We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOW MUCH??!!??”
Review of Au Baroudeur

Au Baroudeur
Ranked #13,287 of 17,161 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“HOW MUCH??!!??”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went into the wrong place, intending to eat lunch at the Hotel Terminus next door and didn't realise our mistake until sat at a table having parked our luggage (it is directly opposite Gare du Nord and so very convenient for Eurostar). The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the selection of food was good. We both had the same - Cassoulet for main course and tarte aux pommes for dessert. To drink, 50 cl of Coke and 25 cl of vin rouge, plus the customary carafe of Paris water and a few bits of bread.

Can't complain about the service, nor the quality of the food. But did think 70 euros was just a bit excessive. By which I mean "Rip off". I suppose the moral here is to carefully check the prices on the menu and not make assumptions about the likely pricing based on the style of restaurant when choosing the day's specials. With plenty of choice in the area, this is a place to avoid. "TERRIBLE" rating is based purely on value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinw1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    71
    35
    23
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“relax, Parisian waiter !”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Why does the waiter look badly at everyone ?
Would you please give me the WiFi key ?
Answer : "marche pas"
Of course it does, I can see it. What is wrong with this bar ?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Djihelbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice people - good food!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had dinner here two times while staying at the nearby hotel.
Staff was really friendly, and helping people in all kinds of languages.
Menus available in over 10 languages as well.

Food was really good, and so was the variety of wines.
Price - quality well balanced

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cockroach leg in the steak sauce. ”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The worse steak I've ever tasted in my life. Very expensive, tasteless, with a cockroach leg in the onion sauce. The staff very persuasive to get you inside with a big smile, but once you are inside, the service was not good at all. They kept speaking French which we didn't have a clue what the waiter was talking about. the hygiene must be very poor in this place kitchen as I discovered an insects leg in the sauce, I wouldn't recommend this restaurant as there are so many nice places in Paris.

Helpful?
Thank mahdoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not recommend”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We were charged €50 for what was meant to be a thin and tender steak, instead we were given a very thick, not nice steak, no dressing or flavour at all. The staff kept talking French, even though they knew we don't speak French. The normal rump steak in the menu was €10, and I believe this was what we had and paid the price for something else. There are many more nice places in Paris to eat. I wouldn't recommend this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Amir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Baroudeur also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Au Baroudeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing