We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a true Parisian small hotel this is your spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Relais du Louvre
Ranked #55 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Le Relais du Louvre is a small, "authentique" Parisian hotel. If you are looking for something that has gyms, bars, and shopping, go elsewhere.
This gem is small, and is in the most amazing location - across from the Louvre. You will want for nothing in terms of location and accessibility - food (lovely restos 2 minutes away) walking distance to Champs-Élysées - so much to do. Metro around the corner.
There is internet (upon request and with some patience but frankly, you are in Paris - limit the web time friend, this is one city that you need to see, taste, experience and live and not by surfing the web or constantly working - it is there so for business it is definitely an asset).
Rooms are small but clean, comfy beds, typical European bathrooms (private but no bath in my room just shower, wall hair dryer etc.).
As per authentic European hotels, when you check in, you are given your actual "key" and when you go out for the day, you leave it behind which is good, because it definitely is an authentic Parisian key.
The breakfasts are delicious (again upon request) delivered to your room with croissants that are real and full of butter and coffee that puts anything you know about coffee to shame. They make waking up another part of the beautiful Parisian experience (and the rooms on the bottom level have access to a shared yet private, little patio - ask for these!!!!!).
Really, if you are going to Paris to experience the city, this is a must. If you want a big chain with North American amenities look to the Westin. This is a lovely, hidden gem in the city and very reasonable.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level have direct access to sam-private courtyard/patio. Small elevator so if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 687 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have been visiting this hotel various times during the last 10 years or so. Its location is excellent: near the Louvre, not too far from the Marais, Ile de France and a metro station is nearby. The rooms are charming and quite small, but who cares in Paris! The hotel is very clean and the reception is very nice. I have never tried the breakfast, thoug.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polderpolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a wonderful overnight stay here. It is located across from the back of the Lourve. It's a bit difficult to find but it's to the right of the Church of Saint-Germain l'Auxerrois. The Pont Neuf is only a block away. Of course, a short walk takes you to the main entrance of the Lourve. We booked the hotel online and got the "crazy rate". When we arrived we were pleased to learn that we had been upgraded to the Junior Suite. We had several email exchanges with the concierge regarding tours and trips and they always responded promptly and helpfully. There are several very nice bistros nearby. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to spend several days in Paris in the future. This will be where we stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My partner booked this hotel for my birthday as we bagged some Eurostar tickets on offer for my birthday. As we only stayed one night it was not long enough to really comment on all facilities and features of the hotel but I can say we were comfortable and it had a homely feel as opposed to ultra modern and plush.

We paid a little over 220 euros for the night and thought this to be typical in Paris plus we went for a bigger room. Realistically rooms are usually small and not cheap especially for well located hotels! The hotel staff were welcoming and friendly and we found that as long as you looked well presented the locals were very polite and spoke English if you made a little effort with some basic French.

There was some construction work going on outside of the hotel but it didn't bother us as we weren't in the hotel except for sleeping and washing. The hotel is right by a lovely Church and close to the Seine. From here you could walk everywhere although it was bitterly cold and pit stops are needed to warm up in November! Museums, shops, banks, restaurants were all within 10mins and the Metros is close by if you wanted to go further afield. Being from London it had such a familiar feel and buzz and you had everything you could want close by.

* Location was close to key attractions, shops and transport
* Entrance looks cosy, warm and inviting with a small reception area - but I would worry about leaving your luggage there if you have anything expensive as people come and go and it is not locked up
* Staff explained everything clearly and were professional and approachable
* Room: carpets were clean; bed was OK but I didn't like the starchy sheets; the toilet was separate to the bathroom, the bathroom looked modern and clean and was a good size with a large sink and bath; there was a fitted wardrobe with a safe inside which was useful and seemed secure, we had a ground floor outside area but it was a claustaphobic and you were overlooked by everyone above.
* For rooms I believe there is a lift only and I cannot comment on what the upper floors are like.
* Food - we didn't try the food as we wanted to see as much as we could including trying the patisseries nearby
* Noise - generally we found it quiet but there was construction work going on which started at about 9am but this didn't affect our trip
* Facilities - you will need the password for the WIFI and you get usual BBC and CNN on the TV in the room. We did not use any other services so cannot comment on anything else.

Overall we enjoyed our short trip and would return to Paris. We would consider this a 'safe' hotel and would return but would try others to see what else is out there!

Room Tip: We had a superior room which was on the ground floor which was more roomy so it would suit people ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Londoner24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here in November 2012 and had a very delightful experience.

Positives:

- Rooms are clean and have all the amenities you need.
- The staff there was very helpful, polite and friendly.
- Louvre is less than 5 minutes’ walk away with many other tourists’ hotspots easy to get to
- Lots of places to eat and drink nearby and plenty of shops right round the corner.

Negatives:

- The rooms are fairly small so if you have a large family or are there for more than a few days and or you like to spend lots of time in the hotel room then you may find it a little too cosy
- There is no breakfast room so you have to have this in your room
- There was no tea or coffee making facilities.

Overall:

It's a great place to stay, it has all the essentials you need for a short trip and it is perfectly clean. Yes, the lack of onsite breakfast room and tea making facilities is a bit of a let-down but go out and explore the local surroundings, that’s what you are there for, right? I would definitely recommend this to a friend and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Relais du Louvre is something I never thought I would find in Paris - clean, well located and welcoming. The rooms are not enormous as you would expect in any city but Room 12 housed three of us very comfortably for our three night stay. The bathroom was spacious and had a full sized bath and a good shower with a glass screen over the bath. A particular reason for booking here was that they are able to accommodate three people in a room with relative ease (we were a party of five - Grandma, three sisters and one niece).

The location of the hotel is fantastic - most of Paris is within walking distance, as we proved, and it is great to be so near the river. The hotel is tucked down a side street, just off the Rue de Rivoli - great shopping - and despite the fact the road outside was being dug up, we never heard a thing.

The Direction were very friendly and accommodating and were able to offer recommendations and provide "express" tickets for most attractions. We particularly enjoyed a dinner cruise with the company Bateaux Parisien - not cheap but well worth every Euro [note: we were in a quandary whether to pay more than the basic 90 Euro per head but it is certainly not necessary as the "cheap" seats at this price are as good, if not better, than any other. Dinner on board was fantastic and apparently the chef of the day was Alain Ducasse. Plenty of wine included - three bottles between five of us (!) and a welcome drink with canapes. Our waitress Audrey was great and the whole evening was an unforgettable experience for all ages.

The hotel were able to provide local recommendations for dinner each evening and we would particularly recommend La Fumeur - less than five minutes walk away.

The only draw back from our point of view was that breakfast is only available in your room and as we wanted to have this together it was not particularly practical from our point of view. However there are plenty of places that do a breakfast within a five minute walk. We tried a different one each day and all were fine. The hotel did say however that if we did not want to pay the full price of a large breakfast, they would be happy to offer a basic coffee, croissant alternative for a reduced fee.

The rooms were spotless, the Direction more than welcoming and efficiently friendly - all in all it could not have been better and I cannot think of any reason not to recommend this hotel. Thank you to all other Reviewers who put us onto this real gem in a City where it is all to easy to be ripped off.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BasilsMumNewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were warmly welcomed from our Transatlantic flight and ushered into our room at noon. Be wiser than we were and take the hotel's up on its ability to arrange for you to be met at the airport and chauffeured straight to the hotel for about 40€. The only complexity is that you must phone when you've collected your luggage, and then stay confidently put while your chauffeur pulls the car up and comes inside to collect you. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, and efficient. The location at the east end of the Louvre is quiet yet very conveniently located to all of Paris's attractions. The staff are also knowledgeable about restaurants. If your credit card charges less than 3% to convert euros into the currency in which you pay, as the hotel to charge you in euros; otherwise, they will charge in your currency through an agency that adds 3% (at the lower end, sad to say, of the banks' exchange rip offs).

Room Tip: The extra space in larger rooms is very welcome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NIPSparticipant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel de la Place du Louvre - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Les Halles
Le Relais des Halles
Le Relais des Halles
#15 of 1,804 in Paris
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#148 of 1,804 in Paris
1,580 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#58 of 1,804 in Paris
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais du Louvre

Address: 19 rue des Pretres St G L Auxerrois, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#51 Family Hotel in Paris
#132 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#467 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $168 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Relais du Louvre 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming non-smoking hotel offers 21 fully renovated rooms right in front of the Louvre Museum (10 rooms have a view on the Louvre Museum)/6 floors with lift. The street is very quiet and located right in the middle of the city. Most monuments such as Notre-Dame, the Louvre Museum, the Opera House, the Champs Elysées, the Pompidou Centre, the Sainte-Chapelle and the Conciergerie but also the Seine river with the Ile de la Cité and Ile Saint-Louis are walking distance. SERVICES: parking, breakfast served from 7 AM until 12 even during the week, room service for diner from 6PM until 3AM, free tea and Nespresso coffee break every day from 2PM until 8PM in the lobby, skip the line Louvre entrance tickets, laundry TECHNOLOGY: free WIFI in the entire hotel, free computer with printer in the lobby, tablet computer and printer at disposal, Bose Bluetooth speakers, smart TV with USB connexion and VOD, 62 TV programs and 12 radios AMENITIES: minibars, safe, real hair dryer, bath products ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Le Relais du Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Du Louvre Hotel Paris
Le Relais Du Louvre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing