We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine if you're waiting for a train”
Review of Au Baroudeur

Au Baroudeur
Ranked #13,311 of 17,283 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just fine if you're waiting for a train”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

If you've got an hour to kill between trains you could do a lot worse than pass it in here. Friendly, helpful waiter, decent steak and salmon, wine was fine. Food available just about any time of day or night.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    71
    35
    24
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, efficient service and great Brouilly.”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Excellent fois gras. Rump steak cooked perfectly as requested... Still mooing! Great Roquefort sauce. Decent cheeseboard. Above average Brouilly. Efficient service but typical Parisian... Not sure if the waiter smiled or just had wind :-)
€120/£100 for 2 inc 2 bottles of wine.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely bar for drinks and also a good breakfast venue”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The waiters in this bar are incredibly friendly and very helpful. We went for late night drinks and cheese and biscuits last Thursday evening and had a very enjoyable time. It was even nice enough to sit outside for a while. The following morning we returned for breakfast and all really enjoyed our croissants and baguettes. My Nan was in a wheelchair and the waiter was very helpful and assisted her into the restaurant and was very attentive and had a laugh and a joke with us and made my Nan feel very special. We would definitely return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Better than the other reviews suggest..”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Relaxed, casual bistro right by the station. Easy enough to grab a relaxed lunch before heading home on eurostar. If you are over the white table clothes & are happy with simple dining you'll be fine? Not cheap, but not expensive either given the location right by the station. Staff were lovely & tried to help us with our french. When we said we had an hour to wait for our train they said no probs & left us to it with the wi-fi password! Ideal

Helpful?
Thank Shelleyhob
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“HOW MUCH??!!??”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went into the wrong place, intending to eat lunch at the Hotel Terminus next door and didn't realise our mistake until sat at a table having parked our luggage (it is directly opposite Gare du Nord and so very convenient for Eurostar). The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the selection of food was good. We both had the same - Cassoulet for main course and tarte aux pommes for dessert. To drink, 50 cl of Coke and 25 cl of vin rouge, plus the customary carafe of Paris water and a few bits of bread.

Can't complain about the service, nor the quality of the food. But did think 70 euros was just a bit excessive. By which I mean "Rip off". I suppose the moral here is to carefully check the prices on the menu and not make assumptions about the likely pricing based on the style of restaurant when choosing the day's specials. With plenty of choice in the area, this is a place to avoid. "TERRIBLE" rating is based purely on value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinw1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Baroudeur also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Au Baroudeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing