We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service award - AVOID!”
Review of Au Baroudeur

Au Baroudeur
Ranked #13,259 of 17,009 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worst service award - AVOID!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Our waiter didn't speak. He sighed and mumbled. Rude and uninterested. And when he thought customers weren't looking, his face expressed total disrespect.

The food was okay but not perfect.

The prices are a bit steep.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ionlyexpectthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    68
    33
    22
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant venue”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This restaurant is one of the quieter eating houses facing the Gare du Nord. They have very helpful staff offering a good range of food choices. It is less noisy than all the surrounding restaurants and has a very pleasant ambience. I have taken Sunday lunch here on at least 5 occasions in the last 12 months.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Escarogot, footpath dining, multilingual”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

After a few Escargot disappointments we were glad to have been convinced to dine here by the waiter who spoke about 4 languages. The menus are in several languages. Great staff who made really good recommendations for food and drink and gave demonstrations with a laugh on using the special cutlery. Sitting outside with heaters was great. The Escargot and the fillet de hareng (herring) entrees are still very memorable. Give them a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShellyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trailblazer”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

That's what the name of this fab resto means! Fitting, that I found it across from the Gare du Nord in the 10th arrondissement. The strapping gentleman out front reels you in with his witty banter and multilingual skills.. the interior is martini bar chic meets gilded safari.. the music makes you want to dance and the food is sublime. I was looking for an apero and ended up indulging in a warm goat cheese salad, Lussac St Emilion (an oaky red wine) and tiramisu.. all shared with a friend. Perfect amount of food and drink for only 22 euros. Will definitelybring all my guests here for a similar fantastic experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sdotfresh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“RUDE pig of a waiter!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We had breakfast at this restaurant while waiting for our train at Gare du Nord.

The food was nice, if quite steeply priced. HOWEVER, the waiter was the RUDEST I have ever encountered!

I tried ordering in my admittedly limited French. From the moment I opened my mouth, every time I said "um", the waiter repeated it sarcastically. At first I laughed it off, but around the 15th time he did it, it wore mighty thin! And mocking me in this way only made my French worse, of course. This is not how you treat customers.

Such a pig! Frankly I hope the manager reads these reviews and fires him. He's doing no favours to the business. AVOID THIS RESTAURANT AT ALL COSTS.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DiamondLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Baroudeur also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Au Baroudeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing