We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #22 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

This hotel is wonderful. The building and courtyard are gorgeous, and the interior makes you feel like you stepped into an old world mansion. The study/bar is unique and welcoming with bookshelves of antique books adding to the ambiance. The grand staircase and elegant lobby were beautiful, and our room had a quirky "haunted mansion" feel to it that was so much fun. We stayed in a standard room, and there were portraits on the walls and chandeleirs above the bed. Speaking to another couple, we learned that each room is decorated a little differently, and I'd imagine they are all equally fantastic.

The hotel was expensive, and I would normally not spend so much on a room, but I can definitively say that it was worth the cost. For the few days that we were in Paris we were treated to wonderful service and uniquely amazing accomodations. The hotel is also in close proximity to decent dining, subway entrances, and depending on how ambitious you are, walking distance to all the major sites. Though I wouldn't necessary recommend it, my husband and I were able to take the subway to Notre Dame and walk all the way back to the hotel. Sites along the way during our walk included the Louvre, Museum d'Orsay, Eiffel Tower, and Arc de Triomphe.

This hotel is a true find, and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizMcLure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear Madam,

We thank you very much for your extremely kind review that we take as an encouragement to keep working on improving our services as well as the homey feeling we try to provide to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    127
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
169
670
35
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wien, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

The Saint James is absolutely amazing. I've been to Paris many, many times but this is the most romantic amazing hotel I'Ve ever seen. It looks like a gorgeous old mansion and has a very beautiful private courtyard and amaying fountain in front. Rates very reasonable for such a fancy hotel. Rooms beautiful red print cloth walls - its just stunning! Also just one minute away from the beautiful Parc Boulogne. It has a lovely lake to walk or run around, many trails, natural beauty in the midst of busy Paris. I really recommend it! Would be perfect for a honeymoon or something.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank christalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your nice comment and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pryor, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

This hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood, not far from the city center. I booked this small hotel through Small Luxury Hotels of the world, and was kindly given a very nice upgrade to a large room on the top floor. My husband and I celebrated our 20th anniversary, which I let them know when I made the reservation, and they said "Happy Anniversary" upon check-in....The Saint James was undergoing some renovations while we where there, which gave a new modern vibe to the elegant 100 year old Chateau-style hotel. They have new furniture in the entry and dinning room, bold red and black design with a turn of the century style mixed with a edge....Loved the Library Bar which was receiving new carpet the day we arrived but was up and running by the next day. Breakfast was served outside on the restaurant terrace who's only fault was you could not see out of . You are in a tent while eating, they should open up a few walls to view a garden. The entrance to the hotel is grand behind walls, makes you feel like you have a special place to come home to after a long day...and the staff treats you the same way. Very nice, I would stay here again...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adinaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind review of the Saint James Paris and for your understanding during the redecoration process of our library-bar and main restaurant. We hope to welcome you back soon in order for you to fully enjoy our redecorated areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

I, my husband and two other couples stayed here last week and amongst us we had very different opinions on the St. James. We very much liked our room - large suite, great bathroom, floor to ceiling windows, comfortable bed but not much in the way of decor - could definitely use updating. The other two couples hated their rooms - they had rooms with stairs going up to their bedrooms and found the decor to be slightly above a cheap motel. One couple was able to move to another room which they liked better. I honestly didn't think it was that bad but again certainly not beautiful. The lobby and another common area were being renovated and covered in drop cloths, ladders and construction equipment. We were never told about this project in advance
On the positive side - the bar is fantastic - in an old library and just wonderful. Be aware that the minibar prices are about half of those in the bar but, of course, you don't get the extremely nice bartenders (Bruno) and the nice little snacks. The dining rooms were set up outside under tents and had a zen vibe. We only ate breakfast there and it was quite lovely. One other note - this hotel has the fastest room service we have ever experienced.
The best part of our stay was the staff. Christian,the concierge, and the entire desk could not have been more helpful with all aspects of our trip. The hotel is a little jewel - beautiful grounds and I think I would recommend it knowing that there is refurbishment to come.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelforfun2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for your extensive and honest review of the Saint James Paris. All common areas have now been redecorated as well as many bedrooms. As all rooms are different, we encourage our clients to let us know if they do not like one and wish to change. After a few stays, most clients pick up “their” room, making the Saint James their home away from home. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends back and trust you will like the new atmosphere as much as you enjoyed the service during your previous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Paris is busy but the St. James Club is a haven for your soul. Nothing beats returning to this “gem” after a busy day in Paris. If there is something more you need to love Paris the St. James Club might be just the ticket. Staying here is like being a member of a very small and discreet club-as the name implies. Not a place to be people watching because most everyone here are busy and doing their own thing but if you just want to have a safe and peaceful place to call home in Paris—this is it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingsRogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your very kind review. We are continuously working on providing our guests with a discreet yet caring service to help them feel as secure and as comfortable as in their home. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

I only stay in world class hotels. This was one of the best I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Streetfeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed here on the advice of friends who had previously stayed with their two young children. Thank goodness we took her advice. Beautiful old chateau, tastefully restored & maintained, with impeccable attention to service and impressive sized suites. Food was excellent, which cd be taken in room, in the restaurant or out in the summer marquee.Nothing was a problem for our concierge who went to great lengths to help us with complex train travel after our stay. Gorgeous little stores & restaurants/boulangerie within walking distance of the hotel, and there is a st james smart car avail to hire for those wanting to venture further away. Would be hard pressed to find something equivalent in quality and service for the price in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingclarkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#23 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#20 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#30 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#14 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Trocadero
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
#46 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#13 Spa Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#19 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing