We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ridiculously overpriced tourist trap” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aux Tours Notre Dame

Aux Tours Notre Dame
Ranked #13,386 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ridiculously overpriced tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Distinctly average overpriced tourist trap with rude waiter! It was so overpriced it was almost funny. Nice location but you will be better served looking further afield than a few steps from Notre Dame

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank goddardvlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    67
    62
    61
    138
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Before visiting Notre Dame Cathedral, I decided to have lunch at this bistro and feeling adventurous I ordered the Steak Tartare. The waiter of course reminded me that the beef was very rare but I still went ahead and found the dish really delicious. Definitely an ideal place to have something to eat at a reasonable price near the famous attraction.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Drum_Davey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother - appalling service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This must be the worst cafe we have been in. It felt as though they wanted us to leave as quickly as possible to get the next victims in.

We were put on a table right by the door with barely enough space for other customers to get past so I was constantly getting hit by bags or elbows. It was also in direct line with everyone smoking right by the door so not pleasant.

Our order arrived reasonably quickly and was followed soon after by the bill - without us asking for it. Shortly after that the waiter was back demanding payment. When we pointed out that we were only part way through, he became rude and slightly aggressive. We paid, quickly finished and went to leave.

The toilets now require a 50c coin to get in - there is a change machine nearby. Thank you to the lady who held the door open for me!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ACOpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“BAD !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Next trip even my leg got broken i also wont visit this place.
Totally screwed up my food impression in Paris.
Food lousy, we paid for like 50 euros for 4 of us, having super hard and tasteless bread whatever u wanna call it.
imagine my wife not feel like when he come to take order i said let her get back to you what she want in a while. And guess what, his face show us the look of " WHATEVER" and just walk off.
We decided to visit this restaurant because tired of walking up the stair in Notre Dame tower and simply want to look for a place to rest. And really cant imagine the food in Paris can be so bad !!!
Worst meal in my whole trip.
Bad Service, Horrible Food and Expensive place ....AVOID !!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“inattentive, impatient, and rude (unless you're French)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I would not return to this place. They were inattentive, impatient, and rude. Signs all over the place tell you to obtain tokens for the restroom - a courtesy, like others, that they only seemed willing to extend to their fellow Frenchmen, leaving others to beg, borrow, and steal just to use a toilet - an ordeal a vomiting, pregnant woman got to experience. The food was decent, but too expensive for what you got. It was so unpleasant that I really think of it as the only mistake among 20 places visited during our trip to France.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin7476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Tours Notre Dame also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Aux Tours Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing