is used to give it a fiery red hue - vibrant either in taste and appearance. Although popular, tandoori chicken can be a good choice, but it is at times disappointing. Never if you were dining at Marcel, a charming and pleasant restaurant in the banks of Canal St Martin, Paris. Book in advance to be seated on the comfortable leather chairs at the beautiful wooden room in the rear area. If Chez Prune is the most famous restaurant in this Parisian arrondissement, Marcel is undoubtedly the best option to have a great time there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alvares-da-Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
714 reviews
448 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“Good food but unfriendly service”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had dinner at Chez Marcel. The food was good and the restaurant atmosphere was nice. However the service was unfriendly and we felt rushed to release the table. The prices were OK.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Indian food”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were looking for a good restaurant and I must say it was not easy to find one in this area. This place looked fine from outside so we went in. btw you woldn't gues they serve Indian food there :) The waitress was really nice & helped us with choosing our meals as they didn't have an english menu. The food was absolutely delicious-never had a better Indian meal before!!! The price was reasonable too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible OWNER - Horrible proprio et service de m.....”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a table reserved for 6 people, but only 4 showed up on time, so there were 2 seats available for a while, and the owner kept asking us if the people would show up, because he needed to give the seats, and he started harassing us, coming back every minute, and telling us that he was loosing money because of us.

So we told him that we would leave if he continued and the owner replied: "yes please leave, I don't need you or your money..." So we left the restaurant, when our food was just served!

This owner should NOT work in this industry, he is just trying to suck money out of people and mostly tourists, and does not care about the image he portraits of Paris and its welcoming manners.

And on top of everything, I tried the food while we were leaving, and it was NOT that good! They are trying to be an Indian type restaurant for dinner time, but they are far from getting the style and taste of Indian food.

So I would recommend everyone NOT to go to this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank StephaneC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcel also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Marcel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing